We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of The Coffee Bean

The Coffee Bean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We're a small, independent family-run coffee shop and restaurant in Chipping Sodbury, on the edge of the scenic Cotswolds. * Breakfasts * Excellent home-made lunches * Many dishes gluten-free * Lots of choice for vegetarians * Delicious cakes * Buffets provided * Dairy-free and vegan options
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I enjoyed an evening meal at the Coffee Bean this weekend.

I can thoroughly recommend the Chilli - although my friends' meals looked delicious too!

It's a fantastic place to eat when the weather is fine; dining in the courtyard garden made it feel like I was on holiday!

A great place to dine for an intimate catch up with friends over dinner followed by some drinks in the local high street pubs.

The Coffee Bean seems to be in a fantastic location whether your visit in the day or in the evening.

I look forward to returning very soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanatedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We're very pleased you enjoyed the evening, and the chilli in particular. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time visiting and was very surprised how lovely it was inside. We had the English breakfast and it was lovely . The service was perfect ! We will be back soon to try the lunch menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayden0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We're very pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. We use only the best locally sourced sausages, bacon and free-range eggs. The sausages are hand-made by the butcher up the road and have won lots of awards. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lovely little cafe - homemade quiche, tasty salad/coleslaw and lively cakes. We had the dog but could sit out the back on the patio which is really useful if you want to stop of for food when out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed it. Please come back. And bring your dog, of course!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fresh and varied menu”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tucked away at the East end of Chipping Sodbury's high street is this fantastic little cafe-bistro. The varied menu suggests fresh and locally-sourced dishes, and the service was friendly and attentive.

My girlfriend was very pleased with her generous slice of mushroom and spinach quiche (served with an interesting and delicious side salad consisting of mixed leaves, potato salad, coleslaw, and red cabbage), and I was equally gratified with my choice in the goats cheese and red pepper pannini sandwich (also accompanied by the well-prepared salad). We were both highly appreciative at the selection of cakes on offer and shared an ample slice of the courgette and lime sponge with a couple of cups of rich and strong coffee.

In consideration of the quality of our meals we found the price of our final bill to be most agreeable. On our next visit to Chipping Sodbury we are very likely to return. We would recommend this cafe to anyone in the vicinity of Chipping Sodbury High Street who is looking for a genuinely delicious lunch or just a quiet cup of tea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew85UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks very much for the great feedback. We're very happy that you both enjoyed the food and that you hope to be coming back. We look forward to seeing you. Thanks again, Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT LITTLE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent choice of menu & big meals.Some unusal things,the teas are great lots of choices.Some times the staff are a bit off handbut overall a good place to eat

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Bean also viewed

 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Coffee Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing