We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in Goa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divar Island Guest House Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Divar Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent five nights at Divar Island Guest House in Nov/Dec this year and it was absolute bliss. We were looking for somewhere that was easy to reach from Mumbai but also quiet and we were lucky enough to stumble upon this place, which was everything we wanted and much more.

Where to start? The location – it is Goa, but not as you have imagined it. Divar Island is in the Mandovi River (so don’t expect beaches) and reached by ferry from Ribander or Old Goa. It really is an oasis of calm and you feel as if you have got away from it all. Perfect. And if you want to head to the mainland then it isn’t too difficult, whether it is a trip to Old Goa or a night out at the beaches.

Next, the house. It has been beautifully and tastefully restored and decorated and the rooms are perfectly in keeping. Clean, crisp linen, traditional wooden fittings and mod cons like air con and TVs with a full range of channels. The bed was comfortable too. The pool area is beautiful and there is always some shade if you want to keep out of the sun. Eating areas are dotted around the pool and are also lovely.

The hosts: Jan and Arati are absolutely brilliant as hosts. From the help Jan gave us in sorting out a driver from the airport, to the warm welcome and then the incredibly generous hospitality we received throughout our stay. We had some days of perfect relaxation and others where Jan and Arati drove us to nearby places when they were heading out and really treated us as part of the family. I don’t think I have ever experienced hosting like this (and I’ve stayed in a lot of places.)

The food: Some of the best I have had in India. We opted for Indian breakfasts and had a different one every day, all of which were fantastic. We ate most evening meals there too as the food was so good, Goan curries, fish and an amazing seafood platter (which we went to source at the fish market with Jan and Arati). Oh, and if you are pining for something from home there is a continental menu too.

The staff: Brilliant and attentive to every need. Luku is an absolute gem and the guys in the kitchen are very, very talented.

Generally I can’t say enough about this place. If you want to relax in comfort in a quiet part of Goa then go here: you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hackneyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 98 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spent 5 days here and cannot recommend it enough. Great location which was easy to get to and from for the rest of Goa. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable with lovely bathrooms and showers. The swimming pool was clean and relaxing sofas/seats available for a nice relaxing stay if you want.

The food served was great (we ended up eating there for almost every meal) and a good price.

The highlight of this stay however were the hosts and staff. They couldn't do enough for us and were willing to go out of their way to help us (including driving around Goa at 10pm when we were lost to find us and driving us to the Flea Market which was 30mins away). I honestly cannot say enough about the people that make this Guest House an absolute joy to stay at. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location on an island accessible only by ferry makes this a perfect hideout from the normally busy North Goa. Fantastic service and terrific sleep quality. Wish we could've stayed longer because we had a quick and short overnighter at the place on a friend's recommendation to soak in the experience - which is exactly how one should NOT visit this place. Deserves a long stay, and we will be back.

And yeah, the beds are awesome!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Absolutely great! There is so many reasons to visit, that i am forced to put it in bullets:
1. location - the island itself is great, worth to explore, away of the noise, crowd and touristic kitch. Free of charge ferry boat goes every 15 min.
2. house - furnised and decorated with in a good tast.
3. rooms - large, comfortable and very clean
4. food - fresh and diliciouse, even after almost a month i get hungry when i think of it:).
5. swimming pool - super clean water
6. And last, but not least: People who run this place - owners and service - extremaly nice and helpful
This place is a materialized idea of paradise. Check out yourself!
Andrzej & Maja

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrzej J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent two nights here and had a wonderful time. The guest house is beatifully restored with pretty gardens and very comfortable rooms. The setting is perfect for those who want to escape the hustle and bustle of goa. The food was very good and both family and staff welcoming.
This guest house is still a family home and as guests we were made to fell part of that family.
We would recommend it wholehearrtedly and will make a return trip next season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was our first time in Goa and we did not know what to expect, we went with three other couples as one of them was having a wedding blessing there.Jan,Arti,Jean,Luku,Sandeep and there 2 beautiful daughters Alisa and Anya made our stay one we will never forget and one we can not wait to repeat.
The place is beautiful set in lovely gardens the rooms were great, big comfy beds and all home comforts.We was made to feel so comfortable here we did not want to go home, nothing was to much trouble.Jan and Arti sorted everything out for us taxi from the airport and a taxi when ever we wanted to go off and explore Goa.
The wedding blessing was the best, they decorated the all place in flowers, lights, fireworks etc,the food and drink was plentyful and amazing, well done to the chefs.
The ladies dressed in sarees and the men in kurtas and tubans on the day we looked the bees knees, all down to Arti who sorted all this out for us, ever little detail.
If you are thinking of visiting Divar Island Guest House Retreat you will not be disappointed,
I am a hard person to please but this place certainly ticked all the boxes for me. infact arrange a wedding blessing there Jan and Arti know how to throw a good wedding .
I could go on and on about this place but dont take my word for it check it out yourself.
We arrived as guest but we left as friends.

Debbie and Big Darren (Sheffield Crew)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEBORAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Everything we hoped for but better! this beautiful hideaway was a perfect first port of call after a long flight from London, we wanted a place within 40 minutes from the airport to unwind for a few days and adjust before venturing further south to Agonda. The house has been tastefully restored and comfortably furnished and we felt immediately at home. Arti and Jan and the family extend a warm welcome to their guests in a relaxing evocative setting with good food and all mod cons. We only had one precious week away so I was very thorough in my search for suitable and satisfying places to stay. All I can say is that I'd love to go back and stay longer. Thank you for helping to make our first trip to Goa such a success and we look forward to seeing you next time. Helen & Julian

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divar Island
16.9 mi away
Wildernest
Wildernest
#1 of 1 in Chorla
439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,333 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 116 in Calangute
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre
24.1 mi away
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
#2 of 2 in Mollem National Park
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divar Island Guest House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divar Island Guest House Retreat

Address: 45, Piedade, Divar Island 403403, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Divar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Divar Island
Price Range: $62 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divar Island Guest House Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home and a new state of mindfulness! We believe in ‘now’. Come and experience living in an antique Indo-Portuguese house which behaves like a retreat for the soul. We welcome you to take a holiday or a break at our home and experience the old Goan way of life on one of the last protected parts of Goa in terms of flora, fauna and culture. We do not have a menu and will not give you bills all the time, but we welcome you to wander off to where the Wifi is weak. We are in an island called Divar where the sounds of birds are still more audible than the vehicles and man. The island is accessible by ferries on the Mandovi River from Old Goa, which has the historic capital of the state during the Portuguese times. Our home is a few hundred years old and we have maintained it to hold the grandeur while upgrading it to incorporate modern luxuries as well. We have rooms, a dining hall, a swimming pool, a bar, a shuttle court, a duck pond, a meditation spot and so on for the use of our guest. We do try to remind everyone that this is not a hotel or a resort but a high end home which operates the way an affluent family use to live in the age of the past. The guests have plenty of activities in the house as well as the island from bird watching to fishing and also savouring a fine scotch to a session of Bob Dylan poetry appreciation. We like to live in the now and invite you to experience this through your holiday. We have a program called ‘Mindfulness’ at the Island House and this is a unique mechanism which has been designed for the traveller to live the experience of this holiday to the fullest. If you are interested in knowing more about this program, please get in touch with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Divar Island Guest House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divar Island Guest House Retreat Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing