We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smogens Hafvsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smogens Hafvsbad
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smogen
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had high expectations for this hotel considering the high price tag. We were disappointed, especially with the room. No sea views for any of the hotel rooms. The only sea view is from the terrace, which was nice, but nothing more special than that.

The surrounding area was lovely though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Norwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    62
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
28
113
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The main building of Smögen Havsbad is a beautiful old building from the outside. Indoors it has a relatively modern/plain restaurant and a swimming pool/jaccuzzi area. The old fashioned bath house feel has not been kept inside the hotel, as it seems they have renovated without considering the buildings original style.

We were a bit disappointed as it turned out we were staying in an annexe (Lässidan) 100 m. from the main building and the standard was not at all up to scratch considering what we paid for the room. Though, it was completely clean and comfortable. It said "Lässidan" on our booking, but unfortunately we didn´t understand that it meant a different building than the main hotel building. There is a SPA reception offering massages, mud masks etc., but we didn´t try that. The pool area is in the main building, but there is a gym and a sunbed (the electric type) in the "Lässidan" building.

We had the bbq buffet at the restaurant which was ok. The staff were friendly and corteous, which made it a pleasurable experience. We enjoyed a bottle of red wine in front of a beautiful sunset, which was nice.

Smögen itself is a really beautiful small seaside town, and I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Smögen a visit to the "Smögens Brygga", both during the day and at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the main building and don´t end up in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

- Got really, really disappointed as they say you can book a sea side room ("havssida") but it turns out that sea side has nothing to do with the sea in regards to visibility. Just a handful rooms seems to have any view of the ocean. See photos. Also a bit dull that no one seems to hang lightbulbs in the room - almost half of them were broken.

- The "spa" consist of a pool (1,8m deep) and a jacuzzi (which goes on cleaning-mode very often). If you want a real spa - go somewhere else.

- The dinner was great but the breakfast was average. The staff in the restaurant was very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get disappointed if you chose "Havssida" and don't see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambient1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Spent a night in the fall of Smögen sea. Ended up in the annexe which is probably an old converted school and have clear indications of this. Not exactly cozy hotel or some feeling there but a little department. The spa, which is very much advertising over and over was filled with people and no staff which meant that it was glass and empty bottles and clean cuit breaker and fuses. Additionally cuit breaker and fuses soundproof so it was a very noisy with lots of people.
Even had booked dinner in the evening. It was a story in itself. it started when it was served the wrong wine to Foratt and main course which meant that we finally had all the wine on the table. Water, we received only after several reminders. After a long wait we were informed to discard the unit was out of order, which brought with that you could not order out to the kitchen '. When the food finally came, it was fillet of beef instead of lamb. Nothing cuit breaker and fuses exchange, but probably was the lamb out and it did not say that. Additionally försäkte they charge for dessert at check-out day in spite of that it would not get paid for it. In conclusion, unfortunately, not romantic tranquility, but rather bears characterized by stress.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriksen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Smogen hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

With a summer house on Smögen, we have had a number of meals at Smögens Havsbad over the years. Every year, we leave disappointed hoping that the place will improve for the next season.

At the core of the problem is the fact that the hotel seems to be derive a large proportion of its revenues from conferences rather than families or couples. This means that the restaurant is built to cater to large groups of 20-50 people. As a result, the restaurant has an institutional canteen feel rather devoid of character. Considering the relatively high prices charged we expect both a better atmosphere and higher quality food. In addition, the service can be somewhat lacklustre and not up to international standards.

However, the lunch buffet is pretty good value for money at SEK 125 during weekdays and SEK 140 on Sundays. Especially so during the summer when you can sit outside and escape from the canteen feeling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Spent a weekend here with my wife to enjoy their spa. Although the spa menu is nice, we didn't quite feel good value for money. It lacked the feeling of relaxation as it simply was too crowded with a lot of kids playing in the swimming area. The aroma bath was a joke, with nothing offered but a hot tub with aroma oil. The food on the other side was rather good and the staff very friendly. Room ok. Would consider going back during a nice summer day, as the view is spectacular, but would look elsewhere for a better spa.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a view to the sea - and not to the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwegianViking74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel is nice, but you pay a lot for the location, which is perfect. Rooms are OK and clean, but not 4 star. Excellent SPA facilities. Fantastic breakfast. Very nice reception staff.
The only issue is the attitude of the bar/restaurant staff, which is among the worst I ever have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smogen
14.2 mi away
Vann Spa Hotell & Konferens
9.7 mi away
Strandflickornas Havshotell
11.4 mi away
Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Lysekil
Grand Hotel Lysekil
#2 of 2 in Lysekil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensionat Bryggan
Pensionat Bryggan
#1 of 4 in Smogen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smogens Hafvsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smogens Hafvsbad

Property: Smogens Hafvsbad
Address: Hotellgatan 26, Smogen 456 51, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Smogen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smogen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smogens Hafvsbad 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Smogens Hafvsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing