We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Low Cost Accommodation in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Low Cost Accommodation in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012


Travelled as part of a group of 3 blokes on our annual ski trip. Skiing in Serre Chevalier is excellent, and for us Villeneuve is perfect, very quiet with lots of intermediate runs and no queues at this time of year either (last week of Jan).

This is our second stay at L'Alpaga. Last year we traveled with Crystal, but this year with Neilson. The main reason being cost,. as we saved quite a bit with Neilson, and you get a 4-5 person room with Neilson, but a 3-4 with Crystal.

The accommodation is on a self-catering basis, with a 4 ring halogen hob, microwave (with grill), dishwasher & sink, and crockery & cutlery etc. Fairly basic, but everything you need. We cooked the obligitory curries & pasta 3 nights. and breakfasts & snacks without too much trouble.

For sleeping there was a separate double room (mine), and two sofa beds. All clean & comfortable. Theres also a pullout bed under one of the sofa beds, but it would only really suit a child.

Lots of storage space for clothes etc.

Had a separate toilet, which is invaluable (and very busy) with 3 blokes. Bathroom was clean, and functional, with sink & mirror, and smallish bath with shower & screen and a heated towel rail. Again, basic. but fine for us.

You get a small colour TV, but theres not much on, so we rarely used it.

Overall clean, tidy, large rooms, and above all inexpensive, but fairly basic as a result. Fine for us simple folk from up north.

Location, 5 mins from main Ski Lift, but a bit of nightmare walk in Ski Boots, and carrying Ski's & Poles. We prefered to walk to the Frejus lifts. which were a little further, but went to a better area for our ability. Ski Bus stops outside main entrance of L'Alpaga if you're happy to wait for it. We couldn't be bothered, its just not far enough. Its rumoured you can Ski to Door, which may be possible, but it would be hard work, and needs plenty snow in the village.

Just a short walk on the left from the hotel, theres a mini supermarket which sells just about everything, but its quite expensive, and a paper shop with todays newspapers, plus a couple of good bars. Beers expensive, but it is the French Alps, so about £5 a pint.

Loved Villeneuve, quiet place, which still has that Alps magic which seems to go when the masses arrive. Turn right up the hill outside hotel for 'Pizza Lunch', fairly cheap emergency food, for when you're exhausted. I'd recommend Mojo's in the old part of the village for excellent and reasonable priced meals.

Hoping to go back again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
2 Thank Dosser1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    102
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
110
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at the L'Alpaga. We really enjoyed it and the room was fine for the two of us. Perhaps a bit snug for 4 with all the skiing stuff, however there was a lot of storage space. My only complaint is that the bed was very hard. There was a cleaning kit for the kitchen (very useful), towels and sheets - you make the bed up yourself on arrival, not a problem. We got the free bus up to the ski lift which stops right outside. The reception staff were so helpful and pleasant, particularly the young guy who downloaded info for us from the Internet and answered any questions we had. Make sure you walk into the village centre (cross the main road) where you'll find some really nice restaurants (Mojo, La Pastorale). If you are driving to Turin airport, give yourself a lot of time as it snowed heavily when we came back and it took much longer than planned!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlgyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

When we got there we had been allocated a ground floor apartment, but asked for an apartment on the 1st or 2nd floor. The guy on the desk was very helpful and checked, made a quick call and we were given an apartment on the 2nd floor. Really good.

The apartment was huge with a bunk room, shower room, kitchen, dining area, and lounge area downstairs. And upstairs was a double bedroom with another bathroom.

It was all very clean and tidy, and comfortable. The TV only had 5 channels, but this seems to be the norm here.

Its a great place, and centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MickyD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Good stuff,
Decent location - 3 min walk to Frejus lift, 10 min walk to small but charming village centre with good food.
Apartment claims to sleep 2/6 ppl - no idea how 6 would cope, 4 would be do-able but cramped (when you consider ski gear). Pretty decent if there's just the 2 of you though.
Desk staff were helpful and generally cheery.
Would stay again.

Gripes,
Room not ready on time, was asked to take a walk for an hour on arrival. I was allowed to leave my gear there while it was being sorted though. Woohoo.
Beds not made up on arrival.
No housekeeping at all for a week - so no clean towels, sheets etc... had to 'acquire' spare toilet roll and bin liners. I'm told this is normal in French ski resorts. Is it?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PumiceMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Serre-Chevalier. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our residences and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We apologise for the delay to your check-in, unfortunately in peak season if one guest checks out late this can affect the whole check in for the day. We hope that this was not too much of an inconvience and will ensure our management team address this issue for future guests. In regards to your room on arrival: we do offer a bed making service at an additional cost. Because our residence is a self-catering facility and not a hotel we clearly state on our website the additional charges we have for "bolt ons" such as equipment, towels and bed making facilities. Customers can therefore work out total costs of their stay prior to booking. Alongside this, we accept that our rooms can be on the small side for any groups traveling together. We advise therefore that any groups visiting our resort check our website before hand for specific room measurements. We also advise that groups opt for a bigger berth room to ensure they have enough space to move around comfortably. Many thanks again for posting your review, please note it has been logged and has been passed onto the Management of the Residence for further review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

The apartment we stayed in actually slept 4 people and although there were only two of us, it would have certainly been large enough for four. It was fully equipped with microwave, oven, crockery etc. and had a lovely little patisserie on the premises. Beds were comfortable and there was a beautiful balcony allowing for fantastic views of Serre Chevalier. With less than a 10 min walk to the slopes the location was fantastic. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cbolger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Bijou & compact for 6 people,apartment was ideally situated both for shops & slopes.Storage space at a premium but managed ok. Separate ski locker on ground floor meant no carrying of skis up 3 flights of stairs. No beds made up on arrival but no challenge. Excellent snow conditions Pistes not all prepared overnight. Would suggest resort more suited to intermediates/experts as not many green runs for beginners althoigh 2 g'children coped very well with aide from user friendly ski school.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DfashHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

The centre of Villeneuve in Serre Chevalier isn't exactly picturesque, but it's pleasant enough, and the Alpaga apartments were really comfortable and - for a group of three in a seven capacity apartment - spacious. I guess it would be a bit cramped for the full complement, but that applies to much self-catering accommodation in France. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as were all the people working and living around the resort, from the ski hire shop to the on-mountain restaurant staff. The nearby Sherpa supermarket is really good, and there are several bakeries close to hand as well, including right next door to the apartments. One word of caution: make sure you know where to get off if using the little train-bus that picks up outside the apartments, or you could find yourself on the wrong side of the resort (as we did on our first day). And one word of recommendation: the Ski Connections ski school in Villeneuve is first rate, with excellent English speaking instructors.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serre-Chevalier hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet des Touristes
Chalet des Touristes
#6 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La boule de neige
Hotel La boule de neige
#7 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Plein Sud
Hotel Plein Sud
#8 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga
Address: Route de Prelong, 05240 Serre-Chevalier, Saint-Chaffrey, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Saint-Chaffrey > Serre-Chevalier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Serre-Chevalier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dynamic mid-altitude resort, enjoying a lot of sunshine hours, offering a gentle and convivial lifestyle. A residence in the heart of a landscape garden, 50 m from the centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence l`Alpaga Hotel Serre-Chevalier
Pierre And Vacances Residence l`Alpaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing