We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hlosi Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hlosi Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of five stayed in two lodges, both of an excellent standard. We stayed for 2 nights over New Year and it was a very special way to see in 2014.
The welcome was warm and the staff extremely helpful. Our ranger, Jacques, made every effort to ensure our comfort, safety and enjoyment whilst also providing a wealth of information and sharing the wonderful landscape, flora and fauna with us.
Sundowners with magnificent views and majestic animals was a truly magical way to finish our family trip to a wonderful country.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

A fabulous way to start the beginning of 2014 indeed, on such a positive note. We are so happy that we got to be part of this experience for you and would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us for 2 nights. It must have been wonderful to spend this time with your family, creating such wonderful memories. You chose a great time to visit us with the aromas from the Fynbos (flora) filling the reserve. We love to hear that your family felt comfortable and safe and that you were able to enjoy yourself. We hope that if you ever return to South Africa, you will trust us to provide you with yet another fabulous experience. Best wishes from the Baileys and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 402 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Everything here is very nice: the room, the food the staff and the excursions! We stayed in september for 3 nights with our 2 daughters and they gave us a very large lodge with 2 rooms and a living room. Is fantastic wake up in the moring and see in front of you zebras, jackals...The full board is very good from the breakfast to the dinner but the most exiting thing is the excursion with the ranger (thanks Asha!), we saw a lot of animals!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaoNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Fabulous photos! We thought they really captured the light and sunshine so well. The sunset is just exquisite and I'm sure it was even better to witness. Thank you for staying with us, it's wonderful that you got to spend a whole three nights. There's nothing in the world quite like an African safari and getting to see such big and majestic animals in a natural setting. It's even better when they are right on your doorstep, even the smaller guys like the zebras and jackals. We agree, it is all very exciting! We will also be sure to let the ranger (Asha) know how much fun you had. We hope you and your daughters will be back, we'd love to have you stay with us again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very welcoming staff, made us feel part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble, thet even made lunch especially for us after an early start on our first day at the reserve. Our ranger, Geoff, was very knowledgable and we enjoyed chatting with him during our game drives.

Would recommend this fantastic experience to everyone. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janedodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

What a great review - thank you for the feedback and the recommendation. We really appreciate it. Only a pleasure to make sure you didn't go hungry after your early start... thank you for choosing us for your holiday, and here's to seeing you again very soon in our little piece of paradise! Best regards from the Bailey family and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at Hlosi with our two teenagers . We had the most fantastic time and it was the perfect place to end our 3 week holiday touring beautiful South Africa. The staff were superb and so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The lodges are just as the brochure suggests and the 4 stars are a realistic standard for the Accommodation. The service and the food however were a 5 star for us. We had a great guide Andrew who was so enthusiastic and very knowlegeable and along with him the rest of the Lodge staff were great. We would highly recommend a visit here. We saw the big four including Lion and Elephant at very close range! Some gorgeous Birdlife as well.
Many Thanks from the Jones Family.
PS We had absolutely no problem with water pressure/smells/ internet/lighting/road noise etc.. etc... !!!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks to you and your family for staying with us - it's great to hear your feedback, especially your compliment about 5 star food and service, which is something we strive for. Thanks too for taking the trouble to post a review: these mean a lot to us. Sounds like your south african holiday was a roaring success. Hope you had a safe trip home and that all those wonderful memories are still fresh in your minds. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Hlosi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our review will be slightly different from the norm as both my husband and I are handicapped. Having said that, we could not have found people who were so helpful and understanding and who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and not a burden in any way.
They accommodated us in every way possible and were so friendly and inviting.
Both myself and my husband had a wonderful weekend away and I would certainly recommend that anyone who needs a night or two away from home to chill....this is the place!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Dallas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks to both of you for choosing us for your break, and for taking the time to post a review. We're really glad to hear that you had such a good experience here, and that you felt that good old Hlosi magic. Hope to see you again: the welcome mat is always out for you. All the best from the Baileys and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is not a five star experience in my opinion, especially not when considering the price charged. It is, however, a good way to do a 'safari light', with no malarial concerns to worry about, particularly if you are traveling with children.

We stayed for two nights in family lodge 6. While the lodge itself was spacious and nicely furnished, it had a really odd smell the entire time we were there. We considered whether this stemmed from the cleaning supplies used, but did not smell it anywhere else (the main lodge, etc). I know they were doing some maintenance/changing to their waterlines, and we could see the dug up land outside our door, so this may have contributed to the smell. Secondly, the water pressure in our lodge was so low, it made showering virtually impossible. The lovely jacuzzi tub outside the lodge was nice to look at, but would have taken hours to fill up. Again, this may be due to the work on their water pipes, and we did not make a fuss about it to the management for that reason. However, the staff must have known about the problem, certainly the cleaning staff will have known when they tried to clean the bathrooms. Furthermore, previous reviews also mention this issue, so it is obviously not a new one. I believe they are trying to fix it, and that it may be difficult to do under the circumstances. However, at the price we paid, we do expect running hot and cold water at a minimum.

On a personal note, I had so looked forward to sleeping in a four poster bed with lovely white drapes surrounding me, just as shown in the website pictures. While the bed was super comfy, and the four posters were there, the drapes had been removed. They should really consider putting them back up -- the bed looked much nicer in the pictures we saw before booking on the website!

There were also some interesting wiring issues in our lodge. For some reason, we had to turn the main light on in the lounge in order to turn the light on in our bathroom. It took us a while to figure these things out, but we did manage fine eventually.

Though internet was promised in the main lodge, this was not available during our stay. Again, explanations were forthcoming, but not really helpful. We were offered the use of the staff computer, but nevertheless, this caused some issues as contact with work back home was necessary.

We knew we were on a private reserve, and as such, we did not expect to be residing completely in the wild. The lodges have a lovely situation, overlooking a vast expanse. Too bad the noises from the highway were noticeable from our deck. It did take away a little from our 'out of Africa' feeling.

The meals during our stay were good. But in South Africa, you really quickly come to expect GREAT food. The standard is just so high. So this was a bit of a let down as well. There was lots of food on offer, it was all just pretty average.

But it wasn't all bad. In fact, there were lots of good points as well. The first, and most important, was the lovely, lovely staff, who really try so hard to give everyone a good experience. From Dennis, who waited patiently every time we returned from a drive with a lovely drink, hot or cold, to Lance, our temporary lodge manager, who always had a smile on his face and a friendly comment, to MJ, our ranger, who was super enthusiastic and willing to go the extra step to track down animals far and wide.

We didn't manage to see all Big 5, but we did see the Big 4 (minus the leopard), which we were content with. The weather was not fabulous while we were there, and our poor ranger got soaked driving us around. However, she made the most of the situation, and still managed to show us a good time.

All in all, we are glad we did the safari, and we did enjoy our experience at Hlosi Lodge. However, I would not go back to the same lodge. Though we were happy enough while there, in hindsight, when we compared the value for money with what we experienced on the rest of our trip in South Africa, I do think this was an expensive experience for what we got.

I was not sure whether to rate this three or four out of five, but finally settled on a weak four, because, truly, the staff was lovely and they made our visit much better than it might have been.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to give us such carefully considered and balanced feedback. It's helpful to us to know about the issues you experienced so we can deal with them. And thanks for letting us know about the things you enjoyed as well: we appreciate it. You're right, we're doing a complete overhaul of the water system at the moment, to get around our mischievous ellies who loved nothing more than ripping up the underground pipes running from the old tank location. Given this, I was very distressed to hear about the trouble you had. I'll be in touch directly with you to find out about the exact dates of your stay, so I can pinpoint what stage the work was at and confirm that the problem is now resolved. I'll also follow up on the light switch and the mosquito net. Thanks for letting us know about these: we appreciate it, and our apologies for any inconvenience! All the best to you from the Bailey Family and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had three days here, and were very impressed. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were excellent. It was five star service and all of the meals were delicious. Our guide, MJ, was excellent - informative, enthusiastic and with a good sense of humour. We saw all of the big five and had a fun morning riverboat cruise with breakfast served on board - great idea! Early morning sounds and late evening starlight were magical.
I would recommend this lodge to all - families will especially enjoy it. We will be back, for sure.

Room Tip: All lodges have great views and seclusion with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Hlosi Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for such a terrific review - we really value and appreciate it. The whole team is walking a little bit on air today! It's great to hear about it when our guests have great experiences with us: it's what we wake up for every day. Great that you got to enjoy the river cruise: we love them too. Hope the rest of your journey was top notch and that you had happy homecomings. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Hlosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
13.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
258 reviews
6.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
4 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
266 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlosi Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlosi Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | Off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $563 - $1,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlosi Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hlosi Game Lodge Offers 4-Star Family-Friendly Safari Trips In The 7 500 ha Malaria-Free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape South Africa. Hlosi Game Lodge is a small 14-room game lodge in Addo, near the city of Port Elizabeth offering rich wild life game-viewing and luxurious game lodge accommodation for the whole family. Our six suites and eight luxury tents lie along a gentle curve of a hill above a river plain, and offer wide-open views from your private deck. The main lodge includes elegant lounge and dining areas, and a hard-to-leave bar overlooking the swimming pool and waterhole. Hlosi offers a unique, intimate safari trip with personal game viewing experiences. We're privileged to be able to share our love for conservation, food and life with you. Our four double suites, four luxury tents, four family tents and two 2-roomed family suites may also be booked exclusively as an intimate venue for small team-building events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hlosi Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing