We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch.”

Tato's Fine Dining, Margao
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #20 of 188 Restaurants in Margao
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

Had the fish Thali for lunch..quantities of each item was very good, my problem was the fish was good but too much salt.
The chef in charge must make sure food is not salty, less it better and an individual can add more salt ..here I had to eat the salty fish ...this was my only ambience and whole experience good!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 591gracyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

The service was a lil slow and a bit too cozy . The food was good and tasty . The biggest problem is the parking there aint enough space for parking .

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sly1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

Our group wanted to visit Cafe Tato's in Margao. On reaching there, we were told that the Cafe was closed for the night and the fine dining restaurant with the same name was open. Left with no choice, we agreed.

The restaurant is 3 floors up. It's a small place, with an ok ambience. We ordered both vegetarian and seafood dishes. The seafood was decent, the vegetarian not so much. Also, the serving sizes were on the smaller side. Service was ok, nothing too special and for the prices, the quality and quantity can be better.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Had been to this place based on great reviews. Unfortunately never enjoyed the food both the times in the ground floor and first floor. The Hyderabad Veg Dum briyani was a total washout. Shocking that they sell something like that not even knowing how it looks and tastes in Hyderabad. Food quantity is also less. Not worth visiting again.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vettri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Our family decided to have a quick lunch of fish curry rice and since we were in the vicinity of a restaurant named Tatos we decided to stop by. We had to go through a maze like inconvenient route to finally reach the so called fine dining zone ( don't get misled by the word fine dining....they need to learn how to use adjectives correctly). Well we ordered the famous Goan Fish Thali, it arrived within 10 mins and what a shocker....the fish was raw and pink ( we sent it to be fried again but it came raw the second time too)....there was no kismur as the waiter told us, just a mackeral head in some reddish curry, a bit of scrambled egg and a piece of boneless chicken in some gravy along with a bit of fish curry and rice. For vegetable there was yesterdays left over mish mash bhaji. Well this was anything but a fish thali....we do not eat chicken on Fridays but due to their cunning nature of cutting down on fish in a fish thali and substituting it with chicken which is cheaper, we were forced to unknowingly eat chicken. Since it was boneless, we thought it was some tough fish, then realised it was chicken.....called the waiter, he said, yes. "Today's FISH THALI HAS CHICKEN". Wow...what an explanation. On asking to meet the manager, he refused and asked us to come down 2 floors to meet him with the raw fish and chicken ...so we came down 2 floors with the thali to show it to him...The reason for this, his high and mighty attitude, he told us that he could change the food items in the thali as per their decision. No apologies, nothing...It was just another worker there who apologised on his behalf. There were others in the restaurant who ate the same thali and they were were not chicken eaters, so they too were forced to eat chicken in a fish thali. Avoid Tatos, the food is mediocre, a rip off and the management is bad. They take rudeness to a new level. Check out other places for a fish thali....lesser priced and much better. Ranche Ghar, Old Station, Anoushkas...to name a few give tastier and more genuine fare.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wenmarkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tato's Fine Dining, Margao also viewed

Margao, South Goa District
 
Margao, South Goa District
Margao, South Goa District
 
Margao, South Goa District
Margao, South Goa District
 

Been to Tato's Fine Dining, Margao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing