We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Casa Penalolen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villefranche-de-Conflent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Penalolen
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed for 2 wonderful nights in this B & B. Esteban and Mireille couldn't have been nicer and the house is spotlessly clean. We were lucky enough to have a room at the back of the house with a view of the fort, so did not hear any of the road noise. Do not hesitate to book here, you will not be disappointed. You just feel as if you are staying with friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lovely home right on the river but it is also right on the road. However, the road noise was minimal at night although I did sleep with earplugs. The location is great for the train station. It's not stated anywhere, at least not that I could find, but not all rooms have attached bathrooms. We were in Room 1 (per the website) and the bathroom was down the hall; on the plus side, we were the only guests using it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in between campsites - and it was a superb and civilised break! Esteban and Mireille treated us like royalty in their home; the pool was opened when we arrived, our room was lovelyand spotlessly clean, we were instructed how to walk up to Fort Liberia which we could see from our bedroom window and we could walk into Villefranche -de-confluent for our evening meal. Our daughter and her husband stayed another night and ended up picking plums and making jam.
But visit quickly because they are trying to sell up and retire...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulsterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I were visiting Villefranche-de-Confluent for a day and we found this wonderful house. We're very grateful to find this great place after having a very bad experience in the Auberge du Cedre. Casa Penalolen is a charming and beautiful house. It's very clean with very nice decor, with a big beautiful garden, a large rectangle swimming pool for summer and the river passes just right next to the house. It feels good to hear the river, very relaxing place. Mireille and Esteban were excellent hosts. They are very friendly people, who like to meet new people around the world and share ideas. They make you feel like in the family in minutes. Our room was on the top floor with a very nice view of the river, mountains, the village and the Fort Libéria. The room smell really nice the minute we walked in, everything was very clean and has nice decorations. Location is also great, within walking distance to the station for the Yellow Train, to the village and to visit the fort. The breakfast was also wonderful, again everything was neat. Attention to details was to the top, very very much appreciated it in every sense. We will RECOMMEND it 100%. Our experience was beyond perfect!!!! Enjoy your stay. We will recommend for couple, family or alone.

Room Tip: Next to
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Nobody could find this little hotel less than perfect. The verdant gardens roll down to the edge of the river, the views are lovely - and oh so restful - and you can enjoy the swimming pool or just relax on the balcony or in the sitting room. It's about a two minute stroll from the station (it's the same station for the Yellow Train too) and Mireille and Estaban are perfect hosts, who insisted on driving us there at a very early hour as we wanted to be sure of tickets for the little train. It's a five minute walk into Villefranche-de-Confluent, a fantastic village and the area is also popular with walkers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Aug 2010. It's a great chambre d'hote. The house is huge and really lovely. The rooms are very clean and airy and on the top floor. The swimming pool is also a big plus, the hosts were very happy for us to use the pool and sun loungers/parasols. The hosts were extremely friendly, helpful about local information. Breakfast included. We had a car, but it's literally right next to the train station, so if coming by train this would be ideal. It's also ideal for getting the train jaune early in the morning. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollyGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We very much enjoyed staying at Casa Penalolen for two days in September.

Mireille and Esteban are charming and excellent hosts of a spotlessly clean Chambre D'Hotes. We were made to feel very much at home and were well cared for.

The Village is a short walk away and Mireille recommended and booked an excellent restaurant for us as well as making suggestions for day trips. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to do them all!

We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely Chambre D'hotes.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinJLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-de-Conflent
3.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Clos Cerdan
Le Clos Cerdan
#1 of 2 in Mont-Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Penalolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Penalolen

Property: Casa Penalolen
Address: 3 Lieu Dit Sainte Eulalie, 66500 Villefranche-de-Conflent, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Villefranche-de-Conflent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Villefranche-de-Conflent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside a river in Villefranche de Conflent in the French Pyrenees, this lovely old granite building once housed a power station. Today, it has four comfortable and pleasantly furnished bedrooms with attached baths. A beautiful private garden and swimming pool provide hours of relaxation. The UNESCO protected town of Villefranche de Conflent is within walking distance from the house. Plenty of cultural and sporting activities. The hosts are happy to help you tailor your visit: restaurants, activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing