We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Safari style accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Did a one night Safari at Amakhala Quatermains Camp. This consisted of a game drive just after arrival which ended during darkness. A fabulous BBQ dinner cooked on the open camp fire, and a morning game drive before departure.

This camp is family run and the owners and staff are very warm and welcoming. Yvonne one of the rangers is very passionate about her work and is very knowledgeable.
You can see the camp and accommodation from the photos. This will give you an indication of the sleeping conditions, which i think are as close to the real deal as possible. Despite sleeping in a tent they do have hot running water and a heater inside. I found the beds to be quite comfortable also

A note for future visitors-
There is NO electricity in the camp so make sure to charge all you camera batteries before visiting.
Also on this reserve there is only two Lions. So the chance of seeing them is quite slim and it is a considerable distance from the main camp area to where they are kept. I would recommend staying for 2 nights which will give you access to the Shamwari reserve which has a much greater variety of cats. This reserve is also quite expensive so you get access for a fraction of the price by staying at Amakhala Quatermain's Camp.

Overall this is a great camp for those seeking a real Safari experience and the staff go out of thier way to accommadate and make you feel welcome. i would happily return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hjs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic time. Sleeping in a nice tent. A real outdoor experience.
Rangers where very nice and good in there job. Learned so much about the animals. We saw the big five and that's why you do it for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chivaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We LOVED our time at the Quatermain's Camp!
It was our first ever safari and absolutely blew our minds... I had tears in my eyes actually several times, because the safaris were such special moments!

You will have to make your own experience, but we can ABSOLUTELY recommend you have that at the beautiful Quatermain's Camp! It is a pure nature experience in tents without electricity (which was so great to actually really be in nature and not in one of the fancy safari lodges that actually don't reflect anything of the surrounding you're in), however the level of comfort and the homely feel was AMAZING!

Our rangers (Craig & Yvonne) were BRILLIANT - they passed on sooo much of their knowledge (think we learned about hundreds of animal species...), were excited to show us the reserves and the FANTASTIC ANIMALS, always helpful, friendly and good fun to be around! In the evenings we ended up staying out and chatting for hours over a bottle of vino until our eyes just closed as we had been up from before 6 am and took in so much over the day. It really felt very close in the camp and Craig and Yvonne managed to create such a lovely warm feeling for everyone! Even if you didn't know the other guests (there are 3 tents, so overall max. 6 guests at a time), you shared such great experiences, which really was something special and created a lovely group feel.

In the mornings Craig usually came around and woke everyone up around 6 am - it wasn't hard to get up at all (not because we didn't sleep well - actually the beds were quite comfy!) as it was light and there was an exciting adventure ahead. We all met in the Boma for a quick coffee and then jumped into the (open) Land Rover. The morning game drive was, I think, about 4 hours and most beautiful with the fog slowly fading away.
We then had breakfast at the Boma back at the camp - great full English breakfast, or muesli if you preferred. Then there was time to shower, freshen up, relax... until about 2.30 when everyone gathered for a little lunch snack (yummie toasted sandwiches) again, before heading to the afternoon game drive.
From the second drive we usually only got back in the darkness, around 8 pm - but the time on the drive passes SO quickly that you only notice when getting out of the car how your legs have to stretch out again. The drives were SO IMPRESSIVE, truly TOUCHING EXPERIENCES that got so close to our hearts!!!
And we also were able to take thousands of amazing photographs!
Getting back to the camp, the ranger who hadn't done the afternoon drive welcomed us back, was curious to hear about what we all saw and we all had a little aperitive (Amarula or sherry) to start with, chilling out around the camp fire. The oil lamps had all been lid, it smelled like camp fire and was such a cozy feeling. The dinners we had over the days were ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! We had kudu one night, then super moist beer chicken and the third night we had meat from the BBQ. All prepared beautifully and all the sides were actually also all done really well - not shying away from any more complicated dishes. We were really IMPRESSED by the fact how much love was put into preparing everything!

Over the 2 days of game drives for us we saw LOTS and LOTS of animals, actually 4 out of the big 5 - and many more!
Just to name a few: Lions, cheetahs, rhinos (white & black), elephants, buffalos, giraffes, zebras, about 10 kinds of antelopes, caracal, warthogs (pumbas .-), timons (don't actually know the real name), jackals, tortoises, monkeys... FANTASTIC!

The most special moments for me were when we were in the middle of a herd of about 15 giraffes (called 'The Tower'), them watching at us and everyone seemed to have a different character. Then there was a baby giraffe just born a day before we arrived in the Amakhala reserve - we saw it really closely with its mom and it was so cute how they interacted, cuddled and how the baby was still a little wobbly on its feet. We also had a baby giraffe and a baby black rhino actually going craaazy - in a fun way! They were running around, jumping up into the air (the giraffe was throwing its legs into all directions) - made me cry... SO AMAZING!

One other thing to note is that when you stay at Quatermain's Camp, you are actually also going to the Shamwari game reserve, which is next to Amakhala and huuuuge. That's where they have also the lions, leopards (which actually the couple who left when we arrived saw, and it's quite rare!) etc.

Well, you get the gist: We LOVED it at Quatermain's Camp and would ABSOLUTELY recommend this to everyone who wants to have a truly special safari experience!!!

Thanks again to Craig & Yvonne for making this such a WONDERFUL STAY!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From 5 star lodges in South Africa, to camping in a 2 man tent in Namibia, I have done a fair number of Safari's, but have to say Quartemain's have got it just right. The 1920's feel of the camp takes you back in time to an era when Safari's were Safari's. Amakhala and Shawari are beautiful reserves, the guides enthusiastic and really knowledgable and the sundowner stops breathtaking. To top it off the atmosphere back at camp at night is fantastic, the smell of wood smoke and glow of the oil lamps is perfect for enjoying the delicious evening meals and a nightcap or two, around the camp fire. Just brilliant, thank you all, for a very memorable stay, Jon and Julie, UK

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I heard about Quartermain's Camp through a friend of mine, and we were not dissapointed! What an absolutely perfect way to experience the African bush. Being South African we spend quite a bit of time on game farms, but I had never tried a tented camp before! (except for camping in my own tent!) It has the perfect blend of "roughing it" with all the "creature comforts" one requires. The en-suite sweet bathrooms are extra special, giving you the feeling of showering under the stars. The boma is a great place to relax around the fire and have a few drinks after a game drive. The camp is limited to six guests which keeps it intimate.

I used Quartermain's to "pop the question" and the owners, and their staff went out of their way to make it extra special with candles, rose petals and champagne.

Quartermain's borders and the world famous Shamwari game reserve and you are able to go on a game drive on this reserve. Make sure you pack warm clothes, even in an African summer as a cold front came through, and we were caught a bit unprepared!

I would highly recommend Quartermain's!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffaDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here in late August. It was one of the best experiences of our trip. The owners are staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Even better, they have access to the Shamwari property for game drives. First night I saw lions, cheetahs and a leopard (ok, maybe not the norm! :) The tents were charming and very easy to stay in even for the camping averse. This was a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We got married on Amakhala Game Reserve and spent our wedding night and the night afterwards at Quartermains Camp. It was just perfect. The game drives were brilliant and Riaan and Yvonne were very knowledgable- I have been on many game drives before and learnt new things with them.
The camp is beautiful! It feels like really being in Africa and in the bush. The food were fantastic and Riaan, Julie and Yvonne are amazing hosts. The tents are so cute and really comfortable- the bathrooms attached to them are great and the shower was really good.
We will definitely be back- as soon as we can!
Love Sian and Sam Breeden

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
4.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
266 reviews
3.9 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
258 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp

Address: Paterson, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $463 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quatermain's Camp is an intimate 6 bed tented safari camp situated on the beautiful Amakhala "Big 5" Game Reserve. We offer two four hour game activities per day, with knowledgeable and qualified rangers, fantastic South African bush cuisine and a friendly and personal experience. Come and let Julie and Riaan show you the delights of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing