We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate safari experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Throughout our trip along the garden route we were eagerly looking forward to our four days at Bush Lodge. The reviews were great so the bar was set very high. Thankfully we were not to be disappointed.

From arrival to departure we experienced a very high level of service. The initial drive to the lodge was made more exciting by spotting the herd of Giraffes on the way in! On arrival at the lodge were greeted warmly with a drink and a smile and shown to our wonderful tented hut. It was very special with some great touches that I shall keep secret. Throughout the stay the room was immaculately kept. The complimentary soft drinks in the huts were a nice touch beyond the free drinks in the bar.

The food served throughout was of a high standard and reflected the diverse environment found out in the game park. Everything was cooked to order and you were never left feeling hungry. Godfrey the chef was a delight and made time to come out and chat to the guests. I would particularly single out his freshly made fruit and nut bread as being extremely tasty and welcome after a cool drive in the morning.

The game drives went beyond our expectations. Our ranger Elbie was a real joy and we were extremely fortunate to have such an experienced guide to this amazing place. Her instincts were spot on and we will never forget some of our close encounters with the big 5. Despite staying four days every drive was unique and very often tailored to meet requests.

Overall we would thoroughly recommend Bush Lodge to anyone looking for a special safari experience and will treasure our memories from a wonderful stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bozlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

What an experience! Welcoming, friendly staff from start to finish, large luxurious tent with a deck overlooking a water hole- and the elephants came. Luxury touches such as returning from the evening game drive to a filled bath and warm fire. Generous breakfasts, lighter lunches and substantial dinners. All inclusive includes acceptable house wines or else reasonably priced superior wines are available. Knowledgeable engaging ranger who made the experience of tracking down animals interesting in itself. Maybe we were lucky but during our 4 night stay we saw at close quarters lion, cheetah, rhino, water buffalo, many zebra, antelopes, jackals and plenty of other game and birds plus countless warthogs for whom we developed a soft spot. Plus beautiful scenery, sunrises and sunsets

We loved it from start to finish. For us it had a good balance of comfort and access to nature with the emphasis very much on the natural world, whereas perhaps some other reserves offer a luxury stay with some nature added on.

I recommend visiting the Craft Centre for a good range of well designed locally produced mementoes that benefit the local community. And it is worth bringing a fleece and hat for those early morning drives.

Room Tip: Try for a room that has a good view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lampedusa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ended our first South African adventure here with a 3 night stay. We had previously had great hotels and hospitality and we were not disappointed here either. The whole experience of getting up early, going out on the drive with morning coffee and muffins served from our jeep by a very friendly and knowledgable ranger to the sherry and hot bath waiting when we returned from the afternoon drive was absolutely Devine. The food service and hospitality were second to none. During our stay we went on two drives a day and by the last morning we had not seen any lions but undaunted our ranger was determined to find them which he did. We can not praise the organisation more highly and will definitely return. Thanks very much for a fantastic end to our two weeks in South Africa.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After landing in Port Elizabeth and spending a night there, we traveled to Amakhala to start our South Africa trip. Most people seem to start in Cape Town and travel east along the garden route ending with a safari. I really do recommend starting with your safari and ending in Cape Town. It sets the scene of this truly wonderful country and we found it a privilege to be in the animals environment.

Everyone has described the accommodation, food and treats and I totally agree. It was luxury without being pretentious. Local, well cooked food without being fussy.

The staff were absolutely fantastic, Graeme, our ranger, was a font of all knowledge for all things safari. Rene is extraordinarily helpful and the service is excellent.

After years of trying to get my husband to go on safari he is now hooked. Thanks Amakhala!!

Room Tip: The tents at Bush Lodge are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnagsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and saw much more game than we anticipated. The Rangers were excellent and the experience was personal and memorable. Food and rooms at the Lodge also good - especially the drawn bath after each drive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for just the one night, but wish had booked for longer. Accommodation is perfect. Large room with huge bath which is filled for you on your return from safari. It gets quite windy on safari so the warm fire and bath were much appreciated. We had a safari in the afternoon and another in the early morning. Both were around 3 to 4 hours and we saw a lot ie zebra, giraffe, 2 lions, wart hogs, elephant, kudo etc.
the food here is an excellent standard. I could not fault it.
Staff are very welcoming and friendly.
If I am in SA again I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the 6th and final stop on our trip to SA to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were recommended to this lodge by our travel agent - who got it SPOT ON.

From the welcome we received at the reception area, to the drive up to the lodge, to the welcome and intro we had here, to the rangers, to the food, to the safaris, everything was just fab.

My wife normally leaves me to complete 'comments' books afterwards. When we left Bush Lodge she wrote half a page of thanks and compliments - leaving little room for mine!

We've never done a safari before. There are never any guarantees as to what you will see. but over our 5 drives we saw EVERYTHING. I feared i might have been a tad bored, but not a bit of it. I loved the whole thing. IT was worth getting up at 5.30 each morning so that we could set off at 6 am and then be back for breakfast. We then relaxed and chilled until lunch which was a light one course (always very tasty) after which we went on our 2nd drive of the day and returned in time to shower under the stars (amazing!) and have dinner. After each safari we were welcomed back with warm towels and in the evening also by a glass of sherry and a hot bath in our room.

The views from our room, from the restaurant and all around the reserve were amazing.

I could go on an on but must stop. Suffice it to say - we loved the place and the experience.

Room Tip: Room one is the closest to the restaurant area. We were in the furthest room (4) but even that is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_and_Judy_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
4.7 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
6.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
392 reviews
6.3 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Addo, 6139 | 65KM From PE on N2, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $87 - $1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly positioned in the bush at the top end of an open valley in the reserve, each of the superlative en-suite, tented and thatched suites overlook a watering point with big sky views.Each suite has a secluded private viewing deck with intimate plunge pool. Within the spacious interior hot and cold air-conditioning, an atmospheric fireplace, large oval bath and romantic alfresco double showers make this the perfect bush retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing