We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I now own a villa in the hills :p”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Homestead Villas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Lawn - Cottage View
Level 2 - Cottage View /Table Tennis Den( Bottom Left)
Level 2 - Swing
Lawn- Level 2
Level 2- Sit out /Lawn/ Cottage
View from Sit Out
Level 2- Sit Out
Level 2 - Living
Level 2 - Dining
Level 2- Living
Level 2- Interiors
Level 2- Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Level 2 - Bedroom
Stairs - Level 1 to Level 2
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Lawn
Level 1 - Living
Level 1 - Kitchen
Level 1 - Bedroom
Level 1 - Sit Out
Level 1 - Sit Out
Children's Play Area
Stairs- Parking to Cottages
Children's Play Area
Stairs to Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil, Solan District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
parul341
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I now own a villa in the hills :p”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

With the hustle bustle in Delhi, I much needed a break and picked Homestead villas, kasauli as my getaway destination. Oh boy, to my surprise it was way more beautiful and peaceful than I thought. Homestead creates a perfect ambiance for a peaceful time with yourself and your loved ones. A home away from home, is the feeling it created from the minute I walked in. I felt like its my own place and I can do whatever I feel like. The rooms, garden, view, all were very comforting and to top it all there was excellent hospitality by the caretakers, which just made the whole experience outstanding. Lovely place and lovely people, what better deal can one ask for. It s a very well thought out place and done up with a lot of love, one can easily feel that in its different corners, like the jhoola in one corner and the antique sitting on the other.
They even provide music player, books, TT table set and many other things for recreation.
I highly recommend this place to all those who often wish they could have their own property in the hills because this place offers just that kind of feeling. Family or friends all can head here for a very comfortable and happy vacation. Great going Homestead team :) 
Cant wait to get there again with more friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abhisheks...
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had booked this place well in advance after doing thorough search online and thankfully so coz this turned out to be a great decision to stay at this place. We were 3 couples with 2 small kids and the moment we entered this heaven, we couldn't be sure of seeing a better holiday home. The place is filled with a lot of positive energy and enthusiasm with being a perfect laidback setting for a holiday. The huge windows and perfect views from the valley and lawn just take away your worries and tensions. Food is good with extremely courteous and resourceful staff just doesn't let you worry at all. I suggest this place to everyone coz it has something to offer for everyone but coming in large groups will be more enjoyable and memorable. Many more holidays I wanna spend here soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the oevrall ambience and view
Liked least: long flight of stairs but common in hills
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drdivya11
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in lap of nature”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Homestead bungalow, Kasauli for 3 nights in July. The location is top notch as offering complete solitude it still is within walking distance of heritage market, church etc. The bungalow is tastefully decorated with enchanting views overlooking the vast expanse of valley. The caretaker provided warm hospitality by serving delicious home cooked food. We will love to visit it again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iapplaud
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did not meet the expectations.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We chose this place to stay for 5 days because ours was a group of 6 adults and 5 children, we wanted to cook ourselves and expected some comfort and privacy.
What We got-
1) Other set of guests were chain smokers. Their smoke wafted up to our 2nd floor and it was extremely uncomfortable. Secondly, their drivers who were staying in the room next to ours were also smokers who would smoke outside our room right up till midnight. Neither our days nor nights were comfortable.
2) We had shared that we planned to do our cooking but what we got was an ill-equipped kitchen. There was only one jar-broken mixie and one not-properly working toaster which was shared between the first and second floor kitchens.
We felt it was not a fair exchange considering the room charges are one of the highest in Kasauli.
We wish that Trip Advisor would warn about the smoking and non-smoking properties.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the feedback as well as choosing to stay at our premises. Your feedback definitely has caused us much sadness.

We did actively engage with you through your booking, during check-out and through your stay. During your check out you mentioned you were quite happy with the stay and even referred the place to your friends leading to two more successful bookings.

Given the above, the feedback took us by surprise and we feel let down.

We had conveyed our reluctance to take your booking given there were guests in the other level. We had made this known to you and you had continued with the booking with this update. Given it was the busy season in June, and you were not finding alternate options, on much insistence from you we agreed to the booking with the constraints around the specific instance of booking being made known to you.

On fellow guests smoking, we can only request our other quests to desist from smoking. We did so and the other guests even after much annoyance agreed to reduce their smoking.

You would appreciate that wherever there was room, we obliged. We shifted the TT table to your level. As mentioned even in our introduction mail, given the premises being a homestay, the presence of caretaker on premises in mandatory. Given your request to do self-cooking even at Level 2, we got our caretaker to let go their kitchen and make it available to you independently. As you would have noted, we do not offer the option of self cooking to guests at Level 2 since our Guest kitchen is only for guests at Level 1.

We did whatever we could even when we were not comfortable taking the booking in the first place. We bent backwards to make your stay comfortable. Your feedback therefore makes us feel quite saddened.

We apologize for the inconvenience. We will make sure going forward, we will not make any exceptions of allowing insistent bookings.

Thanks and regards
Homestead team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 4, 2014
Thank you so much . We hope to welcome you again very soon .
Regards ,
Shikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vdhoot
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very serene getaway”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely views, well-maintained, pretty gardens and a feeling of being home in the hills. Kasauli has little to do for young kids, but they weren't bored for a minute

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2014
Thank you so much . We hope to welcome you again soon .
Regards ,
Shikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2014
Thank you Minal !! Hope to welcome you again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing