We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxorious nature experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

HillsNek at Amakhala was even more that we ecpected. Elegant, well designed lodge with stunning views and very personal top quality services. Our ranger was just terrific guy with good humour and knowldge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merilaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 378 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at HillsNek. Travis, our ranger, was great and we had very close encounters with a lot of animals. The houses/tents are great and you feel like you have your own personal place, without seeing other buildings. Food was delicious and the staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbloechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The most wonderful place I have ever stayed in! I can only repeat previous reviewers about how wonderful and comfortable the accommodation is, and how fantastic the food is, especially the high tea! But the most exceptional about HillsNek is how this is "glued" together by a warm, welcoming staff, who makes you feel at home. This also creates a friendly atmosphere to connect with fellow guests, so we also had the opportunity to meet and spend time with a group of kind and interesting people from all over.

The Reserve itself as as good as it gets, with a magical setting and vivid wildlife, where no minute passes by without a breath-taking view or bit of adventure. All of this accompanied by a knowledgable and passionate ranger, Trevor, who knows the reserve and its ecosystem like the back of his hand, and keeps us informed and entertained at the same time. :-) It was my first safari, but definitely not the last. Next time I am back to South Africa, I will be back to HillsNek.

What else can I say? Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missandreaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My brother and his wife had already been to Hillsnek, leaving as friends and returned as family, then they introduced the two of us to this treasure, for 6 days in November!!! A WOW. Everything they'd raved about was true - the minutest attention to detail, be it in our luxury 'tent' of which there are three, the gorgeous, characterful lodge itself with SUPERB food and service (some of the best I've had as a professional traveller anywhere in the world!), and the personalised game drives with THE classy, early morning or evening 'coffee stop' on a convenient ridge. The owners, Brent & Chantelle, and our inimitable Ranger, James, made us so welcome and comfortable, not t forget the rest of the great team. Thanks a million! We recommend this for ANYone going to Africa, whether you've been before or not.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reitherkiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Noel,

Thanks for your wonderful review! Your kind words coming especially from someone who is "in the know" of the hospitality trade is much appreciated and respected. It was a fantastic 6 days of good weather, great wine and food, memorable game drives and enough relax time at the pool or chatting around the fire at night! An exceptional "welcomed as guests left as friends" feeling would be the best way to sum up our time spent "hosting" your stay with us. Keep well and we look forward to you visiting again with the family.

Best Regards,

Brent and Chantelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Hillsnek for 2 nights in December, having stayed in some great hotels in the past this establishment is head and shoulders above the rest. Brent (owner) and his teams attention to detail is second to none, they created the perfect setting for me to ask my girlfriend to marry me. The food is absolutely on par with various Michelin star restaurants and is a credit to the hardworking kitchen staff. James our ranger was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about the wildlife on the reserve, this made the game drives extremely enjoyable.

This is an amazing reserve that should be visited by all! I would not hesitate to recommend Hillsnek. We will be back in the next couple of years. Brent thanks for the shout out at the Billabong shop :) and for creating a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habits777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Habits777,

Thank you for taking the time to review HillsNek. It is greatly appreciated!

And congratulations again on your proposal and now, the official engagement.
The entire team were super excited about the 'big event', and thrilled that these special memories were made here at HillsNek. We will certainly never forget it.

2013 will no doubt be an exciting year for you both, and we wish you all the best with the planning of your wedding.

Warmest regards,
Brent and Chantelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We found Hillsnek on Trip adviser and here begins the tale....Our first trip to the wonderland of Brent & Chantelle (owners of Hillsnek) was in Nov 2011 for 3 nights with friends from England (wish we had stayed more), we arrived as guests and left as friends. As we were dragged (kicking & screaming) away from the lodge to our car we had already decided to return in Nov 2012 for 5 nights. (Don't stop reading here, keep reading)

We are pleased to report that we have just stayed the 5 nights, this time we arrived as friends and have left as family..... (once again kicking & screaming). It is very hard to describe perfection, most of us aspire to achieve it however few actually do, Brent, Chantelle and their wonderful team will show you how it is done - just come.......Everything was, as always perfect - from our arrival to our departure (the only bad part was leaving).

As frequent travellers for business & pleasure Hillsnek is top of our list, you know what they say about family, once you have them you can't get rid of them, so Brent & Chantelle we will be back in 2013..... if You get there before us you will be welcomed with open arms into their home away from home; You may meet James our Ranger, who we have scarred for life and will never be the same again - just ask him what a "Self Lubricating Lick Deeper" is (it is an animal in the reserve, there are lots of them). Maggie and her girls for the most incredible meals and making sure our rooms were always warm and inviting, the list goes on.

To the Hillsnek team - Thank you, thank you.....& we cant wait until we return in 2013.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Helga P,

Thank you for taking the time to review HillsNek on Tripadvisor, and for the kind, kind words.

Both Brent and myself would like to confirm that you indeed arrived as guests, and left as dear friends. We have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you, through both visits, and I must admit, we laugh harder and longer when you are around! Thank you for bringing humour and great smiles, along with endearing and heartfelt conversations, to HillsNek.

And of course, a deep gratitude for introducing us to fine Australian wines!

The most fantastic element to the safari & hospitality business, besides the timeless moments spent enjoying the natural world, is the making of new friends from all corners of the globe. It is refreshing and inspiring, and we are reminded constantly that continents, seas and languages don't divide us.... when we connect as friends.

We have welcomed 2013 in with open arms and so look forward to spending time with you again at HillsNek.

All the best!!
Brent and Chantelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Once again the standard of accommodation and service left nothing to be desired. Hillsnek is small with only three luxury tents for accommodation. Our guide Trevor was fantastic and very knowledgeble. We were able to see the big five which was a thrill. The food was fantastic and also left nothing to be desired. The high tea before the safari was great followed by a wonderful dinner after we returned from safari. I loved the outdoor shower as well as the wonderful bath.
The experience was all we would wish for.
John and Helen

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cladich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear John & Helen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review HillsNek on Tripadvisor.
Your kind comments and observations shared are invaluable.

We proudly share all reviews with our fantastic team - from ranger, to host, to housekeepers, to chefs. All contribute earnestly towards the overall experience that we deliver.

We hope you have a blessed Christmas and may 2013 bring you back to sunny South Africa to visit!

Kindest regards
Brent and Chantelle Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
360 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
243 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $594 - $925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing