We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the minute we arrived we were not just house guests / visitors we were made to feel part of the greater Leeuwenbosch family.

Our room was in Shearers Lodge the old shearing shed which had been very tastefully restored to provide very comfortable spacious accommodation furnished with all the necessary facilities. From the veranda magnificent views of the Amakala game reserve could be seen.

Few words could explain how wonderful all the staff were in their dedication to making our stay one to remember.

Our holiday highlight were the game drives delivered by those wonderful Rangers Lukhanyo and Oboute with their endless knowledge of the wildlife, they seemed to have a sixth sense as to where to find the animals and give us a once in a lifetime experience of being up close and sometimes within touching distance of these magnificent creatures.

During every game drive we were treated to superb panoramic views of Amakala and the meandering Bushman's river where drinks and muffins were provided.

Our African experience was further enhanced when the staff treated us to an African cultural evening of music, song and dance.

All too soon our African adventure was over, but we were left with memories of Bill's wonderful stories of times past and having seen first hand those magnificent animals in their natural environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Wow! We absolutely love the photographs you have shared from your time on the Amakhala Game Reserve. We really loved the picture of the big buffalo and the majestic rhino. You must have got the chance to get quite close to get such great shots. It's no wonder you titled your review "animal magic". Your picture of the cheetah is simply incredible- to have been so close! We also love that you can journey into the bush and while you wait in awe of the panoramic views, in silence nature surrounds you in such a harmonious way. It also really helps that the rangers Lukhanyo and Oboute know intuitively just where to find the right spots. We are so happy that this was a once in a lifetime experience for you. Thank you for all your compliments about Shearer's Lodge, we're glad that you enjoyed your room and the spectacular views that came with it. We love that you enjoyed the cultural evening and that you got a taste of the local culture: language, song, dress and dance. Bill's old history lessons and stories are also a dime in a dozen, we're glad you mentioned how great your experience was. They say all good things must come to an end, but that surely doesn't mean that it's over. We look forward to welcoming you back to this special place in the sunshine. Sending our best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

From Nomande's warm welcome to Bill and Rose's friendly goodbye, our 7 days at Leeuwenbosch has been the best holiday we have enjoyed in our 53 years of marriage.

Our room was well furnished with all the facilities for a comfortable stay, The whole feel of our holiday was that we and our 6 fellow Saga holidaymakers were houseguests of Bill and Rose. Without exception their staff did their utmost to make our visit a wonderful experience.

The food provided was beautifully presented and was delicious; I'm sure that it and the alcohol consumed in the nightly "parade" in the bar was responsible for my needing to diet on returning to UK.

Lukhanyo's extensive knowledge enabled us to meet one of my ambitions which was to see all of the big 5. It was absolutely magical when he was able to locate the buffalo herd and to see the matriarch of the herd edge up to our vehicle and gently touch his outstretched hand. Luk you really must get that book written, that fund of stories should go to a wider audience, especially the one about the bird frightened of flying!!!

Our trip to the Born Free Foundation was a lovely experience and the visit to the orphanage at Paterson a sobering reminder of how some people are not so fortunate as we are but how their lot can be improved by dedicated individuals.

The seal was set on our wonderful holiday when, on the final morning after breakfast the domestic staff came into the dining room to sing two of their beautifully harmonious native songs of goodbye - not a dry eye in the house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I have to say that I just loved reading your review. It really captured what a wonderful time you had at the Amakhala Game Reserve and all that it encompasses. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and with future travelers, I'm sure after reading your review they're convinced that a holiday here is well worth a try. Ha ha, the only downside it seems is that you may be slimming down over the next few months after your visit. But the enjoyment of food, wine and merriment would have been well worth it. Abundance and indulgence is all part of a top class quality holiday and it seems like that's what made yours memorable. There was an abundance of the finer things in life: delicious food and alcohol consumed but also friendships gained, knowledge acquired and a new and profound wisdom that touches the heart with a true African adventure. Everyone will be so please to hear that this was your favourite holiday- that is such a wonderful compliment to the whole team. For all the people you mentioned by name, thank you- your praises make the world of difference to amount of effort put in to make sure you experience the best of what the Amakhala Game Reserve has to offer. Lukhanyo is giving serious thought to your suggestion of writing a book and is busy collecting a few more noteworthy stories. Bill and Rose (who continue to be the driving force of mammoth headaches and bundles of laughs) were delighted that you've shared your heartfelt and sincere admiration for Leeuwenbosch, which is a very special home to all those who travel here. We hope that you will have the chance to visit again. Until then, we send our very best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have travelled all over the world, from Cruises to Sarari's, but this was the best experience every. Every one with out exception were so very helpful. My husband uses a wheelchair and he was looked after very well. The accomadation is very spacious and clean and the hospitality from everyone was second to none.

Room Tip: Remember to take an adapter as there electicity is round pin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a great place to stay- without a doubt it could not be bettered. Bill & Rose treated us as "House Guests" rather than "Paying guests". They and their staff treated us all as "Royalty" and any request met wirth immediate attention. Thank you so much for kmaking this the best holiday possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the warm welcome we received from Nomonde, through 7 days of very attentive and charming staff, to the personal goodbye from the owners Bill & Rose Fowlds, this was a fabulous experience.
The accommodation was in a colonial setting, full of character and was very comfortable and well serviced.
Food was varied, plentiful and always enjoyable. Special dietary requirements were accommodated.
Every game drive provided a new adventure on a beautiful natural reserve - never more than 1 other land rover. Our rangers, Lokhanyo and Ouboet, always found all the game, and their knowledge of flora and fauna, and animal behaviour was outstanding.
The pool provided welcome relaxation between 'drives' and the 'pub' gave us the chance to unwind every evening while listening to Bill's tales of life on the Eastern Cape.
We also heard from Bill's son, William, a renowned vet, about the tragic plight of the rhino, and his involvement in helping to stop the barbaric practice of removing the horn.
Finally, we were treated to a performance by the Leeuwenbosch choir/dancers who delighted us and gave us a great insight into the local culture.
This is definitely worth another visit!!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We got married at this beautiful place. We can not recommend it highly enough, we could not have asked for anything to be more more perfect than it was.

It is a family run reserve, both Bill and Rose are delightful and welcoming as are all the staff. You are really made to feel at home. Bill has a little pub under the restaurant, which is a great way to start the evening after a game drive and end it after your evening meal. He and his family have been here for years and he has many amusing stories to tell.

We had a fantastic guide for the game drives, François, he was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We feel so lucky to have had him as our personal guide for the entire four days. We stopped and had sundowners and coffee along the way. We even went out with him on a drive straight after the wedding. We have never been on a safari holiday before, but I would find this one hard to beat. We saw Elephants, Rhino, Lions, Buffalo, Giraffe, Zebra to name but a few. Plus lots of beautiful birds, even stopping to avoid the odd slow tortoise along the way. One morning we did a river safari which was really different, we even saw a little monkey swimming across the river.

Carla planned the wedding which was better than I had imagined it could be. She did everything she could to make the day special even helping me into my dress. The chapel was beautifully done and all the staff came and sang outside when we were coming out as Man and Wife. It was the best day ever. After the game drive and a quick call in to see Bill in his bar we had a private dinner on our veranda, and a fire was lit in the fireplace, making it a very romantic and special way to end out perfect day.

I can not give enough praise to this lodge and staff. The meals were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The only problem was leaving. We just didn’t want it to end.

We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Leeuwenbosch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is lovely. They cannot do enough for you. From the very nice young man who took us on our game drives to the cook they were so accommodating and as it is a family run place the owners were there all the time entertaining us in the evening with drinks in the bar. Very interesting guy, a real character! Not swish so if you are looking for up to the minute gadgets don't go. But if it's a relief to be away from the horrid news and the rest of the world, and you don't use the tv most places force on you in hotel rooms then you will like leeuwenbosch. I loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shah55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion_Roars_SA, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Leeuwenbosch Country House. We are delighted that you shared what makes this place so special- the people and the way you can leave the 'world' behind and just enjoy the natural world and a bit of history. Uncle Bill is definitely on the people you should meet in a lifetime list! Thank you for your compliments to the game rangers and the cooks. We hope to see you again for another memorable time at Leeuwenbosch. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
244 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $193 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing