We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ran out of petrol!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ran out of petrol!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

we were at Leeuwenboch for two nigths, unfortunately we had a couple of problems that I found unacceptable, my room had a licking problem in the bathroom so we slept there the first night, but we have to move at the second day because the smell was terrible! The new room was completely full of dust! It cause me allergies, a cat was crying during the night and don't let us sleep... The car that they use is old and very uncomfortable... But that is not the worse part of the story in our last game drive the car ran out of diesel! And we were there in the middle of the bush with two children! Despite nothing dangerous happened, I was very worried about the whole situation! And we were waiting for help for about 50 minutes.. Once they filled it up with petrol the battery died in front of the rhinos!, i sent some emails but they never reply... Disappointing

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion_Roars_SA, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you took the time to let us know of your experience both here and in your written feedback at the lodge. Thanks for the compliments on the food and the staff in your written feedback. Our apologies for the delay in responding to your first email while we investigated the matter in detail with the team. As detailed in the emails between you and Peter, our General Manager, we have investigated the issues you raised and addressed all of them with our Leeuwenbosch team. In particular, the faulty petrol gauge has been repaired! We are really glad that during your visit you saw so many of our big five, and hope that these are the memories that will stay with you. Thanks again for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention, so we could deal with them. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Leeuwenbosch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
76
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent our last 2 nights here before heading home. We went on 4 game drives and saw rhino, a bull elephant, giraffes, lion, zebra, many types of antelope, buffalo, ostrich, lynx, hyena, birds of prey and warthogs and more. We loved our room which was a refurbished shearing shed and we would recommend this. There was a pool in the grounds which we enjoyed to relax by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of our Cape tour and it was our first visit to a game reserve. We received a very friendly welcome from Lauren who showed us around the country house and beautiful gardens and then to our large, clean, well furnished room in the house itself. It was built in the early 1900s as a farm house and is stocked with period furniture and so the room contained a large bed, chairs and sofa with a huge creaky wardrobe. These added to the charm of the place. Soon after we arrived it was time for high tea and then our first game drive with Luke our Ranger. We were fortunate to have Luke to ourselves for all of our four game drives and his knowledge of the flora and fauna in the reserve and its ecology made the drives so rewarding. He gave us wonderful viewing and photography opportunities of so many animals and birds stopping the Landrover and switching the engine off so that we could take in the sights and sounds of the reserve. The morning drives were followed by brunch consisting of fruit and a hot breakfast after which there was time to relax in the grounds or by the pool. After the evening drives there was time to freshen up and then meet the rangers plus Bill and Rose, the country house owners, and their son Grant in Bills cosy bar. The family has lived in the property for generations being farmers prior to reverting their land to its natural state and stocking it with game. Bill is quite a character and told many entertaining, funny and sometimes irreverent stories during dinner of growing up on and managing the farm. However their main strength was that they ensured that all the guests were introduced to each other prior to dinner which was eaten at a large table upstairs in the dining room. It meant that the meal felt as if you were attending a family dinner. In fact the whole stay felt as if we were guests that had been invited for a family gathering. We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Leeuwenbosch and Amakhala for a memorable safari experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14SRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent three nights here on our first ever visit to a game reserve. In the same family since the mid 1800's as a farm and more recently a game reserve shared with other huge farms. We stayed in Shearers, a former shearing shed which had been renovated to a high but rustic standard. We had a very warm welcome and after a quick lunch we were out on our first game drive. We were fortunate to be on our own with our driver for all our drives and he went looking for whatever we wanted to see. We were 100% successful on every drive seeing lions, zebra, giraffe, elephants, kudu, ostrich, hartebeest, warthogs, springbok, Cape buffalo and white rhino....plus a lot else besides. We also had a trip down the river and saw kingfisher, African darter and a fish eagle. Our driver was very knowledgable having lived here all his life and couldn't have been more helpful getting us up close to all these fantastic animals in an open Landrover. Food was good overall, the meat dishes excellent, the fish just ok. The staff lived in a village on the reserve and most had families who had lived there for several generations. Because we were the only guests on two of the nights we had dinner with Bill and Rose, who were super hosts. Bill's family had been here for many generations and he regaled us with great stories about their life there. The tradition at the reserve is to start the evening with drinks in Bill's bar, a cozy snug under the dining room, then upstairs for the meal in front of a log fire(it was Spring but only got cold as the sun set). The buildings here are very old but very well maintained. On our last evening son William popped in to see his parents. William is a vet who has dedicated all his energy to saving the white rhino and he had just returned from giving a lecture at the Royal Geographic Society in London. The white rhino on this reserve are guarded 24/7 to protect them from poachers who are driving these animals to extinction. The white rhinos are incredible prehistoric looking beasts and we should all lobby the Chinese and Vietnamese governments to stop the crazy trade in rhino horn.
Visiting this reserve seeing a huge variety of game is virtually guaranteed and your visit will help support over fifty local people. You won't be disappointed with your visit!

Room Tip: The main guest house Leeuwenbosch is very traditional with lots of character and has wifi. Shearers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff was very courteous and polite, We had a problem because in the rooms there was no hot water coming which was later sorted out. The food was delicious but we had to wait a lot till the preparations were being made. Had the best time seeing various animals thanks to our guide Andrews. If you ever visit this place ask for him because he is the best. Thanks to him we spotted the lions. The weather was chilly and windy. Inspite of the blankets in the jeep we were all shivering. Had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Leeuwenbosch, where I had the most amazing time. The Fowlds family who own the lodge could not be more welcoming, the bedrooms are spacious, clean and well-furnished, the meals delicious and plentiful and Leeuwenbosch is set in the most beautiful location. All the staff were welcoming and helpful, and I want to make particular mention of the lodge's ranger Ouboet (pron. "Oboot") - his ability to locate wildlife and to then lead you there in a careful and compassionate way was outstanding. His love of and care for the wildlife is obvious, he was always careful that guests were safe, and he took great trouble to explain things and to answer our questions. The man is a legend (or should be!!). Bill and Rose were exemplary hosts, and we all enjoyed hearing Bill's stories in "the pub". A fabulous place, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are quiet. Those in the main guest house are a bit larger, but all rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieRoseChinnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in August - their winter- yet the welcome was always warm.
This is a "real" Country House - the House has been there for generations .
We felt like house guests
It was hard work - Up early for a Game Trip - Back for Brunch- A short liedown , and then Out again for another Game Trip.
Evenings were spent in the Cellar Bar.

This is a very special place - those who find it a very privileged.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main house are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Property: Leeuwenbosch Country House
Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown (+/- 60 km) - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing