We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B overnighter ok?”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton le Sands
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“B&B overnighter ok?”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Booked for one night (Sat), Staff very attentive when booking in, kept our bikes safe overnight locked away, came down late for Breakfast 9.30am, left much to get on with it! Food ok but could be better presented, Tea and Coffee water from a flask, brew your own, Seems you get what you ask for rather than being offered, Basic rooms, Hot rooms but fan supplied, noisey from kitchen extractors untill 10pm, did us for one night. Not sure on the price for the whole experience!! For a stop over OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    40
    25
    19
See reviews for
43
86
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Nothing flash, just an honest local pub with B & B facilities. The Royal is very much the fulcrum point of the village, and when we arrived on Friday afternoon, it was reasonably busy with locals kicking off the weekend with a few jars.

Helpful & friendly welcome at the bar, and after a few minutes we were shown to our room. The whiff of polish, confirmed that their was an attention to detail, and although the room had seen better days, it was clean and functional. No freebies in the bathroom ,which is always a disappointment.

The only food that we consumed -apart from an adequate breakfast- were a few sandwiches at lunchtime, that were fine. We were staying at The Royal for a family engagement & we were delighted with the quality of service from the staff, who without exception, were friendly and helpful. We did note that the hotel was very busy serving evening meals, which would suggest that the quality of food was high.

My only gripe concerns the radiator in the bathroom, which pumped out excessive heat well into the night. We did raise this matter with the manager? but nothing happened. This led to two rather fractious nights sleep. There was some noise from departing drinkers, but nothing excessive. It is a pub after all.

Do try the Chinese restaurant across the road, which was excellent value for money, although the service was somewhat laboured. We plumped for the set menu for 6, which absolutely finished us!

Would be quite happy to stay again; preferably during the winter months when the bathroom radiator was not so much of an issue!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We haven't stayed there as we're local, but we often go to the Royal for our tea. The food is always excellent and very good value for money. I had a vegetarian option last night and was impressed at the flavour and presentation of the dish. Staff always interested and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catonthemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Last minute break with October sun. Chose this Hotel as it is close to Lancaster, Lake District and the Coast. From arrival to when we left ,the staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean, comfortable and adequate for our 1 night stay. The evening menue didnt disapoint, with a good choise and the lamb was exellent. Plenty of local people eat at this hotel and is allways a good sign. We stayed over saturday night and there was a good atmosphere in the bar which the beers/lagers matched! A full english breakfast completed our stay and again no complaints, combine this with nice wallks as the Hotel backs onto the toepath of the lacashire canal and this was a very enjoyable break within 15mins of Morcombe Bay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstoptraveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Only stayed one night on way down South from Scotland. We had the twin room with the kitchen extractor system outside. Actually the noise was fine, it was the heat of the room that was a bit much. There was a fan however, and the room was very clean. Beds comfortable. Best thing was the food. We ate there in the evening and had breakfast included next morning. Extremely good food and plenty of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caztown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHOUSE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Had a twin room on the first floor.First room ive ever stayed in where the window had
a film stuck on so you couldnt see out! at the kitchen extracter fans.Which also made an awfull racket.
Went into public bar to complaim,were not interested,said no more rooms & didnt offer any solution.
As it was only 1 night,put up with it.
Went for breakfast next morning at 8.15 and the door was locked.the guy in charge had slept in.
not opened breakfast room or door back into pub.No one had said what time breakfast was anyway.there was no info in room either.
He said owners were away & would report my views & someone would be in touch,still waiting.
£60 to look at a blank window.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seefeld58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolton le Sands hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed for four nights. Our room at the back of the hotel was a good size, extremely clean and well furnished.
Mark and Becky were excellent hosts and all the staff were friendly.
A good range of beers in the popular bar.
Whilst we didn't eat there in the evening plenty of local people did. We can vouch for the bumper breakfast which sets you up for the day.
Excellent value for money. We would certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pintof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton le Sands
3.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
300 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,007 reviews
1.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 27 Main Road, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bolton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton le Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a traditional pub offering a warm welcome, good home cooked food and comfortable en-suite accommodation. Located in the small village of Bolton Le Sands overlooking the canal, the Royal Hotel is ideally situated to explore the Historic City of Lancaster, Kendal, Lune Valley and the natural beauty of the Lake District National Park. The Royal itself offers excellent dining facilities with an extensive main menu and a daily specials board, a large selection of cask ales and wines are also available to compliment your meal alongside good old fashioned hospitality. The traditional inn also boasts a large beer garden by the canal, a sports bar showing all the latest sporting events and free WiFi - the perfect way to relax after a long day exploring the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing