We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I enjoyed the family atmosphere in a luxury lodge! All the staff had great attention to all details during my stay, friendly, smiling and very professional. Food was excellent, beautifully prepared and delicate, with local taste. All the lodge (room, main house, dining room, garden) was super clean everywhere. They even have a small shop in case you need to buy some warm cloths! Asher, the ranger who drove me for seven game rides, has been wonderful, professional and prepared at all time. I saw all the big five several times!
Leeuwenbosch is definitely a place I'm dreaming to visit again!

Room Tip: Guest house has a spectacular view and relaxing veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our holiday at Leeuwenbosch was astonishingly good. We saw all the animals we had hoped to see and the birdlife was fabulous. We are still going through the photos identifying new species! The staff were so helpful and kind, the food delicious, and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. André, the young man who took us on our game drives, was incredibly knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Having a picnic (not really an adequate word for the spread laid out for us) in the bush was truly magical. Bill and Rose are blessed with their staff, but as they themselves are quite charming, I suppose it's only to be expected. Our every moment was filled with delight and we would happily recommend Leeuwenbosch to anyone who loves nature. We were in the same party as 777sheila57 and she, along with other members of the group, added greatly to the enjoyment. Our especial thanks also go to Nomonde, Bill, Rose, and all the team,

Terry and Jackie D.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryTop-roD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had the most unbelievable stay at Leeuwenbosch. It was incredible. The family were wonderful and all staff - so friendly and helpful. We were treated like royalty and everything was perfect. We even had hot water bottles placed in our beds!! The food was glorious, and lots of it - beautifully prepared.. The games drives were exceptional - our ranger was so dedicated and enthusiastic. She was determined to find us lots of animals- and we did. We enjoyed the choir and the local dancers. Everything was perfect.The room was in colonial style and spacious and clean. The bath was an added joy!!!! It was a privilege and honour to be with this wonderful family for a week and will never be forgotten. The photographs will be life long reminders of this exceptional experience. Thank you so much to all at Leeuwenbosch.
Sheila H

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 777sheila57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We will never forget our wonderful time at Leeuwenbosch. It was a fabulous family adventure. Steeped in pioneering history we felt like we had stepped back in time sleeping in the family homestead which is beautifully modernised to make a luxurious stay.
Dining in the original dining room with a plethora of staff and exquisite cuisine made it difficult to fit our clothes at the end of our stay!
Our whole family (including four children aged 4,6,9 and 11) were so well catered for and looked after I felt like I was leaving home when we departed.
The game drives were amazing with Luke explaining everything to us and our children in his patient and gentle way. ( there were lots of questions from our end!) he had so much knowledge and a genuine love of the animals, flora and fauna that he was showing us.
We never tired of looking at the beautiful animals and loved being part of the Leeuwenbosch family for our week at Amakhala.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. The family room in the country house suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The staff were fantastic and Bill and Rose who own the establishment joined us for dinner most nights which was a nice touch. The accommodation was spacious and clean and the grounds were immaculate.
We saw all the animals in the park when we were on Safari and William (Bill and Rose's son) from Safari Vets came and gave a talk about the work he was doing.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Amakhala, and in particular, Leeuwenbosch is a very special place indeed. From the moment we arrived, we were spoilt with great food, hospitality and incredible game viewing. Our game ranger Luke was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the reserve - from birds, flora and fauna, and of course, the animals. He went to a huge amount of effort to show us all the game - and we weren't disappointed! A special highlight was watching the lions at sunset. Just being out in the wild was fantastic, and we loved every second of the drives, which also included a river boat cruise which was great.

We stayed in the Shearers Lodge, which was really comfortable and luxurious.

The hospitality itself is briliant, with snacks and drinks included on the game drives being a very welcome special touch! The food back at lodge is great too, with a delicious breakfast and three course dinner. Evenings with Bill and Rose were also brilliant. Bill has so many fantastic stories, and Rose is so welcoming and relaxed. We had two great nights in the pub after dinner, with lots of laughs and plenty of whisky! It is this personal touch that makes Leeuwenbosch so fabulous, and I would recommend it to everyone to visit, over and above the other game reserves in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have visited S.A. several times before but Leeuwenbosch was the happiest, most relaxing and best of them all. As soon as we arrived we realised this was going to be a special holiday as we were made so welcome and it was just as if we were visiting very good friends. Shearers Lodge (as the name suggests was the barn where sheep were sheared some many years ago) has been very expertly converted and has all the amenities to make it a peaceful retreat after the game drives. You can sit outside on the terrace and listen to the many bird songs from early morning until late at night. The game drives were well arranged with expert rangers who told us so much about the animals and their habitat - they obviously love their jobs. We were able to enjoy 7 days without television or newspapers and to realise how wonderful nature is. Bill & Rosemary are exceptional hosts and often dined with us and were always in the "special" pub bar in the evening telling so many stories about life at the Amakhala Game reserve including some stories about rhino horn poaching which is very disturbing.

Having just watched "Vets on Safari" on ITV on Friday evenings has brought back so many memories of this special holiday and thank you to all those who made it so great - we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calabash822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
251 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $198 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing