We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island House
Nearby Hotels
$116
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
81
14
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecard tricksgoan lifefree ferryamazing hostsworld heritage sitehome stayferry pointother guestsportuguese stylecommon areasindian dishesmandovi rivermain buildingswimming pool isartijan
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 101 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spent 5 days here and cannot recommend it enough. Great location which was easy to get to and from for the rest of Goa. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable with lovely bathrooms and showers. The swimming pool was clean and relaxing sofas/seats available for a nice relaxing stay if you want.

The food served was great (we ended up eating there for almost every meal) and a good price.

The highlight of this stay however were the hosts and staff. They couldn't do enough for us and were willing to go out of their way to help us (including driving around Goa at 10pm when we were lost to find us and driving us to the Flea Market which was 30mins away). I honestly cannot say enough about the people that make this Guest House an absolute joy to stay at. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location on an island accessible only by ferry makes this a perfect hideout from the normally busy North Goa. Fantastic service and terrific sleep quality. Wish we could've stayed longer because we had a quick and short overnighter at the place on a friend's recommendation to soak in the experience - which is exactly how one should NOT visit this place. Deserves a long stay, and we will be back.

And yeah, the beds are awesome!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Absolutely great! There is so many reasons to visit, that i am forced to put it in bullets:
1. location - the island itself is great, worth to explore, away of the noise, crowd and touristic kitch. Free of charge ferry boat goes every 15 min.
2. house - furnised and decorated with in a good tast.
3. rooms - large, comfortable and very clean
4. food - fresh and diliciouse, even after almost a month i get hungry when i think of it:).
5. swimming pool - super clean water
6. And last, but not least: People who run this place - owners and service - extremaly nice and helpful
This place is a materialized idea of paradise. Check out yourself!
Andrzej & Maja

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrzej J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent two nights here and had a wonderful time. The guest house is beatifully restored with pretty gardens and very comfortable rooms. The setting is perfect for those who want to escape the hustle and bustle of goa. The food was very good and both family and staff welcoming.
This guest house is still a family home and as guests we were made to fell part of that family.
We would recommend it wholehearrtedly and will make a return trip next season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was our first time in Goa and we did not know what to expect, we went with three other couples as one of them was having a wedding blessing there.Jan,Arti,Jean,Luku,Sandeep and there 2 beautiful daughters Alisa and Anya made our stay one we will never forget and one we can not wait to repeat.
The place is beautiful set in lovely gardens the rooms were great, big comfy beds and all home comforts.We was made to feel so comfortable here we did not want to go home, nothing was to much trouble.Jan and Arti sorted everything out for us taxi from the airport and a taxi when ever we wanted to go off and explore Goa.
The wedding blessing was the best, they decorated the all place in flowers, lights, fireworks etc,the food and drink was plentyful and amazing, well done to the chefs.
The ladies dressed in sarees and the men in kurtas and tubans on the day we looked the bees knees, all down to Arti who sorted all this out for us, ever little detail.
If you are thinking of visiting Divar Island Guest House Retreat you will not be disappointed,
I am a hard person to please but this place certainly ticked all the boxes for me. infact arrange a wedding blessing there Jan and Arti know how to throw a good wedding .
I could go on and on about this place but dont take my word for it check it out yourself.
We arrived as guest but we left as friends.

Debbie and Big Darren (Sheffield Crew)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEBORAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews