We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five out of five, even though the wheather was not great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Five out of five, even though the wheather was not great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I needed to pinch myself after we had the tour of our tent/minilodge/whatever. What a beautifull place to stay. The outdoor shower was a great experience (cold air, very warm water), the views from your bed are spectacular, and the complementary sherry very good.

We have been to Sabi Sands a year ago, so we were a bit spoilt for game viewing. Still, we had great fun. Rangers very knowledgable as always and just all around good company. Breakfast and lunch were excellent, as was the main course at dinner. Starter and desert were unimpressive. The service on the other hand was excellent, especially since they made a good judgement call that they could let their guard down and have some fun themselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was the last phase of our wonderfull 2 week South Africa trip.
We booked a 3 night stay at this privately owned game park.Once again we found the levels of service and quality of staff (including cooks ,guides,rangers etc) first class.The individual lodges are extremely well appointed build in awesome tented lodges with all amenities required.Each has it's individual small pool buil-in within the outside balcony overlooking the bush where we had the visit of giraffes ,rhinos ,antelopes etc all of which we could see from quite close by from our private lodge/room,fantastic sights.During the day we had the choice of a number of guided bush drives with our private ranger ,the property is about 18.000Ha so plenty of opportunities to sight not only the big 5 but also all types of other animals and birds.This is "The family outing" and highly recommend Bush lodge at this particular game reserve.Food was superiore standard and cook very entertaining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Bush Lodge after being offered an upgrade from Reed Valley. We were so pleased we took it - the accommodation is absoutely amazing - from the ladies drawing the bath and lighting the fire after a very chilly afternoon drive to the wonderful outside shower!
We knew from our previous visit how good the food was and we certainly weren't disappointed this time.
Elias was our ranger and he was excellent - his knowledge of the animals, birds, plants and trees was amazing.
Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I are had a lovely stay and we're so well but the attentive and helpful staff. There was a lot of rain while we were there but the rangers were very good at tailoring our game drives and we had some spectacular sightings of cheetahs, lions elephant and buffalo. Casper the butler was charming and funny. He made our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KForbes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had 4 nights at Amakhala Bush Lodge and had the most amazing time. Everything from the welcome, the food, the lodges, the staff and of course the wildlife were top draw. Our ranger Elias was a wealth of the most fascinating knowledge that meant that 4 hours game drives were filled with both the sights and insights of the abundant wildlife on the reserve. Of course the big 5 are the top attractions, however we often found ourselves as captivated by Elias's detailed explanations of birds, insects and plants as we did watching the larger animals in their own habitat. We were really impressed with the respect that all the rangers on the reserve gave to all of the wildlife. They do not allow more than 2 vehicles at a time close to the animals. This means the animals are left to behave as they want and not crowded out. It also meant that you often find yourself one of only a small group watching Elephants with their young, or surrounded by buffalo, or lions basking in the morning sun, of cheetahs hunting zebra, truly awesome!

Everything about the lodges, food and organisation is excellent, and so well pitched that after just a few hours you find yourself both pampered and yet comfortable. The schedule is pretty full with two drives a day, however things are so well organised that there is plenty of time to relax, be pampered and still have time to socialise with both guests and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Bush Lodge is stunning! What more can we add to these other brilliant reviews? Our first time in South Africa and our first game reserve. Five star accommodation and a five star ranger as well! What luck! Graeme Wheeler is so knowledgeable and self-effacing, he made the wildlife the stars of the show and the game drives were magical.
We came to Amakhala to attend a wedding celebration and all the staff made the occasion a tremendous memory. It sounds as if we had the best accommodation on the reserve
Godfrey, our chef prepared some tasty main courses, kudu steak was amazing.
Renee and her staff provided all the comforts you didn’t even know you needed
And a relaxing massage before the wedding ceremony, thanks to Nadia
We have tried desperately to avoid using this word but Bush Lodge is AWESOME!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian and Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at Bush Lodge at Amakhala and only wish we could have stayed longer, from the minute we arrived until our departure we loved every second of our time there. On arrival we were met with hot towels and a glass of sherry, shown to luxury lodge, with its great deep bath, outdoor shower room with uninterrupted views over the reserve, terrace with plunge pool … it was just magnificent. The meals created by the chef Geoffrey were fantastic and your in no danger of starving while staying here, be it breakfast, lunch, snacks and sundowners on the afternoon drive, or dinner it was excellent, given that meals and drink as well as the drives were all inclusive this has to be the best value luxury experience we've had.

However, it wasn't just the lodge, the food or even the fantastic lodge staff that made this a magical experience, pride of place has to go to our amazing guide / ranger, Elias. His seemingly limitless knowledge of all the flora and fauna on the reserve (of which there is a huge variety including the Big 5), not to mention his ability to regale us with tales of local traditions and folklore, was only matched by his passion, sense of humour and ability to communicate all of this in such a clear informative and entertaining fashion. Even had we not witnessed the most amazing Cheetah hunt, which just crowned off our stay, this would still have been a magical experience, waking to the most wonderful alarm call provided by an amazing array of bird songs, and seeing so many animals, birds and plants surpassed all expectation. I simply can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
15.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Addo, 6139 | 65KM From PE on N2, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly positioned in the bush at the top end of an open valley in the reserve, each of the superlative en-suite, tented and thatched suites overlook a watering point with big sky views.Each suite has a secluded private viewing deck with intimate plunge pool. Within the spacious interior hot and cold air-conditioning, an atmospheric fireplace, large oval bath and romantic alfresco double showers make this the perfect bush retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing