We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“birthday”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first trip to SA and also our first safari. Hillsnek was absolutely fabulous, all the staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean and so comfortable and the food was fabulous. Our ranger Justin made our stay by being so knowledgeable and enthusiastic with our game drives and we were lucky enough to see the lions make a kill on a waterbuck. Everybody went out of their way to make our holiday so special. thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
196
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our very first safari experience, and it was truly fantastic! The service is excellent, the food is wonderful, there are no sufficient terms for this place. Very luxurious tent (if you can call it a tent), with a bath and outside shower. We slept well (excellent place for star gazing too btw). Very pleasant products in bathroom at your availability. We had David as our ranger, I must say we were very lucky to have him! Very good explanation, professional, all you can want. We saw a lot of animals up close with David, and we also really enjoyed his stories during dinner with the other guests. Breakfast, high tea and dinner were all extremely nice, very tasteful, good wines available. Nice to have it all inclusive too. So if you want a fabulous safari with all the luxury included, only one place to stay; you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was everything we hoped for having never been on safari before. 5 star throughout including the service, food, accommodation, passion and knowledge of the rangers, views and of course the animals. Its only a short drive from Port Elizabeth and a perfect start to a Garden Route holiday eventually ending in Cape Town. I recommend this being the start of any holiday as the early morning safari trips do take their toll and so having the rest of the holiday to chill worked well. We found 3 nights was perfect in terms of energy and seeing enough without having to rush. Totally recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gorilla08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
A big thank you for taking the time to review HillsNek on Tripadvisor and for the wonderful review.

As a team we are so happy to hear that your 1st safari was enjoyable and memorable, in all aspects. Our proximity to Port Elizabeth Airport is certainly advantageous and it must be noted that we are situated in a malaria-free area of South Africa.

Many of our guests end their stay with a safari at HillsNek, but many also begin their South African holiday with HillsNek. It all depends on your individual itineraries and preferences. The early mornings may be daunting for some, but the promise of an afternoon siests normally puts them at ease.... Plus, there is nothing more spectacular than early mornings in the bush!

Thank you again and the best!
Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and this was our first safari. Justin was our ranger and he was excellent! He was very good at locating the animals and toled us a lot about them. We saw lots of different animals and four of the big five (not the leopard), but a cheeta.
We got spoiled every day, the food and the service was excillent and the tent very luxurious. Thank you so much Hillsnek!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simbalund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for the excellent review.

Our staff love welcoming 1st time safari goers and introducing them to wildlife and nature. Your first safari will always be the most special... and I say first because be warned! The safari bug does bite.

Thank you for spending time with us, and we hope to welcome you back one day in the future.

Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the warm greeting on arrival to the emotional farewell song from the staff, HillsNek cannot be faulted. The food, wine, ambience and accommodation are all first class. However, the game drive experience is world class. David, our ranger, excelled with his knowledge, wry humour and his passion for the animals, particularly rhino.

Room Tip: There are only three! Don't leave without experiencing an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caf92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
What an absolutely wonderful review to share with our team! We are honored that HillsNek provided an "experience of a lifetime" !! Thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor.

The HillsNek team is made up of small group of talented and highly passionate individuals, coupled with owners who are dedicated conservationists. At every level, we strive to deliver the best possible experience at all times. And of course in between the hard work, we all love what we do and enjoy nothing more than a good laugh with guests whenever we can!

All the best for 2014 and please do come back and visit.

Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything about Hillsnek is superb. The main lodge, the tents, the staff, the food, the game. The decor is quietly relaxing during the day and then is transformed in the evening by the lamps into a very atmospheric stunning place to return to from the evening game drive. We loved every minute and could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review on Tripadvisor and for your valuable time.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us and found the whole experience superb. We really enjoyed your comment in regards to the transformation of the lodge at night... many of our guests are in awe upon returning back from afternoon game drive.

Thank you again and your kind recommendations are heart-felt!

Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

With only a maximum of six guests the service is of course excellent. More food than you could eat and more wine than you could drink. Tented rooms are comfortable with all mod cons and wonderful views across the reserve. The rangers are very experienced but still convey excitement when spotting game which does require some tracking down. Vehicles are completely open top which makes it feel more authentic but in the blistering heat of day one and heavy rain of day two we felt a little challenged ! My wife has limited mobility but this was not a problem.

Room Tip: All are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for the excellent review.

Our small and intimate camp allows for personalized service and we are thrilled that you experienced and noted this aspect. A safari is of course not complete without good food and wine and our talented chefs take that responsibility very seriously.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your game drives, and have noted your comment regarding the open tops. As a team, we prefer open tops on our game viewers for a number of reasons - firstly, the experience is definitely more authentic, and secondly, there are no poles from the roof to obstruct your view. The poles often get in the way of taking photographs as well and the roof itself can cast unwanted shadows. The majority of our guests prefer the open tops, but we certainly understand how the heat and the rain could have been challenging for you both. We do provide rain ponchos for inclement weather, and have a selection of caps in our curio store for guests who may have forgotten headwear.

Thank you again for your kind review, and we wish you a wonderful 2014.

Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
311 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,062 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing