We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big portions are not always best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Squire Inn

The Squire Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Squire Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub with a restaurants
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“big portions are not always best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

on Saturday I went to the squire inn and I asked for a burger and when the burger arrived it was about 10 cm tall let alone width. I had to quarter it so I could eat it even then my hands got absolutely covered in filling at least the chips were good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oyc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on The Squire Inn.

Our chefs are particularly proud of their home-made burgers, which are one of our most popular dishes. We are sorry that you felt your burger was too large, but hope that despite this you still enjoyed it. Burgers are served in many different fashions, from small, flat, processed burgers from fast food outlets to larger, de-constructed burgers and tower burgers. We are proud of our high quality, home-made burgers - which may sometimes be best eaten with a knife and fork!!

We were pleased to note that you gave us a 4* rating for service and would like to thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    44
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
625 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Nice locals pub but losing its character ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and has an average but filling enjoyable meal.
The place is currently going through a refurb so you can't really see how it will look but what is really odd and disappointing is that they appear to have plastered over the original beams!!! Why would they do that? Isn't that part of the appeal of an old pub in a Cotswold market town?

That said its still worth a visit. More of a locals pub than a tourist one I would say

Helpful?
2 Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your visit to The Squire Inn.

We were pleased to note that you'd had a 'filling and enjoyable meal' with us. We have a great local reputation and were pleased that you were able to enjoy it too.

Our refurbishment is now complete, the pub is looking really good and we have had some wonderful feedback.

In the 1980s the pub had a complete refurbishment and many of the supporting joists were covered in fake, plastic beams - these dated and tacky so-called beams were removed in our most recent refurbishment. NONE of the original wooden beams in the pub have been touched because as you rightly say they are part of the appeal of an old pub in a Cotswold Market town!!

We have had a large log burner installed in our main bar and we truly feel that this is one of the most warming and welcoming pubs in the town.

Thank you once again for you feedback - we do hope that you return soon and can give us your opinion on the completed refurb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An excellent Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The roast was delicious, plenty of meat and veg, and served hot. No carvery here waiting in line, old fashion service - great
The pub is clean tidy but still has the charm of an old fashioned pub. Friendly staff and you always see someone you know!

Definitely will be back - much better than cooking at home and then washing up

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves on an excellent local reputation for food and drink and were pleased to read how enjoyable you found the food and service on your recent visit to The Squire Inn.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Squire Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not a very welcoming place to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We tried this pub for a meal whilst staying in Chipping Sodbury. It was 8pm on Sunday evening. There was another couple in the otherwise empty dining room. There was no sign of any staff. However, after finding a table, we went to the bar to order food. A man behind the bar said he wasn't sure if food was still being served. But then a more helpful lady appeared and said we could order. After we had ordered, she came to us after about 15 minutes to say that there was only one portion left of the dish we had ordered. We decided on an alternative. In the meantime another couple had arrived and they managed to order food. Eventually our food arrived and it was ok. We asked to see the dessert menu but were informed the chef had left. Like the other two diners ,we felt there was a very indifferent service and attitude towards diners. There was a lot of noise coming from the bar area which made the whole experience rather unpleasant.
I would not recommend this place for eating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnToncent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience with us here at The Squire Inn.

We can only apologise for the 'indifferent attitude towards service' that you experienced with us. The member of staff who was serving you is no longer with us. We do hope that you try us again in the future as your experience is not typical of the usually very high standards of service we deliver on a daily basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to The Squire Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Graet local Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good range of beer and wine, good food with a varied menu and a great atmosphere been my local since the 70's and well worth a visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank davemuttram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Squire Inn online with Trip Advisor.

It is locals such as yourself that make this such a great pub, so thank you for your continued support.

It's always lovely to read how people appreciate our selection of beers, wine and our food offering.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Squire Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Squire Inn also viewed

Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
Nibley, Gloucestershire
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing