We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience and superb service!”
Review of Bukela Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bukela Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent two days and nights in this amazing game lodge with our two sons and it was really fantastic! This quiet nature with so many wild animals that we saw on our game drives with the excellent ranger Jeff:a really great experience! The service and the rooms were also gorgeous, a big log fire and hot drinks would be waiting for us when returning from our afternoon drive, wonderful!
Marcus

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Marcus and family - thank you all for staying with us, and for being such great guests. We enjoyed having you with us, and it means a great deal to us to have you share your warm memories of Bukela with us. Thank you, and we get to see you all again some day. Best wishes from all of us at Bukela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Jeff, we salute you. An amazing ranger with passion and experience. Jeff delivered in terms of educating us about life in the bush. Yes, there are the big animals but it was his skill in teaching us about all bush life from the termites to the birds, life and death and everything in between. Bukela provided us with the space where we met people from distant places who we know will always be friends. But the animals (all of them) are the stars and that’s the magic of Bukela.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

What a fantastic review - thank you for all your compliments on Jeff especially. Our rangers are at the core of every guest's experience, and we're very lucky to have Jeff's unique skills on our side. Thank you both for staying with us, and for all your great feedback and ideas. Now that we've finished our refurb we really have to get you back again! All the best from the Baileys and the Bukela team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Bukela Lodge met all our expectations and more! The lodge we stayed in was beautiful :) All the staff were extremly helpful and attentive and MJ our ranger was truly amazing! We saw the big 5 and lots more and more then once! My boyfriend and i stayed for 3 nights and the food and wine was lovely! Each morning a great breakfast waiting would be waitng for us when we returned from our morning drive also when returning from our afternoon drive a big log fire and hot drinks would be waiting for us, absolutly wonderful! I cant imagine any holiday ever topping this one, thanks to all the people at Bukela lodge, i would highly recommend this lodge :O)
Shorlen & Lee

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissCarrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi Shorlen and Lee - what a pleasure to have you staying with us, and to be able to share our little piece of paradise with you. Thank you both for staying with us, and for sharing such great memories on Tripadvisor. Here's hoping the only holiday that tops this one is another holiday at Bukela :). All the best to you both from the Bailey family and the Bukela team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

this place is one of my favorite place on our Garden route in South Africa. Three nights and days spent there would never been forgotten...dear readers it's five star GAME lodge (not proper 5 star hotel in some megapolice like london with 5 star bed and bathroom, you should understand the difference)...and this place is gorgeous..i love the lodge we stayed there, i love all people worked there, our ranger/ess :) Diane was gorgeous, she tried her best to show as many animals in the Addo Elephant Park as she could. this place is smaller than Kruger but it's worth to stay there if you are short of time and want to see as much as possible for a couple days. We saw all animals so close that still cant belive it looking at photoes taken there. But this feeling in our hearts..special thanks to our chef (sorry cant remember his name, but he is originally from Zimbabwe), his meal was tasty, cooked with love and so sofisticated..my favorite is afternoon tea pastry (well, little cakes and pies with different stuff inside :) so lekker!!! this place is not cheap, but it's worth every penny. we recommend it to our relatives and friends and plan to come back there in a couple years. i feel guilty that fed a vervet monkey one day, but she was with baby and so sad eyes and only one meter from our lodge window :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

The vervet monkey still asks after you :D. Thanks for such a great, happy review, Jane: it's great to hear from you about your stay. Andrew the chef was very grateful for your compliments too: thank you. Your photos sound wonderful: we'd love to see some if you don't mind sharing with us. Look forward to seeing you back at Bukela in a year or two! Warm wishes from us all at Bukela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Bukela is very close to me and my family's harts. We are frequent visitors to this unique lodge. Bukela is under new management and this always causes a confusion with the staff and what is requered. We had a beautuful time at Bukela as usual and sat on our decks watching the Elephant playing in front of our decks. Thank you to both the Wellas and Nommie and all the staff for this wonderful experience.

Elsa

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsatruter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Elsa, thanks for always returning with such a big heart. It's always lovely to see you, and we're so chuffed that the elephants put on a great display for you guys. Here's to your next visit, and to all the good times to come at this amazing place. Warm wishes from the Baileys and the Bukela family :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed her for 3 nights, felt let down after reading the reviews.We thought the place looked worn, the swimming pool was green and murky and generally the place needed smartening up.Had a nice room Nos 4 but again no view, no deck furniture, creaky bed.After spending a huge amount of money to stay here felt dissapointed .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyfive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for your review - we're sad to hear we didn't hit the mark for you. You're right, the Bukela rooms are set into the bush, so they are more suited to reading and bird-watching (and every now and then monkey-watching). The viewing hide over the water hole has good views from big deep comfy couches, and we love to serve an icy G&T there at sundowners when the animals are at the water hole. While we hate not getting it right for you, we appreciate hearing about the issues you experienced - your deck furniture being MIA, for instance - and we'll do some digging and find out what happened and get it sorted. Thanks and best wishes from the Bailey family and the Bukela team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stunning series of cabins located right in side the Game reserve.

Rooms are lovely with all mod cons in traditional settings. Particularity liked the out door shower and in room log fire (not for kids!) It was our honeymoon and they put on a very romantic meal in the room - lovely touch.

Food was top draw, best steak we had in a very long time could cut it with a spoon. Wine list is very good and well priced.

Game drives were excellent, our guide was insightful and had an encyclopedic knowledge of the parks wildlife in all forms from bees, trees and elephants.

Room Tip: No 1 room is closest to the watering hole were animals come to drink at dusk and dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Congratulations on tying the knot, and thank you for choosing Bukela as part of your honeymoon - we feel very honoured to have been part of this great moment in your life. We're very chuffed to get such a lovely review - thanks for taking the time to post it. All the best to you both for this amazing first chapter of your journey together. Warm wishes, the Bailey family and the Bukela team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
11 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
244 reviews
2.3 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukela Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $583 - $1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites and two luxury safari tents, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing