We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent two days at the camp last week, and we can only say, it exceeded all expectations. It was our first safari, and we are now worried we may never match this experience again... it feels like we have started at the top. The camp was just as advertised, remote, authentic, friendly, great food, and I could go on but you probably get the message. Our hosts were excellent, joining in at all times, and sharing their great passion for their guests, the reserve, and the animals. There aren't enough words to describe the experiences we shared while out on the reserves (you get Amakhala and Shamwari) and it wasn't just that we saw so many different animals, in so many different situations, but that our guides were so knowledgable and passionate about what they were doing.
Altogether, just an outstanding, once in a life time experience... thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
136
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our South Africa trip. Our first safari and surely this is the way to do it! The camp atmosphere is warm and friendly with a maximum of only six guests, and the tents are perfect - with the best shower in all of the places we stayed! The food is excellent and there is nothing to beat dining from the braai by oil lamp! The combination of the Amakhala and Shamwari drives provided some amazing sites, and the rangers Craig, Duane and Blake are extremely knowledgeable and passionate about their work. Highly recommended!
Brian and Lorraine

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Probably the best part of our Garden Route journey (November 2013)

4 rememberable facts making it a very enjoyable stay
1) only camp with access to both Shamwari AND Amakhala Game Reserve
2) incredibly motivated rangers (almost being happier than guests when spotting the male lion on the game drive)
3) high quality tents (with great shower :> ) giving you the feeling of being well in the outback (listening to hundreds of birds around the tent) while still enjoying a luxurious stay
4) extremely friendly owners with a clear vision of running the camp (keeping it small and cosy, no electricity - exactly what we want from a safari experience)

We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We´ve stayed two nights at the Quatermain´s Camp, an it really was the highlight of our hoonymoon. The familiar atmosphere in the camp was so nice, and of course the game drives were spectacular. We would advise every one to visit Quatermain´s Camp, if he or she is in the region. And it is also very recommend to stay two nights, so you get the hole experience. Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Quatermain's Camp is a true gem. They welcome you and treat you like family. Their extensive knowledge of the bush is simply amazing and their hospitality is unmatched. The rangers are truly passionate and friendly. You could literally ask them any silly question and they would have an honest answer. The luxurious white tents are amazingly comfortable and authentic. I believe we licked our plates clean every night, we had a Kudu stroganoff one night and a traditional South African braai the other. The combination of the Amakhala and the Shamwari game reserves afforded us to see every animal imaginable, even a stunning female leopard up close. Leaving the camp was seriously the worst part of our stay. Thank you Riaan, Julie, Duane and staff! We can't wait to come back someday. P.S. Send Melvin an Tumi our love!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

It is just an incredible experience to stay at Quatermain's Camp. The whole Team and especially the two extremely passionate Rangers do a great job. They send you back to the colonial age without loosing most of the comfort of nowadays. Additionally the Reserves show a huge range of wild animals! It was the most impressionate trip during my time in South Africa!

Best wishes to you all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went away for what was meant to be a nice relaxing weekend in the bush, which it was, but boy did we get so much more than we bargained for!!

From the first moment we arrived at the boma, everything about Quatermain's and its people was special. We stayed in the honeymoon tent which is very secluded and literally in the bush. The "outside" bathroom is the best.

We were treated like family by owners Riaan and Julie and the rangers, Craig and Duane, were fabulous! Their knowledge of the bush is vast and their passion for wildlife and conservation is infectious.

We ate like kings everyday. The highlight was the Kudu pot prepared over the fire! Quatermain's offers a truly authentic bush experience and has set a new benchmark for us. With access to both Amakhala and Shamwari reserves, they are able to give you an unbelievable bush experience. One of the highlights on a bush drive was seeing a rare serval. We saw four of the Big 5 and will be back to spot the illusive leopard.

To top it all off, they went all out for my (now) fiancé's birthday on the Sunday. The rangers managed to bake a chocolate cake on the fire, with no electricity. Very impressive and so yummy. As if all of this was not enough they went even further and made our engagement ultra special. Craig took us to "The Saddle" - the most magical viewpoint on Shamwari - where I popped the question. Afterwards we had some sparkling wine that he thoughtfully brought along. On arrival back at our tent, we were surprised by candles, rose petals and chocolates that capped off an amazing evening.

Leaving Quatermain's after such an awesome weekend was a very difficult thing to do, but we will definitely be returning very soon!! It would be like going back to visit family. Thanks again guys, you are the heart and soul of hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantVanVelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
15.1 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
4.9 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp

Property: Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Address: Paterson, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quatermain's Camp is an intimate 6 bed tented safari camp situated on the beautiful Amakhala "Big 5" Game Reserve. We offer two four hour game activities per day, with knowledgeable and qualified rangers, fantastic South African bush cuisine and a friendly and personal experience. Come and let Julie and Riaan show you the delights of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing