We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly brilliant accommodation. Great park”
Review of Hlosi Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlosi Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The accomodation at Hlosi is simply royal. The suites, dining room and service is over par with 5 star hotels and the thatched roof suites-homes feel authentic and genuinely placed in the middle of the wild-life! The park is beautiful, although doesn't have many cats or Rhinos; Our group went for two rides and we Saw a lion, elephants, giraffes etc, but no cheetah or Rhino.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arianova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hlosi Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 336 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

First class service and gorgeous lodgings in one of the most magical places on Earth.
Our safari rides with Rodger will be among our best memories for the rest of our lives.
Hated to leave and long to return. Do this if you possibly can!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reece57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We took our management team for a weekend to Hlosi as a reward for successful work. It couldn't have been better! The setting is gorgeous, rooms and facilities are luxurious and the service was top class. The Amakhala reserve was teaming with all sorts of game - we saw cheetah, elephants (drinking out of the swimming pool!), buffalo, giraffe, loads of species of antelope and our highlight was the one day old new born rhino with her mom. The rangers were enthusiastic and made each drive interesting. All in all a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRainbowSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Needless to say how much we did appreciate our stay at Hlosi, and how much impressed with their services, hospitality, accommodation and uniqueness feel of exclusivity and privacy we had during our stay.
From kitchen/food to accommodation, from scenery to ranger’s care, from service excellence to cozy atmosphere we all will remember our experience at Hlosi.
Thank you all very much for making our visit unique and memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilianTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had the most amazing trip to S. Africa with our three grown daughters and Hlosi was the highlight.We arrived at the magnificent lodge and were greeted by the warm and friendly Veronique. As we entered the the lodge Yuvulo offered us warm moist hand towels and glasses of cold papaya juice served on a silver tray. We were escorted along the raised boardwalk to our individual thatched fireplaced cottages.Each one was perfectly decorated with an African motif.The girls squealed with delight as each of us headed for our own jacuzzi tub overlooking the preserve for a relaxing bath before dinner.Every meal was outstanding, with beautiful flowers decorating each plate.We sat with the other guests at a long table in the main lodge lit by silver candlabras with a warm fire burning, eating and getting to know each other while talking of world politics and the history of S. Africa.The safaris were outstanding with our wonderful guide Harry,who was an incredible teacher and naturalist.He would stop suddenly to marvel at a mound of bright green grass hoppers in the road while tracking the cheetah that left a clawed frightened young antelope on the side of the road.He managed to track all of the big five with us and bring us close enough for wonderful photos.Harry introduced us to so many animals as well as to Johnny Clegg's music and we left him donning a Boston Red Sox hat as the newest member of Red Sox Nation.
Hlosi is a magical place that will stay in our hearts and minds for years to come. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This lodge was perfect for families with young kids. The staff bent over backwards to cater for everybody's needs and because it was such a small lodge, it was very personal attention that we got. Plus, the kids loved the little kids den especially for them. Our guide, Harry was a significant highlight on our frequent game drives as he really cared about the animals and injected warmth, humour and personality into the information he shared with us about them. And we certainly got to see more than the usual big 5 (they were all there too).

For design the lodge was beautiful, simple, contemporary with an African traditional twist. The food was well thought out and cooked to perfection taking the whole family's varying palates/ requirements into account without fuss.

In all, our stay at Hlosi was a 'special one' and highly recommended to people who prefer the intimacy and warmth of a smaller place to the bigger. less personal lodges.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suelmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our first safari and we are hooked. This was a small intimate lodge with a real emphasis on service and luxury. Everything was catered for, the food was fabulous, the attention to detail superb and lodge itself beautiful. We had a fantastic, keen young ranger who never gave up on finding what we wanted to see and we saw it all!
It was Christmas and my birthday and they really made us feel special and welcomed. We would really recommend this location to anybody - especially if it is your first ever safari. They just make it so enjoyable - I guarantee you will be inspired to want to go on another one!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
13.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
354 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
235 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
374 reviews
4.0 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
225 reviews
20.6 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlosi Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlosi Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | Off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $309 - $1,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlosi Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hlosi Game Lodge Offers 4-Star Family-Friendly Safari Trips In The 7 500 ha Malaria-Free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape South Africa. Hlosi Game Lodge is a small 6-room game lodge in Addo, near the city of Port Elizabeth offering rich wild life game-viewing and luxurious game lodge accommodation for the whole family. Our six suites lie along a gentle curve of hill above a river plain, and offer wide-open views from your private deck. The main lodge includes elegant lounge and dining areas, and a hard-to-leave bar overlooking the swimming pool and waterhole. With only six suites, Hlosi offers a unique, intimate safari trip with personal game viewing experiences. We're privileged to be able to share our love for conservation, food and life with you. Our four double suites and two 2-roomed family suites may also be booked exclusively as an intimate venue for small team-building events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hlosi Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing