We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel (Not a resort)”
Review of Hemkunth Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemkunth Resorts
Ranked #18 of 38 Kasauli B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Online Booking possible through makemytrip.com but they charge you some fee, so better do direct booking by paying 50% advance. We stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights and 3 days from 18th Aug to 20th Aug. They have parking space for 20 cars to be arrange in a way that 10 card are parked facing the face of the others 10 cars that are parked inside the compound meaning if you park at the back, you need to wait for the card parked in front of you to be moved before you can make take your car out. (not a big deal though as they request for your car key if your car is parked in front rather than at the back). You should opt for Deluxe room (it is comfortable, spacious, has independent balcony and view outside is excellent!!). The bathroom is extremely well maintained, best in any Budget hotel that i stayed. the Super deluxe version has additional LCD TV and it is on top floor, everything else is just the same. You will not find it worthy paying extra bucks for these two things. They have open terrace (spelndid view) and you may chose to have your meal there. Food is exemplaray and if you non-vegetarain, chicken biryani is must. If it is raining outside, they have good dining area within the compound and a spacious one. Hotel Staff is fun to deal with and are very prompt. It was housefull when we landed there but they were able to address our needs properly. Highly recommended as only fewe costly hotel are ahead of Hemkunth are kasauli regency,castle and alasia and ross common(HTPDC Hotel). As you cross Garkhal, few kms ahead, the cantt area starts and thus you will not find any more hotels to stay so either stay in luxury kasauli chain of hotels or do booking in HTPDC hotel, else better to stay in Hemkunth Hotel.

Room Tip: Bes to take rooms immediately on your right after you get down to -1 from the stairs. Splendid view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_vikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is not a resort. Its located next to the roadside, adjacent to the market place. But you may use this as a halting place to visit Kasauli. All the rooms have a view to the mountains.
Pros- The location is a pro as well as con. I consider it a pro. Reaching this hotel is a breeze. The market place helps you with most of the needs. Parking is good. Food is good. Staff quiet nice and cooperative. Hot water is never an issue. Spacious rooms.
Cons- Next to the roadside, Rooms lack modernity
Overall a good place. Please don't think of this as a hillside resort. Its just a plain hotel. Recommended for business meets and family outing.

Room Tip: Go in for the rooms on the top floors. Good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank way2anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Not sure if i have to blame my travel agent or the hotel. We asked for a resort and we were given this... This place is no where close to a Resort, it has nothing other than rooms and a restaurant. It's right out on the road, about 2.5KM from Kasauli. It is in a very busy place.

The rooms are very small, not worth the price they as at all. The Super Deluxe rooms have balcony access, the far views are fine but the view right outside the room is bad..

If you are coming either from Chandigarh or Manali or Simla (after a tiring drive) you are sure going to get disappointed.

There was one other previous review which did indicate that it was not a resort but i had completely ignored it as it had a high rating.

Cannot comment about the service much as we packed our bags first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This seems to be a last option considering that it was year end and every hotel/resort was booked for celebarations. Stay at the hotel was a Surprise.. Located at the outskirt of Kasauli city, has Ample parking space for your car, Friendly people at the reception and the ones catering you inside the Hotel, Decent rooms and toilets with "Hot Water". What I liked most about this hotel was the Food they served. It was simple AWESOMEEee!! I never expected this place to serve such delicious food. I am from North India where food taste great, but here it was over that, and on top of that they cost less than you could imagine. A must visit place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaurabhQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The hotel is strategically placed very near to Balknath Temple (Shiv Temple). It is 3 km from Kasauli city. It is a budget hotel and I was surprised by the naming convention of it being a resort. It certainly does not have many interactive games, events, plans which can help a person spend time on its premises. It has a roof top terrace where food is served and you can have a get together there. The service is professional with a homely touch. It has a TV with satellite connection and also boasts of independent balconies overlooking the hills.

Room Tip: Not much for the children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harsh_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Me and my family wanted a pleasant and peaceful stay at good hill station. We booked Hotel Hemkunth resorts, Garkhal,Kasauli, Himachal pradesh and reached comfortably via Dharampur on Chandigarh - Shimla highway. Kasauli is very peaceful hillstation and not much popular apart from local people.

The hotel property was at very nice location, one side facing Kasauli hills and valley. The view from room was great where you can see highest point in Kasauli, Lord Hanuman temple. A small walk gives view of Dharampur town also, very pleasant at night especially when all lights glitter along hill slope and valleys. After lunch and night we walked on their terrace top and we could see some breathtaking views of himalayas. This was first view for my wife and child as its was their first himachal trip.

Room was nicely decorated and neatly maintained. All facilities in any standard room were available and in working condition. Food was excellent when we enjoyed Phulakes instead of Parathas which is very common there. Also menu like Khichadi and Buttermilk was also enjoyable.

The best part was their hospitality. As it was very cold there, my child suffered a lot. But they helped us, arranged doctor and treatment locally and then only we could enjoy rest of our trip. Hotel personnel were very helping nature and gentle. They also arranged taxi for local transfers and further sightseeing.

In short it was very pleasant stay at Kasauli which I used to watch from Parwanoo (downside of Kasauli and Industrial location) during my business trips. I will definitely like to go there once again with family for comfortable and rush free holiday

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PuneTravelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasauli hotels
0.3 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kasauli
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kasauli Exotica
Kasauli Exotica
#8 of 17 in Kasauli
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Kasauli
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kasauli Continental Resort
1.7 mi away
Birds View Kasauli
Birds View Kasauli
#5 of 17 in Kasauli
215 reviews
1 mi away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemkunth Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemkunth Resorts

Address: VPO Garkhal, Kasauli, Kasauli Tehsil 173201, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Kasauli Tehsil > Kasauli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Kasauli
Price Range: $29 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hemkunth Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing