We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience with small children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astrid Lindgren's World

Astrid Lindgren's World
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Vimmerby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Astrid Lindgren's World is a theatre park where visitors can experience characters from Astrid Lindgren's books in their true settings. The park covers 180,000 square metres in area and is in Astrid Lindgren's native town of Vimmerby in southern Sweden, not far from her parental home, Nas. The park features well-known settings from the best-loved stories of Astrid Lindgren.
Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great experience with small children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Astrid Lindgren`s world is great if you have a good knowledge of her books. There are no rides and no "Las Vegas glitter" here, so older children (say over the age of 10) will probably find it a little dull, but for smaller children it is great.

The milieus from the books are build up around the park, Pippi`s "Villa Villekulla" (her house) is set up in front of an amphi theatre, and every day there is one big show and several smaller shows. It`s the same with Mattisborgen (Ronja`s home) and Katthult (Emil`s home). Live animals are grazing and there is a very calm feel to the entire park. Several small, cute shops sell chocolate and candy, coffee and books as well as clothes etc. Several play areas with slides etc. There are barbecues set up around the area, too, so bring food and have a barbecue on the lawn.

The real stars of the experience was the actors. There were teams of actors acting out scenes from the books and bands that held spontaneous concerts.. I was so impressed! Particularly the children who acted and sang. Well worth the entrance fee. We had 1,5 days and it was just right. Less would have been stressfull and the girls would have grown tired by more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    133
    27
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were visiting for the second time, now the children are 6 and 4 years. It was a couple of years since last time. We were really excited to come back. Now we stayed for two days which we can really recommend. The park is perfectly sized and there is really something for every one. This time they had really developed and improved several attractions. Stories in plays are not just recited like I remenbered it, but are also shows, but still true to the original story. Both Emil and Ronja were fantastic. We also like the food in the park, more slow-food and authentic. The stores are not trying to attract the kids without the parents choosing. We really like it and will return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to bring the small ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had so much fun here as a kid, it was one of my favorite places that my parents took me to. It's really something else! If you happen to be in the area and got young kids with you I wouldn't miss it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PantherPanzerElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“probably the best kids attraction in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

it is everything that most other places aren't. It's clean, safe and not that expensive. Very safe for kids to roam around, as 'everything' is engineered around the kids having fun. It's quite busy, but the site is growing all the time. All of the set where there are numerous plays, are literally kids playground in between the shows, with many of the actors hanging around to chat with kids and have their photos taken, they clearly love their jobs and have all the patience in the world with them.
It's the little things that make this place work, like lots of toilets for the kids, plenty for space for kids buggies, no steep hills or child hazards etc. The build quality of the attractions is clearly visible too, not like many of the theme parks in the UK etc. You just don't see a bit of rust or flaky paint anywhere.
Staying in one of the cabins is not cheap, but you eat breakfast within the park itself and you are free to enjoy all the attractions for 2-3hours before the day tourists are let in the gates, this alone is worth staying overnight for. I would recommend knowing at least 1/2 the stories first though, but it's fun for a huge age range, parents included!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scarvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koge, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap as everything else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I saw commercials... "Come to AW in the autumn vacation", specially opened for the Danish visitors... "
That was some crap to write... We went there, almost everything was closed, few shows... The place is nice enough, but I don't like when someone promise things they can't keep.
it's a quite away from Denmark and all in that area is quite expensive, so you feel yourself cheated when the reason to go there not give what they promise.
Advise, go there in the summer ONLY! maybe many visitors, but all will be opened and much more value (I was there 5 years before) :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SorenRisager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid Lindgren's World also viewed

Vimmerby, Kalmar County
Vimmerby, Kalmar County
 
Skara, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Astrid Lindgren's World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing