We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting my parents village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaoye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaoye Hotel
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Taishan
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visiting my parents village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, newer hotel, clean rooms, good beds, modern bathroom. Breakfast featured some American style food; coffee, eggs, sausages, bread, as well as Chinese style food; such as congee with various ingredients, vegetables, fruits. Many family villages 20 minutes outside of Taishan we were able to visit my mom's home and my dad's home. I don't speak Chinese but I was fortunate to have my uncle who does accompany us and show us around. This was the main purpose of the entire trip to visit my family roots which was accomplished.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Agy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
4
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a luxurious hotel and I enjoyed it thoroughly. As a spoiled American, I needed a modern hotel. This is in a great location, with all the usual amenities, including a western toilet and air conditioning. The bed was also very comfortable. I went during the first week of July and sorely needed the air conditioned room. It was a good size and clean, and the bathroom had a shower and a tub. I was situated in the newly renovated tower and had a beautiful view of the town. We had complimentary breakfast daily, which was the usual items, but still good. The staff was helpful and nice. Did I already mention the great view I had? They offered free WiFi, which wasn't the greatest but better than nothing. I didn't stay long, but if I ever went back, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have stayed in the other so called '5 star' country garden and left a damming review if you care to look.... this hotel is clean, in town so you dont have to call a taxi, cheaper and the staff are much much more helpful

The rooms are clean and decent sized with fresh fruit delivered to your room every day

Breakfast is a buffet style but has a very good selection, the dim sum here is also decent

I will stay here on my next trip

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetravellingpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I usually stay at Taishan Country Garden Phoenix hotel but it was full and so I found myself accepting a suite at the Gaoye Hotel which is very conveniently located downtown. This is not a poor hotel, but to state that it is four stars I think is a bit of a stretch. Consistancy of service is paramount to any hotel and well trained staff are worth their weight in dollars! This is where the Gaoye lets itself down. When I checked in late at night I enquired at Reception what the operating times for the Fitness Centre were. I was advised it was open 24 hours a day. This was confirmed by my Chinese associate. As I had a busy day I arrived at the Fitness Centre at 6:30am only to find it in darkness. I could not find any help so made my way to Reception where I was told it opened at 7:00am. I waited until 7:00 and tried again, only to find that I had to roust up a staff member to turn the lights on. I motioned that I would like a towel and some water but these items were not available. I jumped on one of three treadmill machines only to be told it was out of service and so were the other remaining two machines. This left some freestanding fitness centres which were on closer inspection very poor repair and a stationary bike. I gave up and returned to my room where I showered and found the hairdryer located in the wardrobe outside of the bathroom as there was no drawers or storage in the bathroom for it. Unfortunatley the hairdryer did not work. I rang housekeeping to see if I could get a replacement however they could not understand English and said "sorry" and hung up on me.

The breakfast buffet was adequate but lacked some basic staples that you see at regular hotels. The waitsatff were attentive and cleared used plates effeciently. The room that I stayed in was a suite and was clean and had two [quite noisy] air conditioning units that worked very well. The internet was fast and whilst the TV's had a number of channels I struggled to find any that were in English even though the hotel TV directory advised there was. Whilst the location of this hotel is better than the Country Garden Phoenix Hotel I will make sure I leave enough time on my next visit to ensure I can book into the Country Phoenix Garden Hotel and take a taxi to the downtown area if required.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leave_the_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Creek, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The room was very nice with marble and hardwood flooring, a comfortable bed, and fresh fruit to snack on.

My voltage adapter had a problem and they provided one for me to use at no charge.

Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant is buffet style and includes anything you might want. It is very good. Dinner at the restaurant includes a buffet or order by menu. It is good as well.

The hotel is convenient to the local mall and several restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackblue1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I think your location pin has been dropped about 300 to 400 metres off target

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We drove out to Taishan from Guangzhou for the cemetery/mountain hike. I didn't even know they had hotels in Taishan, let alone luxury hotels. I haven't been back for over 10 years so I was very surprised to find this nice hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were big and clean. The spotless lobby area was also very spacious. My favorite part was the tall standup bathroom stalls. It's no hot spring but definitely at par. There is also a tasty restaurant on the 2nd or 3rd floor (can't remember) that serves traditional Chinese food and some exotic items too.

*I could not connect to the free high speed internet.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room because it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taishan
2.0 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Taishan
0.3 mi away
Xinfuyuan Hotel
Xinfuyuan Hotel
#40 of 118 in Taishan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qianfan Ziya Hotel
Qianfan Ziya Hotel
#11 of 118 in Taishan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Pan Tower International Hotel
12.4 mi away
Dreamland Resort
Dreamland Resort
#12 of 118 in Taishan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sunrise Hot Spring Hotel
Sunrise Hot Spring Hotel
#32 of 118 in Taishan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaoye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaoye Hotel

Property: Gaoye Hotel
Address: No.220 Taixi Road, Taicheng Town, Taishan 529200, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Taishan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Taishan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Gaoye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing