We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great staff and even better location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kashgar Pamir Youth Hostel
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff and even better location.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in a mixed dorm with 8 beds (4 bunk beds). It was a simple, quite clean room, with a sink and lockers. For 50 RMB/day it was good value. It is true, it has no air containing but just a fan. I didn’t see it as a big problem, just take a cold shower right before going to bed (rather welcome after a day of exploring dusty Kashgar!) and you will probably sleep like a baby (at least I did!).
Bathrooms and showers could be cleaner and hot water is a bit intermittent, but hey, this is Kashgar, some people don’t even have running water at home. There is just one western bathroom.
However, the true gems of this hostel are its location, its people (both workers and the people staying!) and the common areas.
Location: it’s located facing the north exit of the Id Kah Mosque. Just a minute walk away from the night market and in the heart of one of the areas of the old town. Furthermore, Kashgar proves to be a great getaway point for travels into the Pamir and Karakoram Mountain Range, the famous Karakoram Highway up to the Khunjerab Pass (I truly recommend it!), Taklamakan dessert and visa-free Kirghizstan.
Common areas: it has an incredible roof top, with many tables in which to hang out, drink a couple of beers and eat. It has good views of the mosque, the night market and the city itself. It is an awesome feeling to hear the call for the prayer, while drinking ice-cold beer and being sweaty and dusty after a day of exploring the small alleyways of Kashgar’s old town. The hostel’s food is good, although quite overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WuHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
XJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location just next to the big mosque, just one minute walking to the night market which is my favorite walking area in the evenings.
It was really hot when I was in Kashgar, I stayed with shared room without AC , so I suggest you to make reservation in advance if you want private room with AC

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want a room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHunter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed a few nights here after arriving from Osh. I would definitely recommend the place to meet other interesting travelers and have a nice place to enjoy food/drink on the rooftop. Its a large place and the toilet/shower situation is bad. I think it was pretty nasty and was glad I only spent a few days there. But, the location and meeting opportunities was great. I would definitely stay here again as it's priced right and has a perfect location. Also, the staff spoke english and were very helpful/friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveldigger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brh1976
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hostel is in a great location: just opposite the Northern exit to the Id Kah mosque, on the top floor of a three- or four-story building. It gets hot in the summer, but if you're in Xinjiang in the summer you're probably pretty used to the heat. I didn't find A/C necessary, but you will need to keep the door open (especially if your room is on the exposed south side), and some people even sleep out in the open. Either way, be prepared to be woken up early, as the prime location means the amplified call to prayer will be blasted directly at you.

The owners/operators are a couple or trio of Han Chinese, and their Uyghur appears to be pretty basic. While it seems that many Han transplantees can be quite insensitive to local customs, the operators seemed to be quite considerate, and I usually saw the female owner with covered hair. On the other hand, I very much got the vibe that they were something like the Han equivalent of hippies or hipsters, by which I mean that the selective adoption of some Uyghur traditions was more an affectation than anything else. I kind of wish that more there were more Uyghurs involved in the tourist industry in Xinjiang, as it would be nice to support them instead of the Han newcomers that are diluting Uyghur culture, but it's quite difficult to find Uyghur-run organizations catering to foreign travelers.

As a number of others have mentioned, this is a good place to get information, as it seems to be the most visited hostel in Kashgar (I also heard that one of the other hostels in Kashgar stopped accepting foreigners in early August 2012, after it was fined for allowing foreigners to stay there while being unlicensed to accept foreigners). The owners are helpful and there is a nice bulletin board with information from other travelers, including on how to hitchhike to Kyrgyzstan. Free computers and internet is also a nice touch.

Other than the noise, the main knock against this place is how clean it is. This is a common complaint against almost all Chinese hostels, especially ones where the clientele isn't 100% Western, but it's still not a great excuse. Although this is by no means the dirtiest Chinese hostel I've stayed in, some of the bathrooms are incredibly dirty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are hotter, and rooms on the north are much cooler. They also price room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwv812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niigata, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

this place is in front of old town's square. not so hard to get there. room charge is fair. sometimes hot shower is not available. staffs r very friendly. the most important thing is they have very large communication area. so, u can exchange information with other tourists eayly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi_1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have travelled for two months around everywhere in China and this belongs to the three best guesthouses I have visited. Great location, nice teracce with view but the best of all is the very friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff! Thanks for your help guys!

Room Tip: dorms are in the front, facing the main road, private rooms in the back. kitchen to use also availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzanapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chinese woman and I met Chinese man and American man travellers in Tashkurgan K2 Hostel and travelled by bus to this hostel together where all kinds of info was available; flight, bus and train schedules, people heading in all directions who wanted travel companions, food, the whole works. Within two hours I was heading off to Kyrgyzstan with two hitchhikers, learning the ropes from them, then able to do it on my own. I đidn't spend the night but I would have been so lost without connections made at this hostel. The hostel wasnt upset that I đidn't spend the night. Helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kashi hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Kashgar
2.5 mi away
Kashi Yin Rui Lin International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kashi New Delhi Hotel
Kashi New Delhi Hotel
#9 of 82 in Kashi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sultan Hotel
#5 of 82 in Kashi
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kashgar Old Town Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kashgar Pamir Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kashgar Pamir Youth Hostel

Property: Kashgar Pamir Youth Hostel
Address: Nuo'er Beixi Road | 3F, Section a, District 7, Id Kah Bazaar(facing north gate of Id Kah Mosque), Kashi, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Kashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamir Youth Hostel is where you will meet the most traditional Kashgar.Our hostel locates at the physical and spiritual center of Kashgar old town, next door to Id Kah Mosque. Within 5 minutes’ walk, you will find many bazaars which have been run for centuries, selling foods, handicrafts, jewelries, spices, antiques, clothes, etc., and these are the soul of Kashgar life.Our hostel is decorated in traditional Uighur style, and we plant grapes, figs, calabashes on the terrace café, where you will meet worldwide travelers and our cute cats and dog. From the terrace you can overlook Id Kah Mosque, watch prayer and hear Quran, which is amazing experience of Islam and Uighur culture.We provide clean beds and hygiene facilities, Chinese and Western dining, and a free kitchen. We have free Wi-Fi fully covered and books for read and exchange. Supermarket, wet market, post office and banks are all within walking distance.Our founders are experienced travelers and outdoor sports enthusiasts, can provide professional suggestions on trekking, cycling and driving. We organize tours to Pamir Mountains, KKH, Taklamakan Desert, Shipton’s Arch, etc., also provide ticket booking, vehicle chartering service and have bicycles, tents, etc. for rent.How to arrive Pamir Youth Hostel1. From Railway Station: Bus 28 to Id Kah, 1 Yuan/person; taxi 10 Yuan/person2. From Air Port: shuttle bus to Id Kah, 10 Yuan/person; taxi 30 Yuan/car3. From Kashgar Bus Station: Bus 28 to Id Kah, 1 Yuan/person; taxi 5 Yuan/car4. From International Bus Station: Bus 8/13/28 to Id Kah, 1 Yuan/person; taxi 5 Yuan/car5. Take a taxi in the city: tell the driver to Id Kah ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kashgar Pamir Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing