We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bukela Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bukela Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We travelled to South Africa in March 2012 to celebrate my wife and my friends
birthdays, We had , an amazing time as we travelled around fore three weeks.
We spent three fantastic nights at Bukela Game lodge,the weather was not good
but we still had a wonderful time,the staff where so kind and nothing was to much trouble.The cheff made us a suprise birthday cake,soo many good memories. .

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Happy birthday to all the birthday people in your group! We love the fact that you had a three-week birthday party - very inspiring... - and that we got to be part of it. Thanks for staying with us, and for the lovely review. Hope the rest of the year is full of memory-making too. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Bukela Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
162
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at Bukela and it was a wonderful experience. Great rooms, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent game drives which exceeded all our expectations. It was a perfect start to our holiday in South Africa.

It's a 'keeper' and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Us_twoVasteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks for choosing Bukela, and for taking the trouble to post a review. We LOVE seeing "Just Fantastic" at the top of any feedback! So glad we were able to have 3 nights with you: in our opinion you really get the best of the lodge this way. as you get some quiet time at the lodge as well as all the excitement of the game drives. Hope the rest of your holiday was just as wonderful. Best regards from the Bukela team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Friendly staff, great service, informative and fun ranger. they really went the extra mile to make our stay a special and memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazminchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thanks for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review. These reviews make a real difference to us, not just in letting other travellers know about our special place, but also in encouraging and inspiring our team to keep going that extra mile. It means a lot to us. Hope to welcome you back sometime. Best wishes from the Bukela team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Having loved our first visit to Bukela, we knew it would be risky to return especially only a year on. But none of that, it was like coming home. Stuart, our ranger for the couple of days, makes the game drives a total delight. The food is great and being small and intimate you get to know the other guests and we had a lot of fun. I am sure we will be back. Well done Kerry we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bald-EagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Two reviews! Fantastic! Thanks for coming home to Bukela, and for taking the trouble to post your review. We really appreciate the support, and it's a privilege for us to welcome you back. It's great to hear that you had fun with us, and that the Bukela team made you feel at home. We're going to have to crack the bubbly for your third visit --- looking forward to it. All the best from the Robberg Team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at Bukela Game Lodge for 2 nights as part of a 3 week honeymoon trip to SA. Bukela was probably the highlight of the whole 3 weeks.

We arrived to orange juice, a hot towel and an explanation of how things would work. We were also informed that we were the only two guests for the duration of our stay and so basically it would be our call if we wanted to delay a game drive slightly or if there was anything we specifically wanted to do or see.

Our guide, Werner, was amazing. His knowledge was second to none and he is a seriously nice guy. Being the only two guests, we went on our game drives on our own with Wern. This proved to be the best thing that could have happened as we got to ask lots of questions and have discussions, without other guests. Our game drives were massively successful, we saw everything that we wanted to see and even saw some nocturnal animals during the day! As I said to Werner, he does game drives every day but he had his camera out at some point on all 4 of our drives, so they must have been special.

If there's one thing Bukela like to do, it's feed you! We got up each morning to a breakfast of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, coffee etc. On our morning game drive we would have coffee and muffins. We would then return to a cooked breakfast, which was always superb. Before the afternoon game drive, we would have afternoon tea which consisted of coffee, tea and juice along with various baked goods like quiches, pies, swiss rolls and chocolate brownies. On the afternoon drive we would have some cold drinks and snacks, such as spring rolls, biltong, butternut squash crisps, etc. You would then return to an alcoholic drink, a cold towel and then a 4 dinner. On our first night, we ate with Werner and Nicole. This was lovely as it gave us a chance to get to know them and they were great company. On our second night, Nicole had arranged a private dinner in our room. A table was set and scattered with petals. There was a bottle of Cap Classique (South African Champagne) and our 4 courses had been laid out for us...there was even a hot plate to keep our soup and main course warm whilst we ate our starter, and desert had been put in the fridge. A bubble bath, surrounded by candles and rose petals, had also been run. It was magical.

I should mention that upon checking out, there was quite a large error with our bill. In fact it was around 4 times what we were expecting. I don't know how this happened, but when we informed Kerry and Nicole, they rectified it instantly and apologised wholeheartedly.

The staff and experience at Bukela couldn't have been better...we both enjoyed every minute and wish we could go back tomorrow!

Thanks to everyone at Bukela from us both.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We love making magic for newlyweds, and what a lovely thing for you to have the place to yourselves for your honeymoon. Thanks for choosing Bukela for your special time, and for going to the trouble to post a review about your stay. We value your support and it was great to hear about your experience. We'd like to apologise up front for any extra kilos you picked up during your stay due to the excessive food service. But in our experience brides-to-be often get a bit too thin in the run up to the wedding anyway... Thank you for your comments about the mix up with the bill: we're sorry that it happened at all, but appreciate your being so understanding. We wish you all the best for your future together, and hope we can welcome you back for one of those many anniversaries. Best wishes from the Bukela team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is the most amazing experience we have ever had.
The hospitality, attention to detail and immense knowledge of the reserve was second to none. We were really blown away by the standard of accommodation and food, which by the way was plentiful! As 'honeymooners' we were given the most gorgeous four course meal prepared for us in the privacy of our room with champagne and a bath run for us while we were out on safari, a truely awesome night to enjoy after a busy day tracking lions!
We met some amazing people and were given some wonderful tours. What stood out more than anything was the huge respect and care all the guides have for the wonderful wild animals. Whilst we, as tourists were flooded with sights, sounds and information the animals were given their space and privacy. The shear trust these animals have in our guides and big 4x4's was really apparent when we came across a herd of elephants, not only did they not run or charge, but a mother came and paraded her precious baby in front of the vehicle for us all to see. We were really priviledged.
The work that this reserve is doing to protect and prolong the lives of these wonderful animals should never be forgotten and nor should the real fear that we could easily be on the way to losing our white rhinos if the battle againist the poachers is lost, despite the best efforts of the people dedicatecd to the Amakhala game reserve.
I cannot recommend this holiday destination enough and if you have the opportunity to take a once in a lifetime holiday then make this place top priority you will be supporting a truely worthy cause as well.
We travelled in October 2010, the slow posting of this review is no reflection on the reserve just two very disorganised people with a new home and new baby! I have posted october 2011 as it wouldnt let me put another date. We had friends who travelled there in 2011 and had the same wonderful experience.
Jo and James Hertfordshire

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Jo and James - Thank you both so much for posting your review and for the update on how things are going with you. Congrats on the new baby and the new home - what lovely news. It's very special for us to have been able to be part of your honeymoon: thanks for choosing to stay with us, and for your support and encouragement for our work on the Amakhala. It means a great deal to us. Thanks for recommending us to your friends, too: word of mouth is our favourite advertising. We hope we can welcome you and your little one back to our special place sometime. All the best for your continued journey together into parenthood and marriage - the Bukela team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at Bukela - exceeded our expectations. Fantastic lodges set in beautiful surrounding and quite intimate. Staff extremely friendly and good food. Had a very good ranger Luke for the game drives. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Rama Family x

Room Tip: Any of the four lodges on the reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
13.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
27.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukela Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Property: Bukela Game Lodge
Address: R342 Landman Road | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing