We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolmarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolmarden
Stockholm Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location...”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Vildmarks hotellet at Kolmarden Zoo is obviously ideally placed to stay at when you go to the Zoo. Its basically in the middle of the park and have immediate access to the best parts of the park, marine world, tiger world and the new Safari (which is excellent).

The hotel is during the summer packed with families coming in to see the animals at the Zoo and its therefore set up to cater for those types of needs. We stayed there just a few days ago and had our two kids with us. Here is how we see it;

1) Hotel in general: quite nice, its an old property that's been done up a few times and general standards are 3-4 star quality. The rooms are quite small but decent set up, clean and pretty good (but no luxury!).

2) Spa / bath: this was for us the best part of the hotel. They have a two level spa with an adventure pool (inside and outside) for the families on the bottom floor, good large sized sauna and very spacious relax areas and a pretty well stocked bar.

3) Restaurants: this was for us the big disappointment. Buffet only style and always packed with a queue to enter. Food was at best ok although service was friendly and pretty fast. We seriously recommend the hotel to split the restaurant and run a buffet section as well as an a la cart. We are quite sure that there are lots of families traveling and looking for a better restaurant experience than a buffet provides (which basically makes the food intake a process you want to get over and done with as quickly as possible)

4) Service: pretty ok and friendly and mainly provided by youngish staff.

All in all, the best and only option if you want to stay in the zoo. Has some good things but for the price (about 4.000 SEK per night for a room, breakfast and entry to the park) we feel it should provide more (slightly better/upgraded rooms) and better restaurant / food options.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    83
    99
    52
    13
See reviews for
199
4
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you are visiting Kolmården with your family and need a place to stay, this is it. Private entrance to the zoo, own parking instead of the huge main parking, early-morning tour, kids' play rooms, junior disco, whatnot. The seaside rooms have a magnificent view as the building is located high on the hillside.

They serve an all-day buffet which is a bit expensive but with good quality, you should be hungry if you decide to take it.

The swimming part of the "spa" is quite nice but small with very few pools and was crowded at the time of our visit. Instructions on what to take with you to the spa were totally missing from the room (so take your own towel, preferably only slippers on your feet, valuables can be locked in a pin-protected locker in the spa-area).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hphuhtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well, if you wanna go for a romantic weekend with your beloved one in June-August, go somewhere else... If you want a perfect setup for a perfect weekend with your kids, this is the place. Spa is fantastic, playgrounds are great, drop-in cinema, kids activities - state of the art! The closeness to the backentrence to the Zoo makes it all. Rooms are very functional and fresh, breakfast has a broad selection and the buffé dinner is also very attractive. The kids loved it and I enjoyed it!!! The staff was amazing with their constant smile and helpfulness!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maffe_johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Vildmarkshotellet it very much a sidekick of the Zoo. They have private entrance to the Zoo, several extra services in the Zoo (like morning walk to see the Savannah enter, Tiger feedings etc.) some free, some with an extra fee. An excellent choise to avoid the standard hassle at the main gates. The hotel has good parking, and excellent service for zoogoers.

The rooms are small, and not too luxorious. the standard bedding arrangement is two beds for adults and a two level bed for children, that is good for kids under 160 cm tall. The beds had seen their best days in the 80's and very much too soft. The "night table" that separated the beds was removable, but with that disappeared much of the tablespace in the room, and the result of pushing the beds together definitely was not a double bed.

Wifi service in the rooms was free and had no hassles.

The Spa is not very large, and was extremely crowded during our visit, but nice for playing with kids in water. Might not recommend this as a "traditional" Spa experience for discerning adults.

The included breakfast was nice and had good selection. It's done with the children foremost in mind, so no great culinary experiments, but a very good, healthy breakfast. The buffet dinner is also ok, but not a great culinary experience. Some of the food was excellent, and some were a bit dull. Again, great with kids, and clearly designed that way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

During the summer this hotel seems to be 100% geared towards families with young children who spend the night while visiting the Kolmarden park. I have never seen so many kids (and prams) in a hotel before! The hotel has a MASSIVE play area for kids with so many toys, a cinema, an indoor pool section and the buffet in the restaurant caters really well to what kids (but also parents) like to eat. Plattar (minicrepes) in the breakfast buffet were a big hit with out kids.
The location is superb within close walking distance for visiting the park but also great view of the archipelago. We had a seaview room and it was amazing to wake up with this view, very serene!
The rooms are quite small, especially when you pull the 2 kids beds (bunkbed style) down from the wall. But for 1 night it was more than enough and the kids were exhausted after a full day in the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maltaswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolmarden
7.0 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
95 reviews
10.8 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
#4 of 11 in Norrkoping
287 reviews
10.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#3 of 11 in Norrkoping
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#9 of 11 in Norrkoping
308 reviews
10.5 mi away
First Hotel Central
First Hotel Central
#10 of 11 in Norrkoping
69 reviews
10.6 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
#2 of 11 in Norrkoping
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden

Property: Vildmarkshotellet Kolmarden
Address: Kolmarden, Kolmarden 618 93, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Kolmarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kolmarden
Number of rooms: 213

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing