We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location in Kasauli...3*+ category”
Review of Ross Common

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasauli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross Common
Ranked #3 of 37 Kasauli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A well managed HPTDC Hotel with supreb location. The main Hotel has just 6 rooms and we booked a Suite and 2 Deluxe rooms so we had the entire backyard to ourselves.

The best part about the Hotel is the open sit out area with breathtaking views of the valley & snow peaks where you can enjoy morning tea, lunches/ snacks. Not suitable for dinner though due to harsh winters.

Second best if the Food. Everything is made to order.

Service can be improved but knowing that it's a Govt run property you accept it.

Highly recommended for stay in Kasauli.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delhitraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Kasauli is a laid back sleepy town and Ross Common enhances it. If you like misty mornings, lazy afternoon where you just sip coffee, read a book or just appreciating the nature, this is the place to be. The rooms give you old, rustic feel. The breakfast and lunch is ala-carte and arranged in the open, you can get it customized to some extent. Bit of open area for kids to play, though not much.
The staff is helpful and goes out of way to make your stay comfortable.

If you are fond of walking, you can go to "manki point" which is around 2 kms from here. The "manki point" area is under defence surveillance and you would need a photo-id to enter, but the view from the top point is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keshav_chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The only good point about the hotel is its good location. It is at walking distance from Sunset point, sunrise point and it is about 2.5 Km from Mankey Point (Hanuman Mandir).

Else is awful, we paid for an extra bed (folding bed) which broke down at 1 am and there was no spare bed for replacement. We 4 people slept on a single double bed. Food was expensive and was average in taste. Paneer was like a rubber. Morning pranthas were served without butter.

Doors, windows, geyser, room heater etc were all in bad shape. NO MAINTENANCE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumitnsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Kasauli (or rather Kussowlie) is a beautiful hill station. Much better than Shimla, Manali, Nainital, Mussorie, etc. One reason for my liking Kussowlie so much is the Ross Common hotel. It has a beautiful, home-style atmosphere, with an old-world charm, nestled qiuetly in lush greens...away from the mall road, and the traffic. I would not rate it excellent on the upkeep front, but the staff, food, location and everything else is so nice, I love going there again and again.

This was my second visit to the hotel. My expectations were not very high in terms of the overall upkeep of the property, but the staff is full of warmth and always ready to assist. I was there with my little son but never had a problem even late night or early morning. Things were delivered within minutes. May be because I was staying in the main buliding this time (last time I stayed with my wife in the annexe).

Just go there and UNWIND. Sit and relax in the open, enjoy the breeze, the sun, the quiteness, the nature...you will fall in love.

Overall, if they maintain the place better, they can be the number one hotel in Kussowlie. But I will still go back to them on my next visit.

Room Tip: Recommend families with small children to stay in the main building, families with grown ups or coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_Goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Personally, I would rate Kasauli as one of the most beautiful and easy to reach hill station.
Been to this hill station many times, I find "Ross Common" to be one of the most suitable property.
Hotel is near lower mall and Kasauli Church, offers one of the best view over the valley. The property has small garden, where one can order food and enjoy the scenic valley. Food quality is one of the best in Kasauli and so is the service.
This property is basically a bungalow that has been converted to hotel, rooms are few. Since property is old one can say refurbishment is required but at the same time it would be incorrect to compare this with the modern hotels of today.
In all, I would rate this as one of the best option in Kasauli with good food and service and even better location and charm.
The hotel staff is warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarun_Sawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is a nice place in the heart of Kasauli, a tourist destination not to be missed at any cost. The customary welcome at this class hotel is quite good. The environs at the place is remarkable apart from the weather one enjoys at Kasauli

Room Tip: Just ensure bookings before heading towards the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelBarnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Kasauli for four days to do nothing but lounge around, walk a lot and relax in quiet surroundings. Ros common is easily the best located property if you want to be a little away from the noise of the mall. We went during the navratras when temples were blaring out bhajans on the mike, but no noise reached our rooms and all we could hear were the crickets and birds. The hotel also has the best views to the hills if you get the right rooms.

This time we stayed at the annexe, which is relatively new and therefore cleaner. They are also bigger than the main rooms. Our rooms were quite big, clean and affordable (a suite that accomodates a family of four for Rs 2200). The main problem in the annexe is that it's about half a km from the main hotel and service is nonexistent except for tea and coffee. You cannot be flexible about your meals and have to inform the one person who comes during the day an hour or more in advance about your meal. It helps to have a car if you're staying in the annexe because it's a good uphill walk from the annexe to the main hotel. Since the sun is a precious element there, they need to work on creating a nice porch for the annexe, which at present has some nearly broken plastic chairs.

Even in the main hotel, service tends to be indifferent, but what's more to be expected of HPTDC hotels? The main hotel also badly requires cleaning up and maintenance. About the food, stick to Indian food and you'll be happy. They make excellent coffee and pakoras, and parathas and sandwiches. Gravy dishes tend to be very oily and they don't undertsand the concept of less oil!

But all said, the location, the quietness, the views, and the long walks you can throw in make up for average sevice and the less than clean rooms. I would go and stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're in the main rooms, go for room 5. It has a separate balcony and has the most amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinjini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasauli hotels
0.3 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#8 of 17 in Kasauli
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasauli Exotica
Kasauli Exotica
#6 of 17 in Kasauli
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Kasauli
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Birds View Kasauli
Birds View Kasauli
#5 of 17 in Kasauli
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasauli Hills Resort
Kasauli Hills Resort
#9 of 17 in Kasauli
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Common

Address: Lower Mall, Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil 173204, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kasauli Tehsil > Kasauli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kasauli
Price Range: $38 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ross Common Hotel Kasauli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing