We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rounceval House Hotel
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Preferred choice for place to stay in Chipping Sodbury.

Good experience from clean room / good breakfast / easy parking / welcoming host.

Only minor criticism is that Rooms 6 & 7 have very small bathrooms especially if you are tall and hence banged head on doorframe, plus sloping ceiling makes it difficult to have a shower without another head banging on the exposed beams.

Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 6&7 at the top of the house so a few stairs to go up, but tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srp973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very pleasant hotel with comfortable rooms. The bathroom in my room was rather small with a 3/4 bath with a shower. To climb in when the water is running (from the shower) you need to clamber over the toilet which is not ideal. The decor if the room looks dated to keep up the appearance of the hotel. This is not a complaint. The TV in the room is rather small and although the owner claims wifi throughout, the room I stayed in could not see the router documented in the room leaflet leaving me with no Internet access and therefore preventing me from working in my room. The breakfast was excellent quality and the staff are polite and are happy to chat. I would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus026, Owner at Rounceval House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, customer feedback is always welcome and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I thought that I should mention that we do pay a not inconsiderable amount to BT every month to enable us to offer free wifi access throughout the hotel, including every guest bedroom. If you do stay with us again and you experience a problem with our wifi please do let us know as it could be as simple as rebooting the system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is at the top of the Main Street in Chipping Sodbury. We were pleasantly surprised - the room was lovely with an excellent bathroom. The floors were a bit creaky but this added to the charm. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend. Chipping Sodbury is a lovely little town with plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pudsey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel is located in the main road through Chipping Sodbury, and is convenient for both Bristol and Badminton. I had to ring the bell to get in, but as this is a small hotel that is understandable. The Greeted and checked in quickly. The Owner (Mark, I think) was freindly and interested in why I was there. My room was light and airy, a mix of white linen, light walls and dark wood. Very spacious but I would have preferred a larger TV (A pet frustration of mine - Not that I even turned it on). Unusually the bath, with hand-held shower is in the room rather than behind closed doors. The Toilet is behind closed doors and is a masterpiece of utilising every inch of a room. Water closet is a very apt name for it. The Hotel has a lot of wooden floors which tend to creak and transmit noise, particularly from the room above, but, to be fair, if people removed their shoes it would be a lot less of a problem. My room was at the front and there was some noise from the street below. Breakfast was served in the dining room, and was served promptly, Hot and consisting of good quality ingredients. Only real improvement would be if I was offered a choice of Eggs (Poached are my preference). Overall a pleasant stay in an unusual hotel, with friendly staff and a high standard of cleanliness throughout. Recommended.

Room Tip: Having stayed only the once, difficult to advise but maybe ones at the back of the property are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubbs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here with family for a celebration weekend. I loved the relaxed atmoshere and the beautiful decor. The room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Felt a genuine care from the owners who were at pains to make sure all guests were well looked after. Very refreshing compared to most chain hotel experiences.
Lovely breakfast too. Would definetely stay here again.
We booked at he £60 deal rate so was exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with several family and friends. The welcome was warm and friendly. The room was comfortable and in keeping with the building. Everywhere was clean and well presented and my young son said the bed was the most comfortable he'd ever slept in. Breakfast was delicious with a good range of choices. It is very conveniently located being right in the heart of town with its own car park. The bathroom was clean and although on the small side it had a good shower. Our room was right at the front on the ground floor however, we slept well with no disturbances. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus026, Owner at Rounceval House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is much appreciated. It was a real pleasure to have you and your family stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked 5 rooms as our base for a special family weekend get together. It was a great place to stay. Very clean and well presented rooms. The breakfast and service were excellent and offered everything we could have wanted. The Rounceval House is a great place to stay and fully recommended o anyone needing a quality and value for money place to stay. Many thanks for making our stay feel so special.

Room Tip: Room 1 but they are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
3.2 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
377 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
984 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moda House
Moda House
#1 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
182 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
131 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cross Hands Hotel
The Cross Hands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Old Sodbury
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounceval House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounceval House Hotel

Address: 64 Rounceval Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range: $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rounceval House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has a wealth of character with old oak beams, original fireplaces, and an oak staircase. There is also a bar and sitting room with cable TV, and a garden, for guests to enjoy. Bedrooms and the dining room are non-smoking. Our extensive breakfast each day is produced using fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rounceval House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounceval House Hotel Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing