We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ski”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagrange Prestige Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful property - very clean, we were a family of 5 in a 2 bed apt. One double room, one twin then a sofa with a pull out bed on wheels in the living area. Worked well for us because we simply dragged the mattress off the extra bed in the living area into the bedroom and put all three children in there, which meant the lounge was free to use as a lounge all the time. I think it would be cramped, but do-able, with 6. Well equipped, nice views of the mountains. Ski Connections was the ski school we used who were excellent. Note, they are based in the next village along (with all the ski schools) so if taking children who are not strong skiers, I would suggest renting from a shop near the ski school and storing your skis there. We had to lug 5 sets of skis on the ski bus every day, plus 3 young children as we'd rented from a hire shop near the apt. If you have / are a family of good skiers it doesn't matter as you can ski across into the different villages. Not an area that seemed buzzing with apres ski if you are a young group of singles, but ideal for families. The pool is a great bonus, if a little cold (only the adults minded, children were more than happy!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahEWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great resort (Chantemerle, Serre Chevalier). Ski lifts bang in the centre and only 50 yards from hotel. Plenty of free parking once the day trippers had left. Skiset (ski hire shop) almost made the holiday: great service, now store your skis and boots safely (no more trekking back to hotel with kit) and super helpful.

Best Apartment (Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc) yet in 5 years of self catering. 5 of us in a 6 - 8 person apartment but even if full large enough to accommodate all comfortably.

Two supermarkets nearby, plenty of restaurants and bars.

Skiing wise not the most taxing: excellent for the intermediate and beginner skier but not too many challenges for the expert. Black runs were the favourite this trip as they were more like difficult reds. Many reds like difficult blues etc. On the last day managed to ski right across all four valleys.

Queuing was virtually non existent. I don't know if we were lucky but it was extremely rare to hit a queue. Average wait over the week was probably 1-2 minutes at most.

Sun and snow all week, no queues, great apartment, good facilities in town - who could ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teens and spent a week in this accommodation on a recent ski holiday to Serre Chevalier. It is very well situated for the slopes - being a 5 minute walk up to the main chairlift and gondola to take you up the mountain. The accommodation is nice if a little simple but it was clean and warm. The complex is made up of several blocks with their own front doors and there is a shared reception area which is a nice place to spend time. The only downside is that the reception is shut for extended periods in the middle of the day and was unmanned when we arrived at the start of our holiday! We had to cart our luggage back to the village centre for lunch and return a couple of hours later. I think they need to sort this out on check in day.

The apartments are reasonably appointed but some extra seats or another sofa would not go amiss. The beds were very comfortable and the showers and baths good.

Wifi can be bought for €20 per week but only works in reception and is not a brilliant signal. Not really worth it unless you have vital needs!

We paid for the cleaning pack at the end of the stay which cost about €70. It was money well spent in my opinion!

Check out is pretty regimental and they do rather push you out of the door but I accept they have flats to prepare for new guests and lots of people do "take the mickey"!

Pool looks lovely - we didn't use it but others in our group did and said it was very nice.

Nice touch is you can order your morning supply of bread/croissants etc in reception and it is there waiting by 8.00am.

All in all it was a good stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katmiccollou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We joined 3 other families for a summer break in Chantemerle, two of which were staying at Du Rocher Blanc. The apartments are very well fitted out with all the appliances we needed and all the rooms were light and airy. It's close to town, and the lifts so pretty dam convenient for trips for morning breakfast etc. We had ample towels and linen, so no compliants there.

We read all the comments on cleaning and car parking, but are not put off. We paid 70 euros for it to be cleaned (our choice) but it is european thing to DIY. The car park underneath was fab and free, but a public car park was only a minutes walk. It is really safe for our three kids, who spent downtime by scooting around on the paved path ways (well away from traffic).

It was almost full with mostly Dutch and French, we were the only English staying. It is well sound proofed, and we never got disturbed by other peoples noise.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. checking out was a doodle, with one of the staff checking that we hadn't broken any glasses, to be fair, why not. We never used the TV, but the IPod dock got a good use. No WIFI in the apartments, which was small downer, but it did not dampen our stay.

Last thoughts;

Well laid out modern apartments
Handy for town
Safe
Great for kids
Clean

Points to

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter but get less sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I read the reviews on here before booking and therefore did not fall for the parking scam. However I would echo the comments of the previous reviewer regarding the cleaning at the end of stay. I have stayed in all sorts of places across the Alps and never had to make an appointment for someone to come and inspect the apartment before leaving. They give you a list with jobs that have to be completed including sweeping and mopping all the floors, putting the duvets and covers on in a certain way, cleaning the bathrooms etc. I expect to leave the place tidy but this was over the top. Whilst you clean, they hover tutting and offering to clean for you for a fee, in our case, of 85 Euros. The place was not clean at all on arrival.

All of which takes the shine of the stay, the premises are nice and with the 4 bed duplex we had, a very pleasant apartment, but I will not be returning purely because they treated us so shabbily.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very cozy and well equipped apartments.
The whole property has a good standard; located 200 meters from the ski lifts and slopes
The staff is very helpful
There's a covered free car park just under the residence; the residence has its own private car park area, but does not worth to pay for it, there's plenty of places available

On the cons sections: there isn’t internet access in the apartments. (paid) internet access is only available at the reception, in a limited daily schedule

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuga2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc in January 2012 and while the place was warm and clean and very well proportioned. The appliances where all clean and in great working order, every apartment had a flat screen, albeit it a tiny 19". For size cleanliness and warmth, the place would get 5 out of 5. However.
By the end of the week, all of the little things where really annoying to me. The place felt like it was run by Ryanair, every extra penny that could be squeezed out of us, was.

Ski lockers are available........in another building from the one we where staying in!
Parking: we paid €100 for 2 cars prior to arrival, got there and found out that parking was free.
1 towel per person for a week but they are happy to offer you a second towel for €6.
WIFI to be paid for and only available in the lobby of another building. There is no reason for WIFI not to be available in every apartment.
Non-existing discounts on lift passes. Their site advertises discounts on early booking of ski passes, we booked 4 months in advance and paid the same price as we would have on the day we arrived.
Every apartment our group stayed in got busted for a cleaning charge for a variety of flimsy reasons.
Staff who answered the phone while speaking to you, seemed generally uninterested and aloof.
Tourist tax gets added at the end of you trip, felt like just another stealth tax. When we booked the apartment we booked it for a certain number of people for a certain number of nights, why could we not have been shown the tourist tax charge then?

The tourist tax was small and we would have to pay it regardless of where we stayed, but it just felt like another sneaky way to jack up the price, in the end we paid over 20% on top of our original quote in either stealth or unnecessary charges.

We won't be returning to Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1_9_7_9_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serre-Chevalier hotels
0 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
514 reviews
0 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Alpaga
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Al...
#4 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel & Spa Nuxe
Le Grand Hotel & Spa Nuxe
#3 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
76 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La boule de neige
Hotel La boule de neige
#6 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
81 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Odalys Aquisana
Residence Odalys Aquisana
#1 of 48 in Serre-Chevalier
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Prestige Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Prestige Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc

Address: Les Plans, Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, Saint-Chaffrey, France (Formerly Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Saint-Chaffrey > Serre-Chevalier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Serre-Chevalier
Price Range: $106 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagrange Prestige Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lagrange Prestige Le Hameau du Rocher Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing