We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Even Think About It”
Review of Reed Valley Inn

Reed Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reed Valley Inn
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Having looked at the other reviews on this site, it may be that we just had bad luck when we were there, but we felt compelled to give an honest review. This place was truly awful. The reception and attention we received was poor, food was literally inedible and they served appalling wine (quite a feat in a country like South Africa that has amazing food and wine everywhere you go). Although it tries to be the "cheapest" in the area, it really is poor value. If you can't afford one of the others and really must go here, our advice would be stay somewhere else and just go on one of the day game drives.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2007

This is an outstanding place. We enjoyed 4 splendid nights here in gorgeous late winter Eastern Cape Sunshine. Food, banter, accommodation and activities are excellent. I can only speak highly of Rod and Tracey Weeks , Johann, Jen, Jasmine, Gypsy, Veronica and Andy. A cracking place

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BlackCatBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2005

We recently stayed at the Reed Valley Inn at The Amakhala Game Reserve in South Africa, with our two children and had a great time. The rooms were lovely, food great and we were made to feel very welcome. We had great game drives, cannoeing and a lovely boat trip. The accomodation was great for families as it lies just outside the reserve gates and we could let our children roam safely in their grounds ( I hadn't really thought about it before we went, but it was a real bonus!) It was also fantastic value compared to the other local accomodation in other reserves. Our son now wants to be a Ranger, a bit difficult living in London!

7  Thank md0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag naar Bush Lodge (zelfde eigenaar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ankie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
2  Thank Per-Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amakhala Game Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
169 reviews
0 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
401 reviews
0 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
0 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
266 reviews
0 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reed Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reed Valley Inn

Address: Amakhala Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $861 - $1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reed Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing