We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely AMAZING!! Still feels like a dream....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING!! Still feels like a dream....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

It was the best part of our trip to South Africa. The acomodation was the BEST, the food was EXCELLENT, and Brent and David were so polite, with a great sense of humor and overall our stay was the best possible. We were two families with four children all together that shared one of the three luxurius tents and we had the best time ever. The sounds of the nature, the view of the valley with all kinds of buck gazing and the smell of acacia trees will be stuck in my mind for a long long time. I hope I will be able to afford this trip again one day and return to this amazing place....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaniaMatzorakiTsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
190
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

My wife and i finished our three week honeymoon in South Africa with a two night stay at Hillsnek. It was the best part of our stay. Brent and David were absolutely amazing and we desperately want to go back. Brent's hospitality and staff are amazing cooks and keep the lodge in amazing shape. David is a ranger with a unique sense of humor that adds immense pleasure to the safari drives. We were able to see all of the big five along with cheetahs and numerous other animals. Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvler4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hashaaron
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We want to afirm all the praises that were written above. Marvellous place to be there. Unforgotable team. Thanks for every minute of our staying with you.

Nili & Tsali Barlev, Hod Hasharon, Israel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heeg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We went to Hills Nek in October 2010 with our family and kids and had a brilliant stay with Brent and the crew. After nearly a month in Africa our kids returned to school and all they talked about were their adventures with ranger David in Amakhala Game Reserve. The food was superb, the accomodation gave us a real luxurious feeling and the setting was great. Because of the location on the foot of the hill, with a magnificent view, we were on safari every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

We are all agreed that this was the best holiday ever! We hadn't been on safari before, and this was the most exciting and memorable experience for all of us. HillsNek has 3 double tents, so it was perfect for us.

We loved that Amakhala Game Reserve provided us with one thrill after another - courtesy of our excellent ranger, David. Within the first hour of arriving we were watching a mother cheetah with five cubs just a few hundred yards from our vehicle - it was unbelievable to be so close to them.

Thinking this was so good that it would be downhill from then on - we were completely wrong. On each drive David found us wonderful sightings. With white rhino being on the endangered list of animals, it was fantastic to see some on our second drive. And each drive we found something else to thrill us - lions, buffalo, and wonderful groups of elephants as well as the more easily spotted groups of zebra, giraffe, so many different varieties of antelopes I couldn't keep track of them, wonderfully elusive wildebeast, which saw us, stopped, looked and then vanished in a cloud of dust, their tails streaming out behind them! And the warthogs were much the same - I never did get a good picture of one! We even spotted an aardvark on one of drives back in the dark - much to our ranger, David's delight.

Each drive was different and exciting, and after each one we were welcomed back to the lodge by Brent and sat down to drinks followed by wonderful food.

We loved the luxurious tents - and to my relief, not a bug in sight! How lovely to come back from a drive to a delicious breakfast, a luxurious shower, then to sit and relax looking out over the vast plain in front of our tents. The lodge was beautifully furnished and relaxing and all the food was delicious - and just kept coming! But the best thing was the welcome and warmth of everyone from the moment we arrived. We were a family group of 5 and loved having the camp to ourselves. Everything was arranged to suit us and we all went away longing to return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Wood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Through my profession I have been lucky to travel much of the world, I can say this was the best place I have ever been. Exceptional on all levels, from lodging, to food, to the guides, truly amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We had a great time at Hillsnek Safaris. The staff looked after us very well. The meals were excellent (too much), the accommodation was great (loved the safari tents) and the game viewing was superb. The game ranger was very knowledgeable and interested in finding Birdlife (which we are interested in) as well as finding the big 5. Highly recommend this venue as a must stop. Will definitely go back again. Thanks to the team for the hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_Buchholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing