We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rounceval House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were here, from the US, visiting relatives. Had a great stay here. The room we hard was large and the bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful and the food (breakfast) was good. We even had some nice chats with others staying there. This hotel is more like a B&B than a strict hotel. We loved the location, a good Italian restaurant next door and a coupe of good pubs.

Only wished the windows opened a bit further, but then this is an old house.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
54
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The only complaint was that the bathtub was about 1 meter long and obviously designed for small children and midgets. The room was smallish. Those were the absolute most one could possibly complain about

Everything else - terrific!!! Nice host, great breakfast, wonderful historic building. Everything was top notch and first class

I would really give it 4.5 "stars" but can only grade things in whole numbers, so I rounded up.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked a few rooms for a local family event, and were presented with a well presented, pleasant B&B. the rooms were very clean, well kept and of a good size.

A breakfast was of good quality, and there was just no hassle. Overall, just had a nice stay. When we return, we will stay here again. Good job guys.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed last weekend 5th April as two couples, cleanliness 10, breakfast 10, comfort 10, friendliness 10. Don't hesitate - I can't imagine you'll find better in the locale. Honesty bar in the evening, nice touch.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Percy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from a short beak and stayed just one night in this lovely little gem of a hotel. Full of character. Warm and welcoming. Clean and comfortable. What more could one ask for except a fabulous breakfast and this was also delivered! Couldn't fault anything. Plenty of choice. Good friendly service and everything spotlessly clean.
Big advantage is the on site parking which is certainly needed in this busy little town.
Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at Rounceval House for two nights, while visiting the town to attend a workshop with TV’s “Fabulous Baker Brothers”, whose shop is just up the road. Our host was friendly and welcoming and the historic house was spacious and well maintained. Our room was huge, to the extent that it was difficult to hear and see the television because it was so far away from the comfortable bed! Everything we could expect from a bed and breakfast was included with the room, and I would happily have spent more time indoors had there not been so many wonderful shops and restaurants in the small town to explore.

To be very picky, I would say the rooms and the rest of the hotel were quite drab and could do with a splash of colour or a plant or two, and the eco-friendly lighting is quite harsh.

Breakfast was plentiful and catered to every taste. The menu only offers the choice of continental or full English, but on day two, we went off piste and ordered scrambled and boiled eggs and another guest asked for porridge, all of which were cheerfully provided.

I would certainly go out of my way to stay here again when travelling anywhere near the area in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed at this beautiful B&B twice, in December last year and December 2014, and thoroughly enjoyed myself there both times! My girls and hubby joined me this year, and Mark gave us two rooms that were quite exclusive in the wing up a little staircase to the right of the lobby. Hubby and I had the honeymoon room, where the bath tub and toilet are part of the bedroom, separated only by curtains! Staying in that room was a totally new experience for us! The service gets better with each stay. Mark is a lovely host and is really the reason for why this wonderful B&B is such a great place to stay in! I would recommend it to anyone visiting Chipping Sodbury!

Room Tip: Tell Mark if you're there for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwee Leng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
6.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
10.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moda House
Moda House
#1 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounceval House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounceval House Hotel

Property: Rounceval House Hotel
Address: 64 Rounceval Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rounceval House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has a wealth of character with old oak beams, original fireplaces, and an oak staircase. There is also a bar and sitting room with cable TV, and a garden, for guests to enjoy. Bedrooms and the dining room are non-smoking. Our extensive breakfast each day is produced using fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rounceval House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounceval House Hotel Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing