We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Mystic Pines”
Review of Mystic Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasauli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystic Pines
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very non commercial place to stay. Very unlike the normal touristy hotel. The accommodation is very comfortable without being luxurious. It's like a home away from home. It's what I would like to have as a home in the hills. There are 3 cottages, of which two are let out to guests. Each cottage has two bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a large sitting area with an unobstructed view of the hills outside, a large balcony or a sitting area.Each cottage also has a kitchen.
The rooms are spacious and clean, as are the bathrooms. Water is available 24 hours. The atmosphere is one of peace and tranquility, with the sound of the pines a constant backdrop to your stay.
The menu is reasonably large with a wide variety to choose from. And the dishes are tasty and satisfying. The service is courteous and unhurried in keeping with the atmosphere as well as the spread out nature of the cottages.
There is an unobtructed view of the surrounding hills as well as of the plains from the outside sitting areas. This is not located in a noisy or touristy place. It exudes a tranquil quality which is difficult to duplicate. An ideal place to recharge ones batteries, with a book or a walk in one of the many trails which are close by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivek1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

A couple of weeks back we drove up the Shivalik hills to spend a quiet weekend at the Mystic Pines. A narrow mountain stretch led us to the cottages dotting the Kasauli hills. Lush green lawns lined with exotic flowers welcomed us into one of the cottages. The soothing greenery instantly made us fall in love with the place. Once inside the cottage, we found the rooms to be tastefully furnished giving a very European feel to the place. No holiday is rewarding enough if it doesn't tickle one's taste buds. The ever so courteous staff attended to us with platters to suit even the most fussy ones among us. The resort felt like a home away from home. Fortunately for us, even the weather gods were ready to please us. At least once during our stay, the monsoons lifted the thick cloak of fog they had covered the pine trees with, giving a spectacular view of the sunset... a heavenly experience! In the mornings, the fitness freaks among us took off on the three kilometre stretch leading further into the hills. The path was quite like an exclusive walking trail for the cottage guests with barely any inhabitation around it. The resort: a great retreat.

Room Tip: I felt the room to the right if you stood facing the first cottage was the best for me as I got a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had booked a cottage at the Mystic Pines on their website and through subsequent telephone conversations with the owner. My grandmother, Aunt and I drove up last month(July) from Jalandhar. Thanks to the new Himalayan Expressway, we were in Kasauli in very good time. It was very foggy when we got there and we were a little apprehensive. We had a very smooth and warm check in and we were sitting on the terrace of our very well appointed cottage, sipping hot cups of tea when suddenly the fog lifted and we had the most breathtaking view of the plains as well as the mountain ranges on all sides. As it had cleared up we decided to go for a walk as recommended by our host. It was a very pretty walk on an almost private road that led to a quaint old temple. There was a thick pine forest all along as well as a natural spring. We had to order our dinner as food is home cooked by prior intimation. It was delicious and the staff was very courteous and helpful. We also observed that the owner was personally supervising everything. The rooms and the linen were very clean and fresh. Though we had booked for two days, my grand mom wanted to stay longer so we extended our stay by one more day. We loved the ambience and our gracious host who made it a point to interact with all her guests.I think I have discovered the perfect and most tranquil getaway. Keep up the good work Rishma.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the cottage with the green terrace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samaira4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Mystic Pines is an ideal place to relax,unwind and rejuvenate, far from the madding crowd. The setting is idyllic with a breathtaking view of the mountains as well as the plains on a clear day. The sunsets are stunning. Our cottage was well furnished (without any clutter) with all modern amenities. The bathrooms were very clean. The beds were comfortable with clean linen. The place is like a home away from away where the kids can play around unlike a hotel that is impersonal. The staff is extremely polite, attentive and well mannered. The food was homely and delicious. There are nice trekking trails nearby but the private patio/sit out area in front of the cottage is so beautiful and pretty that I just kept siting there soaking in the pristine surroundings, the silence and the ambiance. It was misty when we were there and it just added to the whole experience. The kitchenette has a refrigerator and an electric kettle and the owners have thoughtfully provided some crockery also. Like in a hotel, tea/coffee can be prepared in the kitchenette, the essentials have been provided.The owners are very nice, polite and patient. It is an excellent place for a leisurely holiday where you can just put your feet up and do nothing or you can go for nature walks. All in all, it was a memorable trip and I am already looking forward to going there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsingh003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A bunch of us friends drove down from delhi to the mystic pines, kasauli. At first we weren't too sure about this place as it is a newer setup and not in main kasauli. The road leading up to this place is not the best and really makes you wonder if you are heading to no-where. To our surprise when we did finally get there we slowly realized, this was exactly what we were looking for. A quiet get away !!

So the setup gives you enough privacy as there are 3 different well spaced cottages on the property. The cottages are comfortable, well furnished and equipped with most modern amenities you will find in a hotel. There is a green private patio area to the cottages that provide stunning views of the mountain range in front and as well as the plains below. To be honest the views at this place change frequently and it always feels like your in a new place. i am saying this, as just night and day views are very different and if the weather is good, then it gets even better like fog in your rooms.(refer to pic). Service at the pines was good, we were provided with clean rooms, bathrooms and fresh linen. The staff was courteous and always available for our needs.

Kasauli & Dagshai are very close by to this place, both can be explored by car or foot. For the adventure junkies there are some nice trekking trails & sporting activities close by as well.

Best time to visit is in between july-oct, as the weather is nice(cool but not cold) and you can see the pristine natural beauty come alive in this area. i say this because i visit kasauli often.

All in all this was a memorable trip and i am glad we had chosen the mystic pines. This is not your average holiday hotel but rather a quiet quaint little home stay in the foot hills of the himalayas providing you with some truly "Mystical Moments".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Mystic pines has cottages and a kitchenette which comes very handy when you are a group of friends/families. You have a lot of privacy. There is lot of place for kids to move around. The rooms are clean and decently decorated. Tea/coffee can be made in the kitchenette. A fridge is there to keep drinks/fruits. The food is OK, but lacks variety. With no meals being part of the room rent, the effective cost of the stay tends to move up..

The property provides an amazing view of the sunset and the chandigarh city below. The approach road (last 500 meters) was a bit narrow, and there is a garbage dump that needs to be crossed by driving above it..

I liked it, but not enough for a second time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was easy to book with a simple exchnage of emails and a quick wire transfer of advance.
Easy to reach with good and patient telephonic directions by the owner/host - several calls were made. Though wish they provide Lattitude+Longitude details for a Digital Maps users.
Thoughtful host had offered and prepared lunch for our two families, knowing we'd have travelled 8hours from the NCR (they normally do not serve lunch).
Independent cottage - 2BHK on one floor and 1Studio on the floor below - were sufficient for a group of 2 couples and 5 kids. The furnishings and appointments were comfortable, not luxury - though we missed shelf space in the bathrooms.
The two attendants were simple and courteous and made up for their tardiness by severe helpfulness.
While the property lacks a sit-out lawn with table service, it does have a large balcony with wide-angle views of the surrounding hills and valley below.
A short walk past the property takes you to the 'ancient' (praacheen) Shiv Temple of Nahari which has a unique recent addition idol of Shiva in 'ardhnareeshwar' avataar. Neighboring properties are inhabited by friendly professional types from Panchkula, or retired Govt Officers who're willing to chat with you.
En route to the temple is a natural spring or water source which is now protected along with a simple haudi (small open tank) and a large covered tank (see attache pix).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DesiTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasauli hotels
0 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kasauli
252 reviews
0 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Kasauli
393 reviews
0 mi away
Birds View Kasauli
Birds View Kasauli
#5 of 17 in Kasauli
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
0 mi away
Kasauli Exotica
Kasauli Exotica
#8 of 17 in Kasauli
136 reviews
0 mi away
Kasauli Hills Resort
Kasauli Hills Resort
#12 of 17 in Kasauli
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Pines

Address: Nari Mandir Road | Village Chhatiyan, Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil 173204, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kasauli Tehsil > Kasauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Kasauli
Price Range: $55 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender yourself to the serenity of the mountains at 'The Mystic Pines', Kasauli. Situated along an idyllic hillside at an altitude of 5,500 feet, we offer extremely exclusive cottages for daily and up to weekly stays. Overlooking dense Pine forests, this is a boutique property ideal for the discerning traveler looking to experience the feel of a home in the hills. Each cottage consists of 3 luxury bedrooms with attached modern bathrooms, a spacious lounge and dining room, kitchen with electric kettles and refrigerators and private terraces and balconies. Cottages can be booked as an entire unit for a group, or rooms can be booked individually. Sunset Views from The Mystic Pines are the most spectacular as compared to anywhere else in Kasauli and these can be enjoyed from the many decks, sit-outs and spiral stair-cases that dot the property. Take in panoramic views of the Siwalik valleys giving way to the North Indian plains of Chandigarh and Punjab. As the skies dim for dusk against majestic Himalayan ranges, the sparkling lights of Chandigarh come alive. Located on an almost private road called the Narhi Mandir road, the area is particularly quiet and untouched … and as the wilderness rejuvenates you, the stillness of the surroundings is broken only by winds rustling through tall pines. AMENITIES• Each cottage is fully drive-in, spacious and well furnished • Elegant and uncluttered interiors, fitted with all contemporary amenities • 24 hour power backup and running hot and cold water • Tata-sky fitted televisions • Refrigerators in each cottage • Room service• Electric tea/coffee makers with complimentary tea and coffee refurbished everyday• Private verandahs and balconies overlooking the valley• Efficient and attentive staff making this an ideal getaway for families • Proximity to Kasauli Bazaar, Kasauli Club and The Lawrence School, Sanawar • Cottages are approved for Home Stay by the Himachal Tourism Department • Provision for extra beds at extra charge• Parking on the premises • Travel Concierge and Taxi service ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing