We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Moda House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moda House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in September and would have liked to stay longer. The hosts were lovely and ensured we were advised about parking and where to eat etc. before we arrived. Had a room overlooking the high street which was lovely. The breakfast was excellent. Very relaxing. Would definately recommend and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 185 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have just returned from a visit to Chipping Sodbury and had an absolutely fabulous stay at Moda House. Can't recommend it highly enough, Duncan and Jo are great hosts and ensure you're looked after well. We had a lovely room overlooking the High Street which was very well kept and luxurious (fluffy white towels and bottled water on your bedside.) Add to this the best breakfast ever with homemade marmalade, your stay is sure to be enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from wonderful weekend at Moda House. We were made most welcome and looked after throughout our stay. The Hotel is beautifully kept and has many interesting features.

It is in a fine position in the High Street with parking nearby and easy access to good bars and restaurants.

Excellent value for money. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel look down on charming High Street with countryside beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My brother lives in Chipping Sodbury and we usually stay with him but as the house was full due to a party we stayed at the Moda and it was fantastic!Fabulous room, great food and Jo and Duncan were very a lovely couple. Can't recommend it highly enough . Book now !

Room Tip: All rooms have a different theme. Ours was spacious with lovely corner bath and over looked the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Situated in the middle of the town in a beautiful and fastidiously maintained period property (that was originally a bank), Moda House is superb in every respect. Welcomed warmly and shown to a lovely room at the top, it was apparent at every step that the owners have devoted considerable energy to presenting a really top notch place to stay.
With a great view down the high street (which has easy parking for the car), the room was clean, warm and well appointed. The proximity to the road did not detract, there was no traffic disturbance and sleep came easy in the really comfortable bed. Breakfast did not disappoint and all-round, this was a superb stay. I thoroughly recommend Moda House and would certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a very pleasant three nights over the Chipping Sodbury Jazz Weekend and could not recommend The Moda House more highly.
We were welcomed warmly and every effort was made to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction. The room was very comfortable and had a lovely view down the High Street. It was lovely to see the sun rise in the morning. Breakfast was beautifully presented and the standard was excellent. The full English was delicious as was the home made marmalade. So nice in fact that we purchased a couple of jars to bring home.
Our host and hostess could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable and the ambience was very relaxing. We intend to return again soon.
Highly recommended!
S & MP Northern Ireland

Room Tip: No7 is on the top floor is very comfortable and has a great view down the High Street. Not recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stafford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a nice place, well decorated in an eclectic-meets-modern style. Hosts were very welcoming. Room was clean and roomy, with a small bathroom and compact shower. Bed was fairly comfortable. Although some call this a hotel, it is really more of a large b&b in terms of services offered and style.

My only concern is a feeling that guests were being rushed toward departure early in the mornings. Check out was supposedly at 10:30, but breakfast ends at 8:30. Housekeeping was knocking on door before we had checked out, then when we went downstairs for a few moments they started cleaning the room before we checked out and while our open suitcases in the room obviously *showed* we were still there.

Good central location in the nice town, with pubs and restaurants nearby. A tiny bit of street traffic noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namatoni, Owner at Moda House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our Bed and Breakfast – The Moda House - it is much appreciated.

We note your overall positive comment and thank you for those.

We were concerned, however, as regards your mention on the “rush” – certainly there was no rush intended as our check out time is clearly stated as 10:30am on all our collateral material and website. Indeed our breakfast service does end at 8.30am during the week as the majority of our guests prefer an earlier time. We do offer, in response to customer preference, a later breakfast at the weekend. We will take your observation into account as and when we next review timings and related detail. We are a B&B and market ourselves as such. We have no pretensions about being a hotel.

We were a little puzzled on the ‘rushed’ remark, as when we spoke in the morning, after breakfast at approximately 8:30, you mentioned taking a walk to explore the High Street, before getting the taxi you had requested Jo to arrange for you at 9.45am, so that you could then pick up your route and continue your walk. You requested assistance with your luggage at that time for collection by the courier company.

Our sincere apologies for our housekeeper disturbing you before the check out time; on follow up with her she had seen me taking the luggage down stairs and thought to continue with her duties – again our apologies.

Once again thank you for your feedback. It is always valuable to hear the good as well as areas for improvement.

We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your walk through the beautiful Cotswolds and hope the weather was kinder to you than it had been.

Duncan and Jo MacArthur Owners The Moda House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chipping Sodbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Portcullis Hotel
The Portcullis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chipping Sodbury
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
135 reviews
0 mi away
Rounceval House Hotel
Rounceval House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda House

Address: 1 High Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range: $114 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moda House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine house that retains a homely feel; Duncan and Jo are well-travelled and have filled it with pictures and artefacts from all over the world. Bedrooms differ but all are cosy and well decorated. Breakfast is a truly local feast and will set you up for fabulous walks (Cotswold Way). There's a basement sitting room with comfy armchairs and books. You also have the bustling town to explore with its shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moda House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda House Hotel Chipping Sodbury
Moda House Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing