We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice menu, really good food!”
Review of The Squire Inn

The Squire Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub with a restaurants
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice menu, really good food!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times, food is consistently good, despite a few management change abouts it appears! Lovely staff, really good food, the wine isn't great but it's not a wine place in my eyes! Really busy in the bar on a weekend, so if ur looking for somewhere quiet to eat maybe its not for you!!! Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experiences with us here at The Squire Inn.

If you are looking for a more intimate dining experience on a busy evening, don't forget our restaurant at the rear of the building. It is separate from the main bar areas yet still has a thriving atmosphere in welcoming surroundings.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Squire Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    51
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two Pleasant evenings”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Relaxing and good atmosphere. Food good and walking distance of Moda House. My husband enjoyed the selection of draught beers.

Good value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a Trip Advisor review and also for your kind comments.

We do hope that you try us again the next time that you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colerne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly bar staff”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Called in last night for a meal only the Restaraunt was open for food we ordered curry it was a huge portion very tasty the guy behind the bar when we initially ordered drinks was very friendly and helpful. The waiting staff not so much toilets outside were awful in the ladies there was only one door with a lock. Would go back for a drink but there are better options for food in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased that you had enjoyed your food so much and found the waiting staff so amenable.

The toilets have since been refurbished and are looking splendid (with fully functioning locks!!)

Thanks again for taking the time to give us your comments and we look forward to seeing you back in The Squire in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice ale, shame about the cost”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Wickwar ale £2.50 a pint Great!!! then went up to buy a half £1.40 "um" somthing wrong there?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your comments on Trip Advisor.

We had a special price on the Wickwar ale for £2.50 per pint. This offer was not extended to include sales of half pints. Rather like if you were to buy 4 pints of milk from the supermarket on a special offer, they wouldn't necessarily have a special offer on the 2 pint size too. I hope this goes some way to clearing up your '"um" moment' and that you realise that there was nothing 'wrong' with our pricing.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Squire again - we always have offers behind the bar so please do ask for the latest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely welcome and lovely meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our family went to the Squire on a friends recommendation. We went on Friday 13th April at lunchtime. We are two adults and three children one of whom has profound special needs. We received such a lovely welcome and were helped with the seating and arranging the table (we did not book) The lovely Irish waiter made us all feel comfortable and happy to talk to the children and encourage them with their order. The menu was clear and full, and the food arrived quickly and hot and all at the same time. Eating out as a family is difficult and our special needs daughter struggles with new places. But the waiter made our meal so enjoyable by being receptive to a slightly different approach and we are more than grateful.We will be returning and we look forward to trying some of the other tasty dishes on the menu. Thank you for an enjoyable experience

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Squire Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Our staff very much take a 'nothing is too much trouble' approach to looking after our customers and so it was great to read that this is exactly the experience you had.

We have passed on your comments to Lee, who looked after you on the day.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Squire when you return to 'try some of the other tasty dishes on the menu'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Squire Inn also viewed

Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
Nibley, Gloucestershire
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing