We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
$55
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$904
$874
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$60
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$124
$112
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay BnB(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
405
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailsafari experienceelephants drinkingluxury tentswonderful experienceoutdoor showergame reservehope to returnour honeymoonother guestsamazing tripsouth africapersonal servicefrom start to finishspecial placean experience we will never forgetfamily tent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 412 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

AWESOME - Other than the incredible winds that blew one night while we there - this place is a true jewel. The views, the service, the lodging, the food.- you could not ask for anything better than this place.

We stayed two nights at the first of September 2011 and wish we could have stayed longer. David, the ranger, was incredible. His enthusiasm and excitement were great to experience - in addition to his ability to find the animals. Incredible knowledge of every living thing on the property.

The staff was wonderful. From the wake up "call" (coffee brought to your tent!) to the turn down service - everything was impeccable.

I loved this place and will always treasure it in my memory. THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: No choice needed!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our experience at Hillsneck could not have been more amazing!!!! We were treated like celebrities right from the time we were greeted at the entrance. Brent, our host was most gracious and ensured that every detail was to perfection. From the hand written notes left in our room when we first arrived to the warm face cloths offered to us after each safarri drive to the little "delights" that were left on our pillow each night to. Every moment spent at Hillsneck was surpassed only by the next moment. The food prepared by the chefs, Maggie and Susan could only be described as spectacular!!! The luxury tents were wonderful!!! The word luxury doesn't do them justice!!! Crawling into a preheated bed at the end of the day was most delilghful. David, our guide, was fun, educational and passionate about his job. The best part of our experience was that it was just our family!!! The personalized service was incredible. We arrived as strangers and left feeling like we had made new friends. Overall the experience exceeded our expectaions and I would love to go back!!! Thank you Brent and David for making our once in a lifetime experience so memorable!!!! P.S. the saffari drives are alot of fun and you are spoiled on them as well!!! David does an incredible job of providing information in a fun and informative way. Brent is lucky to have you!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kammi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The best Big 5 malaria free safari in South Africa, and worth double what you pay!
friends of ours, the Rosentreters from Canada stayed there for 3 nights in August 2011 and this is what they have to say:

' A safari of the self and spirit-thank you for feeding both so well-Maggie and Susan, your talent was appreciated. You have taken the art of dining to another level. David-your passion for your safari "lifestyle" is evident. Your desire to make the experience unforgettable shines through vividly. Brent-the most gracious host. Thank you for making our once in a lifetime adventure so unforgettable and perfect in every way. Your attention to detail is outstanding. God bless in your quest to protect the rhino-we will do our part!! - Rosentreter Family

Room Tip: 3 tents, 3 amazing locations, all of them are great!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were totally blown away by every aspect of the lodge…… the tents are amazing ( we all enjoyed the stunning outside shower); the food was outstanding, the service was brilliant and the main lodge is beautiful.

Brent – thank-you for making us feel so very welcome– your attention to detail ( like knowing all of our names before we even introduced ourselves and appearing like magic whenever we needed anything !) and the interesting chats we shared made for us feel like we were old friends !

Of the many lodges we have visited over the years, we have yet to have all aspects of the lodge exceed expectations as was the case at Hillsnek ( accommodation, food, game experience, staff)……you have thought of the best of everything ( hot water bottles on drives, bed time stories, and your planning for kids was unbelievable – they still treasure their bags and diaries and talk about the hot chocolate with marshmallows after the evening drives !) David was a wonderful guide – very informative, enthusiastic and so patient with the children ! We loved the scenery and close up viewing of so much game…..

As for the food – wow – thankfully we didn’t stay any longer as it would surely have tipped the scales in a positive I could do without !
It really was too delicious for words…..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolaslatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We spent 3 days at Hillsneck and couldn't have asked for more. David our Ranger really knows his stuff and we saw everything we wanted to and more. He took us to see whatever we wanted. He is the Lion finding machine!!! The service at the lodge was unreal, they have thought of everything. The food is out of this world, so fresh, we must have put on 3 stone! We can't wait to go back again to visit, wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Breen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews