We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen in Time”
Review of Hotel Alasia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alasia
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kasauli
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The reason for rating this 'Very Good' is its location. More than 100 years old, the hotel's british owners were around even till last year ( she died this year). The property is a sturdy old colonial building. Stay at the Annexe - the view is nicer and its cheaper than the main building. The garden is not much to speak about but good fun for kids to run around in and the Annexe rooms open to the garden and long verandah. The food is average so I recommend you walk to 'Daily Needs' - 100 mts from the hotel, to get delectable ham sandwiches etc. The church, a majestic old building, is also a stone's throw away. The Kasauli Club and Sunset points are all within walking distance ( about 2 kms). Remember to shop at the Tibetan Market and eat hot Bun-Samosas in the neighbouring shops. If you want a quiet, hill experience, Kasauli is the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay at the Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was staying at another place at Kasauli and went there to have lunch. We were informed the lunch service is over and we can only have sandwiches, tea etc there. But, the quality of the food is much to be desired. The sandwiches were made of general bread one gets in the nearby store. The fillings were poor and the prices were high considering the stature of the property. Somehow we felt they were shortly staffed in the restaurant. It is really saddening to know that these people are just trying to make money out of serving average food. The restaurant reminded one of the hostel canteen and the noise would echo everywhere. Poor decor. I also checked out the property partly and after knowing the price, I don't think I would have any great reason to stay there unless one wants to stay just near the only main road of Kasauli. A disappointing end to some high heritage experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santanurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visited with my family (brothers and sisters) last weekend. We got 2 suites and both were very clean. They have minibars inside every room which is awesome. The location of both rooms is excellent, though the scenic view is a bit blocked because of the trees. The staff was good. We bargained on the final price too. The food was good.
The downside - toilets did not work properly, which is very essential when you are going on a trip. We had to call up room service multiple times.
Overall I would give it 3.5/5

Room Tip: Choose the luxury suits, they have a good view and you can sit outside in the nights comfortably. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverickrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Alasia last weekend.
The rooms were clean and and comfortable (they must have refurnished them recently, because they are way better than they apperar on the pictures tripadvisor shows), and the staff was efficient and very helpful. The food they serve is also very good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kasauli, it is definetly worth the money as compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenoritaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent stay at Alasia Hotel. My Mother, My Mother in law & i had a great stay.
Excellent facilities and service.Very cooperative and helpful staff. Great ambiance & very yummy food. It will be my most memorable trip at Alasia hotel,Kausali.

- Jyoti Gulati
(New Delhi)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JyotiGul1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went with my family to Kasauli for a peaceful time. Kasauli is beautiful no doubts about it.
We reached proper Kasauli around 1:00 pm IST so we had our lunch. Post lunch it was around 2:15 pm IST so we decided to get ourselves a room & then see around.

I proper Kasauli there are no many hotels so that is why most of the hotels charge as per themselves with no rhymes & reason to it. Most of the hotels are built in pre-independence times.
No specific about Hotel Alasia. From outside hotel & staff looks better than its neighbours. We stay in a bigger room whose occupancy is for 4. Unfortunately, we were tricked, their two beds out of which one can only fit in 2 kids & too small for 2 adults, but the staff adamant that no it fits in 2 adults. The room had only 1 heater which wasn’t sufficient for such a big room but again that staff adamantly no this heater works excellent & give it some time to heat-up, additionally when we request for help with another heater he said it can’t be provided as room’s power system can’t get that much load, we believed him. This room is located road across with steep down from the reception & away from staff area. Room’s back is towards the road so you can’t see the reception & they can’t see you either if you are out in the lawn.

As we were eager to get out to see Kasauli so took the room without further overdue. This was our mistake to believe staff’s innocent face. I’ll tell you why?

Once we saw sunset point & small marketplace we came back to the hotel at 7:00 pm & it was pitch dark by then.

Now when we get in our room we notice that heater isn’t, phone aren’t working, there are no hangers/hooks/cupboard anywhere in the room including the bathing room, you can’t latch the main door, there in ONLY boiling hot water coming from the taps & toilet jet, bed sheets, pillow covers and blankets were stained & dirty, there are no doormats to wipe your feet while coming out of bathing room.

We called in the staff by walking up the steep climb to the reception & it seemed that staff has changed. This time we got guy named Devendra. When I told him things we are facing he was embarrassed & came down with me to check. He got 1 more heater but having both heaters weren’t working, this also told us that staff in the afternoon was lying to us. He tried to fix telephone but can’t do anything, tried getting more bedsheets, pillow covers & blankets but he himself so them and said none of them can be used  he wasn’t able to do anything about boiling water. The ONLY thing he was able to help was doormat that too putting white towel from bathroom which one of us was supposed to use. To resolve the telephone issue we took the reception telephone number to be able to dial from our mobile’s but no one picks those number.

For calling them in the morning was a tough ask as we had to get out in such a chill temperature climb the steep path, go to reception & order for tea.

Funny part was that whosoever came to help that evening or morning went in to bathroom & went back with putting mud from their shoes all over the bathroom & room till the door. It was funny because they were looking at that at smiling.

When we were checking out we told the manager about the whole thing & he can’t believe it things happened. We were surprised because “Are you kidding me Mr. Manager that you aren’t aware of this & charging us 5 star rates for this?”. They have a standard dialog, “Sir, owner has priced it. We can’t do anything with pricing. We understand that you have gone through a rough stay but can’t help.” If we would have insisted then I assume that staff’s has to face the fury so we left with Kasauli’s good view in mind. Unfortunately we had nice time at Kasauli but won’t come back atleast to this hotel.

I would recommend that book your hotels below Kasauli (if possible book it while planning the trip.). Those will be still value of money.

Room Tip: I would recommend that book your hotels below Kasauli (if possible book in-advance it while planning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellllerMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you happen to be planning to dine at the Constellation Cafe of this hotel, you will be waiting upon the food - for any number of minutes - they take ages to even take notice of you-then placing orders and bringing the food is another ordeal. So if you have to eat here please do so only when you have plenty of time in hand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasauli hotels
1 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#8 of 17 in Kasauli
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kasauli Continental Resort
2 mi away
Kasauli Hills Resort
Kasauli Hills Resort
#12 of 17 in Kasauli
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sunrise Cottage
Sunrise Cottage
#14 of 17 in Kasauli
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
#1 of 17 in Kasauli
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kasauli Exotica
Kasauli Exotica
#7 of 17 in Kasauli
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alasia

Address: The Lower Mall, Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil 173204, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kasauli Tehsil > Kasauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kasauli
Price Range: $76 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alasia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing