We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable hotel with a beach view and swimming pool...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colmar Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable hotel with a beach view and swimming pool...”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I was going to Goa for the first time in my life and surfing the net to find the optimum hotel with affordable rent but still a nice sea view from my window. Most of the hotels charge like bomb even if it's not season. Finally I found out about this hotel which costs only 650 for a non-ac room. All the Ac rooms were booked unfortunately. The room service is not that good in this hotel. You need to ask them again and again for any work. But the rooms are quite nice, you can see one picture i uploaded. It got facilities like TV, hot water.

The location of the hotel is really good. Madgaon is kind of in between north and south goa. So we went to north two days and south another day. It was really great. You can also have lots of fun in the Colva beach (check picture).

There is a market nearby with lots of shops of various kinds.There's one nice restaurant nearby (planning to write a review on that too) where we used to have dinner (and fenny). The hotel restaurant is also good but costs little high. It has a Bar too, for the interested people.

Oh forgot to mention, there are some cottages in the hotel near swimming pool. Think those will be best for couples. But book them before going there as all them were booked the time we went. :D

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    17
    14
    23
See reviews for
26
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We had gone to Goa from Kanpur and had booked our rooms in advance thro' a travel agent in Delhi called Sparrow Tours & Travels mentioned in the resort website. We paid the full amount (room charge @ Rs. 1400 per day for 5 days) and were given receipt for deluxe rooms. When we reached there, the reception people behaved as if that advance payment had absolutely no value. Initially, they offered us a room under the staircase!Finally, they gave us a room at the back-side, which was dangerously close to a transformer. Instead of the sea, we could see a huge garbage dump from the window. They said that no rooms were booked for us and boastfully said the tariff of that room is Rs. 600; only; they can't do anything about that as the rest of the money is hogged by the travel agents.
The room was extremely dampy and stinking, bathrooms were dirty and there were very frequent power cuts. Fan, TV, intercom (actually it was just ornamental!) were not working. When we asked for drinking water they have us tap water from a horribly looking basin in awful looking plastic jugs!
The men at the reception(especially the manager Rodricks) simply did not know how to behave with the guests. They were laughing at our plights. It turned out that there is unholy nexus between the hotel manager/management and the travel agents mentioned in their official website (http://colmarbeachresort.net/about-us.htm).
We have been to many tourist places, in India and abroad, but have never come across such hotel reception staff, esp. the manger Rodricks, who is undoubtedly the most ill mannered of all.

Plus points-good location, very good restaurant 'Pasta Hut' next to the hotel.

To conclude, this is worst place to stay while on a holiday. It spoilt our vacation, don't let them do the same to you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MM184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margao hotels

Voyager
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotels manager was more interested in giving rooms to foreigners than Indians.

Initially the room they gave us was in a bad shape. Weired smell was coming out from the room. Bathroom lights were not working.
Later they moved us to different room which was slightly better.

After 1 night stay, we moved to another hotel (I dont remember the name but it was managed by Goa tourism on Colmar beach.)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank priyankgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I'll recommend this hotel. It's decent budget hotel. Most importantly, it's right in-front of the colva beach. It has a decent restaurant cum bar. Overall its good experience.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasenjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We booked thorugh a travel sight where the hotelwas given 3 star and good rating . little did we knowq we were in for a big surprise. the rooms were not alloted to until half th day was over . the rooms were dirty and were located ina dingy , poorly lot alleys. the plates left by customers outside the rooms are not removed immediately. the staff have to be woken up in the morning to serve us tea at 9.
very bad experiance.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mans_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed in a poolside cottage. Rs. 1000/- per night. Room was clean. Initially they showed some Rs. 600/- rooms. They were not up to the mark, stale smell was inside those rooms. One of the biggest drawbacks is, you have to pay full money before entering the room and they don't accept any sort of cards. We had to give all our cash. That day we had to satisfy ourselves with quite a little meal, as we were hungry at 2:00 PM afternoon and attached restaurant as well did not accept card !!!!

Now come to the room service : They do not have any room service. The telephone was dead. If you need anything you have to come all the way to the reception.

And the most sad part of the story: The check out time is 12:00 noon sharp. They won't even allow you to leave the room but keep your luggages for some time. That's pathetic. We were having our lunch at Pasta Hut ( attached restaurant), but they forced us to leave the food and bring the luggage from room as it was already 12 noon. This totally made a mess of our otherwise good trip.

If there is any second option available, try to avoid COLMAR beach resort. They don't know how to behave with the customer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Ok, we were goin' here with some despect, due to anothers reviews, but honestly, I was really surprised (in good point of view). Cheep, sufficient resort next to sea. Clean rooms and good restaurants near by. Services was not exactly best, but for the price it was good. If you want enjoy vacation with lot of services, clean swimming pool and so, you would rather prefer another destiantion and (of course) pay for it, but if you would enjoy vacation at sea, and don´t need some special things, you're gonna be satisfied. It is higher Indian standard.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margao
0.1 mi away
Colva Residency
Colva Residency
#7 of 17 in Colva
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 38 in Salcette
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#8 of 17 in Colva
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Beach Resort

Property: Colmar Beach Resort
Address: Colva Beach, Margao 403601, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Margao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colmar Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Colmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Beach Hotel Margao
Colmar Beach Resort Goa/Margao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing