We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, adequate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Kashi
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
815 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Good location, adequate hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

One cannot have high expectations in this part of the world.
The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was friendly.
There is no wifi in the room but we insisted long enough that they lent us some routers for our rooms.
AC was not very cool and the shower was sometimes hot, sometimes not. Pretty much the standard along the Silk Road.
The breakfast was strictly Chinese except for some slice bread and a roaster. Several tour groups go to this hotel so on Sunday (when there are more foreigners for the livestock market) they had run out of bread when I came down.
Check-out was not as slow as is often the case in these Chinese hotels.
we had a deluxe room which was like a suite.
No english spoken there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
11
27
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to be alongside Mao then you have come to the right place. It is on the People's Square and close to plenty of the sights including what is left of the Old City. this hotel has been trading on its past by the feel of it. The rooms are old and both my rooms were exposed to noise from either the street or nearby army exercises at night. The bathroom really needs gutting and rebuilding. There is no tea or coffee in the rooms, although there is an electric jug to boil water. No matter what I requested of the lobby staff I could not persuade them to provide even green tea free of charge. Green tea was finally placed in my room with a 17RMB sticker on them . I gave up and bought some from the local tea seller! Breakfast was typical Xinjiang muslim with little Western food, not that this is an issue for me, but I did notice some Westerners searching for anything that looked like cornflakes. Yoghurt is excellent, but the naan tasted and looke dlike it was made days before. This was the first time I have ever come across surly staff in Xinjiang. The head o fbreakfast was a young man who got flustered by the dpolite requests of a Hong Kong group who were seeking more yoghurt. In the end he spat the dummy and went to the kitchens himself, strode back and slammed it on the table, Basil Fawlty style. The dish broke and the dining room went extremely quiet. All in all, not the image the city would be trying to project!
Not recommended as a stop. The Police sleep in the lobby lounge chairs when they have nothing to do.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the karaoke lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times since 2008. The quality has definitely gone downhill. If you prefer a central location where pretty much everything is within a 10-15 min. walking distance (e.g. Old City, Id kah Mosque, Uyghur handicraft market, night market, etc.), then this hotel, located right next to the People's Square, is a good option. Other than that, it's not worth what you're paying for it (and I got a cheaper rate going through a local tour company). I have stayed in many hotels throughout Xinjiang and this is by far the worst value for money. Many items in the rooms are broken, and the carpets are threadbare and filthy. However, the bed linens are clean and so are the bathrooms. Breakfast items are not replaced when they run out, so even though breakfast is offered from 6 to 8:30 a.m. (local time), you may not find butter for your toast or get a glass of soy milk if you show up at 8 a.m.! The staff at the front desk do speak a bit of English, but they are often rude when responding to requests for information or for assistance. There are better and cheaper hotels in and around Kashgar city now. Though they may not be as centrally located, an average taxi ride to the city centre will only cost you 5-10 yuan.

Room Tip: A north facing room on one of the high floors (there are 13 floors) will afford you a good view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sojourner-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked two rooms for our family of four. We had been travelling for more than two weeks in Xinjiang, so we had already had a good sampling of the hotels in the region. Consequently we were not expecting a lot. However, we have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms were a good size, beds were comfortable and the cleanliness was better than average for the region. Convenient location too. Our breakfasts were included and were alright. We are a mixed Chinese-Canadian family so we enjoy Chinese breakfast. If you are not familiar with Chinese breakfast, then you will likely not find a lot to eat. All in all a good stay.

Our guide tells us that 7 five-star hotels will be constructed in the near future in Kashgar so the standards are increasing in the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liumobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The "minibar" was a row of warm pops on a shelf and the TV, lights and heater did not work properly, but a great deal of effort had gone into the full basket of condoms and lubricants for sale in a basket in the bathroom. The "business centre" is one of the computers at the front desk. The breakfast's western offering was a stack of cheap white bread w a bowl of margarine besides (no knife, no toaster). Lobby was full of off-duty armed soldiers all day. If this is the best place to stay in Kashgar, there is a business opportunity for someone!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldwidePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Agree with all other comments on this hotel. We didn't expect much upon booking (but the hotel seems to be the best of a bad lot) and specifically requested quiet rooms on higher floors (12 and 13) which we got. They do NOT have interconnecting rooms and beds in a twin are single sized, so we ended up booking 2 rooms (next to each other, which turned out not to be next to each other at all, however......).

Yes, corridors are dark, yes, the beds are hard (but I've slept in worse in China). We didn't have any issues with hot water or sewage smells but our shower stall did have black mildew growing pretty much everywhere.

Breakfast was terrible (we ended up having cereal bars in our room - don't forget to pack instant coffee!!!) - there were no eggs, no cereal, the bread was stale, the butter rancid, no yoghurt or fruit, no mantou even, no coffee etc. Contrary to the hotels claims, there is also no room service, but you can go down to the restaurant, order (chinese language menu only b.t.w.) and take your food to your room (55 mins wait in our case).

However, the restaurant and bar do have cold beer (much appreciated after a long day's sightseeing).

Laundry is pretty much hopeless. Didn't arrive, called 3 times, laundry was delivered - wet and unironed. Sent it back. Came back 2.5 hours later dry, still not ironed. 3rd time lucky. They also charged for items that I didn't give, but didn't argue when I pointed this out to the hapless laundry girl.

Perhaps the most annoying this about this hotel is the impossibility of getting an elevator in the morning. There are 3 elevators, the restaurant is on the 4th floor, lobby on ground floor, so it's basically a lost cause. We ended up having to carry our young kids and our backpacks down 13 flights of stairs every day. Oh well.

All in all, not a great hotel, but honestly we expected worse (and I honestly don't think there are any "good" hotels in this vibrant city). Take some instant coffee, some ear plugs as insurance and enjoy Kashgar itself.

P.S. Night market is a 10 minute walk down the road also.

Room Tip: 12th and 13th floors a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamboo401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in August with a group of friends on a trip through the Silk Route, from Urumchi, Turpan and finally Kashgar.
The hotel is quote close to the Kashi Airport and quite centrally located near the main Peoples Park, not far from the Old Town. Expensive for its rating but probably a good choice given the limited number of hotels in Kashgar. Rooms were quite clean but the floor carpeting was old and stained! TV but no internet facility. A large dining room with largely Chinese recipes and breakfast if particularly limited for western cuisine. Clientele is largely Chinese. Recommended, but only for lack of better alternatives. Rates are expensive and close to 5 star in other Chinese cities.

Room Tip: Stay away from the nightclub area as noise filters through !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kashi hotels
11.5 mi away
Kashi Yin Rui Lin International Hotel
12.5 mi away
Kashi New Delhi Hotel
Kashi New Delhi Hotel
#9 of 82 in Kashi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Kashgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Yue Xing Jin Jiang International Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sultan Hotel
#3 of 82 in Kashi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
91.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel

Property: Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel
Address: No.8 Renmin East Road, Kashi 844000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Kashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Kashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Kashi Tianyuan International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing