We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Camping, but not as we know it"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Camping, but not as we know it"”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was truely one of the highlights of our recent trip to SA. The welcome from Riaan, Julie and Yvonne was warm and friendly, making us feel completely at home. Being the only two visitors for the two nights we stayed made it feel very special, like being one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble and the tent and facilities were both excellent. This is not a "Spa Lodge" experience but a comfortable, friendly camp run by enthusiastic, caring owners whose love of Africa and its animals is infectious. Thank you again for an "unforgettable experience."

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ijmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
139
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late Feb and had a fantastic time. The whole set up is fantastic and I couldn't agree more with the other positive reviews. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_ruthven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Where to start... This was our first ever trip to SA and this was definitely one of our highlights during our travels! We stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved it.

If you're after fancy Spas, massages and a 40 foot pool, this wont be for you. If you're after a true Safari experience, delicious down to earth meals, adventurous and fun accommodation with access to BOTH Shamwari and Amakhala then this is the place for you. I'd personally go back in a heart beat.

Not only did we have an amazing time, but we learnt a huge amount about all the local animals and plant life. Riaan and his team are not just doing this as a day job - they live and breath it and their ability to share this knowledge and educate others is both fun and rewarding.

One of the things that I love about this whole experience is Riaans vision to keep the experience true to its essence and make it an experience for the guests - not just trying to pack more people in to maximise profits. There's only 3 tents, so there's only ever 6 people in the 4x4 on Safari, not the usual 10 that others cram in. Each couple gets a whole row of seats to themselves so you never miss out of a good spot. Keeping the numbers low also means it's a very personal experience and it's easier for the group to interact and also for Quatermains Camp to give us that personalised experience - not once did we feel we were just another person lost in the background.

When not out of Safari taking in the amazing sights, we relaxed back at camp listening to the sounds of the birds - so much nicer than the hustle of a city. The main meeting and eating area feels natural and relaxed. The perfect place to huddle around an open fire with a much deserved Brandy at the end of a long day.

We cant thank Riaan, Julie, Yvonne and the team enough for such an amazing time - this is definitely one of those life experiences we'll never forget.

Thank you all for such an amazing time
Jason and Jemma

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mister.hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Being privileged in having travelled extensively throughout South Africa this was indeed a great find. The whole team goes the extra mile to ensure that this is an experience you will long remember after your return to the norm. Authentic, with comfort built in along with a heavy dose of great company. The saying "its nice to be nice" comes alive, these people are.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Staying at Quatermain's Camp was, without question, the highlight of our revent, almost month long, trip to South Africa. Not being the "outdoors type" I must agree with other reviewers in saying that I have rarely been so far outside of my comfort zone inasmuch as this was a genuine bush-living experience where nothing was staged or artificial. From the outset one gets the sense of being close to nature and seeing wildlife at first hand exactly as it is in the willd - because this is the wild!!

Our hosts Julie and Rhiann together with our wildlife ranger Yvonne made every minute of our stay truly memorable - thank you all for that. During our stay, which lasted some 48 hours, we spent almost nine hours on two amazing game drives and a fantastic wildlife walk of nearly three hours. We were particularly impressed by the way all concerned would go to any length to make our experience even better. Game drives were not run by the clock and we would often run quite late into the evening if one of our guides felt that by doing so we might have an opportunity to see some interesting wildlife specimen. Our guides were, clearly, very dedicated to their work and demonstrated a great love and respect for the wildlife that abounds in the reserve.

Accommodation is basic but completely adequate and, while it is many years since I camped out, by the second day I was really enjoying the experience. As our host Rhiann says, "this is not a location for everyone but if you want to come away with a real sense of Africa this is where to do it" I can only add that you can, of course, experience Africa's wildlife in greater luxury or, as we have done on an earlier visit to South Africa, in one of the many "tame" game parks close to Cape Town where the animals are, essentially, managed in a style that is more reminiscent of a Zoo than a game reserve. But if you want to experience the real thing you must visit the Quatermain Camp.

Room Tip: Dress light but bring a warm coat for the evening drives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We only stayed one night at this fantastic camp but what we experienced was the highlight of our South Africa trip. As we stayed mid-week the two of us were the only guests for that night - which meant that we had the whole camp to ourselves (and the animals).. Riaan took us on an extensive game drive with two guests from the nearby lodge. We already got to see nearly all the animals we could have hoped for on the first drive, which took around 5 hrs including a nice sundowner. Upon return to the camp, Julie had the Boma ready for a really delicious BBQ and before midnight we pleasantly fell asleep in our tent. Early next morning Riaan took us on a very personalized game drive to find the animals that we did not get to see yet - and he found them all! After the game drive a delicious breakfast was ready for us.
We only spent 24 hrs in the reserve but we got to see so much. Who needs all the luxury when you only use the tent to sleep because all the activities and your nice hosts keep you busy for the rest of the time. And yes - even though it is in the bush, there are real toilets and showers with hot water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTigers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our family had the great pleasure of staying at Quatermains camp for 2 nights at the very begining of our South African adventure. We had a warm and welcome greeting from Yvonne (ranger), Rhiann and Julie (owner/rangers) who were all very knowledgable and informative throughout our stay. We were shown around the fantasically authentic camp site, which proved to be very relaxing and peaceful.
There is so much to comment on, all positive, from the 4 safaris, the closeness to the wildlife the very tasty meals, good company during safaris and meals, the tented accommodation, nothing was too much trouble. Even being late for lunch as watching the Elephants play.
We have never been so far away from home and made to feel so welcome We have never been so far outside our comfort zone and made to feel so comfortable. We could talk about the animals we saw or the scenery that took out breaths away. But that may take away from your own experience. What we would really like to say is, if you are thinking of doing a safari, DO THIS ONE!!!!! You will not be disappointed. Rhainn, Julie and Yvonne gave us an experience of a life time and for this we thank them, and hope to return in the future.
I

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniferLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
3.9 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
365 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,066 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
313 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp

Property: Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Address: Paterson, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quatermain's Camp is an intimate 6 bed tented safari camp situated on the beautiful Amakhala "Big 5" Game Reserve. We offer two four hour game activities per day, with knowledgeable and qualified rangers, fantastic South African bush cuisine and a friendly and personal experience. Come and let Julie and Riaan show you the delights of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing