We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay at colva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colmar Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Colmar beach resort was a lovely experience. nice cozy hotel. on ground floor the pool facing rooms are extremely good.

come out of the hotel and you are on the beautiful colva beach. i suppose it is the best beach of goa. amidst of beautiful coconut trees this hotel is there. at night many atimes we could go on a walk at the beach. nothing less than a paradise.

the food was good and if you want some change good shacks are available nearby for good sea food.

cleanliness and hygine was maintained. staff was courteous and hospitality was great.

can be a good place for honeymoon really.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhulsinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2010

this hotel is a 2 star resort with swimming pool, hot water ,AC and all the facilities. This is one of the best budget hotel in colva located in south goa. this is situated right on the beach. had been to this hotel 4 times with friends. once in a year , we land to this hotel for sure. mostly in the month of Feb

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I was going to Goa for the first time in my life and surfing the net to find the optimum hotel with affordable rent but still a nice sea view from my window. Most of the hotels charge like bomb even if it's not season. Finally I found out about this hotel which costs only 650 for a non-ac room. All the Ac rooms were booked unfortunately. The room service is not that good in this hotel. You need to ask them again and again for any work. But the rooms are quite nice, you can see one picture i uploaded. It got facilities like TV, hot water.

The location of the hotel is really good. Madgaon is kind of in between north and south goa. So we went to north two days and south another day. It was really great. You can also have lots of fun in the Colva beach (check picture).

There is a market nearby with lots of shops of various kinds.There's one nice restaurant nearby (planning to write a review on that too) where we used to have dinner (and fenny). The hotel restaurant is also good but costs little high. It has a Bar too, for the interested people.

Oh forgot to mention, there are some cottages in the hotel near swimming pool. Think those will be best for couples. But book them before going there as all them were booked the time we went. :D

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We had gone to Goa from Kanpur and had booked our rooms in advance thro' a travel agent in Delhi called Sparrow Tours & Travels mentioned in the resort website. We paid the full amount (room charge @ Rs. 1400 per day for 5 days) and were given receipt for deluxe rooms. When we reached there, the reception people behaved as if that advance payment had absolutely no value. Initially, they offered us a room under the staircase!Finally, they gave us a room at the back-side, which was dangerously close to a transformer. Instead of the sea, we could see a huge garbage dump from the window. They said that no rooms were booked for us and boastfully said the tariff of that room is Rs. 600; only; they can't do anything about that as the rest of the money is hogged by the travel agents.
The room was extremely dampy and stinking, bathrooms were dirty and there were very frequent power cuts. Fan, TV, intercom (actually it was just ornamental!) were not working. When we asked for drinking water they have us tap water from a horribly looking basin in awful looking plastic jugs!
The men at the reception(especially the manager Rodricks) simply did not know how to behave with the guests. They were laughing at our plights. It turned out that there is unholy nexus between the hotel manager/management and the travel agents mentioned in their official website (http://colmarbeachresort.net/about-us.htm).
We have been to many tourist places, in India and abroad, but have never come across such hotel reception staff, esp. the manger Rodricks, who is undoubtedly the most ill mannered of all.

Plus points-good location, very good restaurant 'Pasta Hut' next to the hotel.

To conclude, this is worst place to stay while on a holiday. It spoilt our vacation, don't let them do the same to you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MM184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotels manager was more interested in giving rooms to foreigners than Indians.

Initially the room they gave us was in a bad shape. Weired smell was coming out from the room. Bathroom lights were not working.
Later they moved us to different room which was slightly better.

After 1 night stay, we moved to another hotel (I dont remember the name but it was managed by Goa tourism on Colmar beach.)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank priyankgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I'll recommend this hotel. It's decent budget hotel. Most importantly, it's right in-front of the colva beach. It has a decent restaurant cum bar. Overall its good experience.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Prasenjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We booked thorugh a travel sight where the hotelwas given 3 star and good rating . little did we knowq we were in for a big surprise. the rooms were not alloted to until half th day was over . the rooms were dirty and were located ina dingy , poorly lot alleys. the plates left by customers outside the rooms are not removed immediately. the staff have to be woken up in the morning to serve us tea at 9.
very bad experiance.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mans_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margao
0.1 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#12 of 39 in Salcette
170 reviews
22 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#107 of 125 in Calangute
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#2 of 5 in Margao
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colva Residency
Colva Residency
#8 of 18 in Colva
188 reviews
10.7 mi away
M The Business Hotel
M The Business Hotel
#2 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
86 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sapphire Comfort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Beach Resort

Address: Colva Beach, Margao 403601, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Price Range: $21 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colmar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Colmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Beach Hotel Margao
Colmar Beach Resort Goa/Margao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing