We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd stay here and love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rounceval House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd stay here and love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have just returned from my 3rd stay at this hotel and love it! The hotel has that country feel with an elegant style. There’s free parking on site and is in a fantastic location to the Chipping Sodbury High Street and also a central location to visiting other places such as Bristol or Bath.

The rooms are beautiful with comfy beds and clean towels, tea and coffee facilities. Have stayed in different rooms each time and all equally nice.

The breakfast in the morning is worth getting up for, a selection of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, toast OR the full English with fresh local produce which was delicious!

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the top floor have beams that you need to duck or you may hit your head, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
54
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This inn is located steps from the town square on the High Street. Like many inns in the UK, it is small and cozy. The room I had was on the top floor. Low ceiling and an exposed beam running through the bathroom were a challenge for my 6+ foot frame. But it was very clean and in very good shape. Renovated fixtures and a comfy bed.

Breakfast was fresh fruit and breads in a small dining room. If you ask for it, you can get a full "English" breakfast.

A classic and comfortable place to stay in this lovely English country village.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MostlyLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lovely little hotel - clean, characterful and comfortable. We had a large ensuite room with exposed beams and neutral decor. Staff were friendly and recommended local restaurants, and served a nice breakfast too. My partner can't eat wheat and the owner was happy to cater for him which was excellent. From the owners recommendations we went to Bistro 58 just down the road for dinner and had one of the best meals we've had in ages! Hotel has its own parking and the owner was nice enough to let us use the free parking for a few hours after check out to look around the town.
We stayed at the front of the building and with the window open could hear a bit of traffic from the road, but it's a small town so it really wasn't that bad at all and was pretty silent after 11. Another plus is that the owners are trying hard to be environmentally friendly, with eco-friendly toiletries and information on how they're reducing their carbon footprint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just returned from our 3 night stay and cannot fault the hotel at all. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was great - all fresh, local produce, and the staff were very, very friendly. Mark, the owner, takes obvious care of his wonderful hotel, and was only too willing to give advice on the area - places to eat etc. He told me that the hotel dates from the 1700's - and it has been converted from the grand home it once was into a wonderful little hotel which is well worth a visit. Both Bath and Bristol are very easily accessible from Chipping Sodbury which is a lovely little market town with lots of good eating options. I think that it is often the little touches which leave a good impression - and this is where Rounceval House excels; from the local bottled water in the bedroom to the sweets on the reception and the eco-friendly toiletries and fluffy white towels in the bathroom. The whole atmosphere and ambience of the place was so very, very welcoming and friendly - i can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great rooms in small (about 10 rooms) hotel. Welcomed by the owners, the Lloyds, who had good recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. Well worth a visit and a special trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smc1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here Jubiliee weekend for one night! We opted for a family room as we had an elderly relative with us and needed to be close as they are rather infirm. The room we were allocated was at the top of the house (loft space), it had character with beams, it was a good size, clean and comfortable. The adjoining room was of a good size and would be ideal for a young family. As it was a loft room, the view was restricted, but there were small windows letting light in and they could be opened to let in some air if required. Bathroom was cute, also beamed, so you needed to watch your head, but all added to the character. All appropriate toiletries were supplied. Tea and coffee facilities in the room All in all a comfy stay. The dinning room again was clean and well presented and our breakfast was very very good, after helping ourselves to fruit and cereal we then opted for full english and it was cooked to perfection. Definately recommend. This B&B is in the town of Chipping Sodbury so well located for local amenities. Also close to Bath and 20 mins away from Castle Coombe race circuit.

Room Tip: A few rooms are located at the top of two flights of stairs and there is no lift, so if mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stumbled upon this gem of a hotel having failed to park in nearby Bath and how lucky we were. Our room was large and well appointed. The hotel has off road parking and the staff were welcoming and attentive. Breakfast was excellent and the market town of Chipping Sodbury had plenty of bars and restaurants. Would recommend and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
6.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
10.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moda House
Moda House
#1 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounceval House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounceval House Hotel

Property: Rounceval House Hotel
Address: 64 Rounceval Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rounceval House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has a wealth of character with old oak beams, original fireplaces, and an oak staircase. There is also a bar and sitting room with cable TV, and a garden, for guests to enjoy. Bedrooms and the dining room are non-smoking. Our extensive breakfast each day is produced using fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rounceval House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounceval House Hotel Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing