We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee and snacks”
Review of Coffee#1

Coffee#1
Price range: $1 - $6
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofa's, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
Restaurant details
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofa's, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good coffee and snacks”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have visited Coffee#1 a few times now. The decor is really nice and the coffee is great. We like the coffee that much, we buy a 1kg bag of beans for our coffee machine at home. Not cheap at £18, but much cheaper than my favorite Illy Coffee.

The snacks are really nice, like their chocolate brownies. However, the cakes are not covered that well, and there does seem to be a lot of attention from flies, so I think they could do that better.

Otherwise, the service is really good, and staff are friendly. The cups you can buy which look really nice and are good value, but we have loads of cups so can;t buy anymore ;-(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely find while driving through”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere and great decor. As we walked in saw two mums, and toddlers wreaking havoc,quietly, with toast. Love the tongue and groove, subdued colours and the walls, and the paintings and sayings on the walls,also the vintage books available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value and fine quality”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Called here on Sunday last, and it was busy!
Excellant choice of coffees and cakes, with teacakes the size of dinner plates. No joke, they really are!
Good strength to there standard coffees without the need for extra shots.
Cheerful, friendly staff provided efficient service despite the quantity of people visiting.
Lovely comfy armchairs as well, just like being in a good hotel lounge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidJanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A bit cramped”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This felt a bit cramped compared to the one local to us. Some of the seating is too close to the counter which makes it feel a bit tight. The menu choices are the same and it's OK.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great coffee and service”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have been here on several occasions this year and have always found the quality of the coffee to be very good and the food tasty and reasonable value. The staff are friendly, professional and seem so much more genuine than some of the big chains. I love the interior and the armchairs are very comfortable - I have spent several hours in them, nattering with friends. The outside seating at the back of the cafe is a welcome addition. I really appreciated one end of the day when the staff didn't insist we leave at closing time but let us sit quietly chatting whilst they went about there shut down duties. My only criticism - the take away coffee holder trays - they are too flimsy to have in a car.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llannie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee#1 also viewed

Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Coffee#1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing