We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
43
80
47
29
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
80
47
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden pub grub busy pub nice meal car park great pub full english breakfast an overnight stay an evening meal stayed for one night cooked to perfection canal specials pint ales mushrooms ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 225 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Visited for the first time since the new owners took over and I will definitely be going again. The food was really tasty, cooked and presented well and good value.

The service was good both at the bar and the table. Didn’t wait long for our meals.

Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank sazjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Took ages for a garlic bread starter to arrive, which was 2 slabs of ciabatta with some butter. There are ants running around near the table. Poor table service and slow kitchen. Been nearly an hour and still waiting on our main. This place used to be really good. The menu is limited & different to what it is on the website.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Expensive poor quality food. Give a miss. went with a friend for a special occasion both disappointed . Avoid and eat somewhere else makes McDonald’s look 5 star, beef and ale pie very watery, veg boiled to death.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank PaulGillibrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

This, pub, hotel. Is very dirty outside on a busy road. Needs a lick of paint.
Nice staff. Music was a little out of charecter, for that type of old pub. Tables, sticky. And seat upholstery torn. Carpet, old.
Menu prices , high. Didnt try food. So cant comment. We were going to eat. But decided not to.
It wasnt for us.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

This is my second stay in six months and on both visits the service, the welcome and the rooms have been brilliant. Everyone is really friendly and helpful and they've all made such an effort to look after one of our group who has to be gluten free. I understand that ownership of the hotel is to change this week but it looks like the same team will be in charge which is great. It's a busy pub downstairs and a nice hotel upstairs.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GlynF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews