We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite gem of a place.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
The main double bedroom with mezannine and bathroom. The entrance to The Terrace Apartment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
The main double bedroom with mezannine and bathroom.
The entrance to The Terrace Apartment.
Relaxing on the top terrace.
Dining through to living.
The delightfully cool  internal cobbled courtyard.
Detail in one of the 3 Bedrooms
Big double Bed option or two singles
Looking through towards one of the main bedrooms with the option of a very large double or 2 singles
One of the en suite bathrooms
The Moroccan styled mezannine can be made into an extra bed.
View from the bridge.
The medieval market square has delicious  produce available on Saturdays just 2 steps from the house
Stone sink on Top Terrace
Top Terrace
Lagrasse with its iconic 12th century hump-back bridge and the 8th century Abbey de Charlemaigne.
The 'Beach' By the river's edge at the back of the house
Another shot of the 'Beach
Another angle on the terrace
The view of the hill opposite the top terrace.
One of the many nearby vineyards in full Autumn colour.
Swimming in the river.
As the sun sets over the village........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lagrasse, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Shoo5
Purcellville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite gem of a place.”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I almost hesitate to submit my glowing review because we would prefer that no one else discover this beautiful apartment. The village is charming, with almost no tourists and unimaginably friendly residents (we attended three cocktail parties before the week was out)- the restaurants were divine, but our accommodations were the best we've ever experienced. Cool polished floors, elegant furnishings, a welcoming kitchen, crisp duvets and fluffy towels, AND a rooftop terrace with a magnificent view of the curving river and the ancient arched bridges. Every luxury was provided, and our hosts, who occupied the house a courtyard away, saw to all possible details. As an interior designer myself, I savored all the perfect touches.
The region also provided leisurely strolls OR challenging hikes, all unmatched for the natural beauty. Are we positive enough? We have another favorite spot in Tuscany, but for La Belle France, Maison la France is as good as it gets.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical place”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic week at the Ramparts/Riverside apartment. I echo the comments of other reviewers who said it's hard to sum up the charm and general wonderfulness of this place! The apartment is comfortable, gorgeously renovated, exactly right. Michael was a helpful, friendly, delightful host who not only loaned his bike, but recommended several rides. The area has great hiking, cycling, historic sights, restaurants, vineyards . . . and somehow isn't overcrowded or touristy-feeling. You can find all sorts of things to do, or just relax with a book, sit in the sun, and listen to the river. We've traveled a lot in Italy and France and this was one of our favorite spots ever.

Date of stay: July 2014
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn H
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment in charming location”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stunning is a much overused adjective these days, but justified when describing this fabulous apartment with its amazing terrace overlooking the river gorge. We stayed six days in Lagrasse - a charming village with friendly locals and very good restaurants. Most of that time we spent on the rooftop terrace listening to the sound of the river and the nightingales singing. The apartment looks great online and we had high expectations. We were not disappointed - it was beautifully renovated and well furnished with very comfortable beds and quality bedlinen. We were totally chilled within minutes of arrival. The attention to detail was superb, right down to the soap which was handmade locally. We visited the local abbey which was beautifully peaceful, and we had a day trip to Carcassonne where we had an excellent buffet lunch at L'Amandier - a vegetarian restaurant in Rue de Verdun (also caters for non-veggies).
Many thanks to Nicole and Michael for providing such a relaxing and memorable holiday experience. We hope to be back soon - and hopefully we'll be able to tear ourselves away from the terrace to do some more exploring!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace overlooking the river
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
456anders...
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Perfect French country retreat!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were looking for a place to call home for a week in France and we got everything we had hoped for and so much more in Lagrass at House La France!!! We wanted to find a village where our children could be free to walk to the boulangerie each day and practice their French and really get the feel of living in France without having to get in and out of our car each day to do this.
From the moment we drove into Lagrass, we were amazed at it's medieval beauty. A tiny view of an ancient life. When we walked into the Gite owned by Michael and Nicole (House La France) I nearly cried happy tears. It was just like the way it looked in the photos and so beautifully finished. We had a large deck that overlooked the ancient bridge leading to the Abbey from this beautiful walled village, and the river ran right by our windows which was just beautiful as we fell asleep each night. The kitchen contained everything we needed to cook up our local fare bought from local markets, and the beautiful decor has inspired us to redecorate our own home once we returned!! Everything was extremely comfortable from the beds and linen to the wonderfully deep claw foot bath. We had definitely found a holiday success story ☺
From here we were able to explore some magnificent castles and towns but on about day 3 we decided that we really hadn’t seen anywhere as beautiful as where we were staying so w would just relax and live the village life in Lagrass. We were surprised to find so many good quality restaurants, cafe's and wine bars right in Lagrass! We ate out for Lunch and dinner and were thrilled with our experience each time. The food was deliciously French, well priced and the locals friendly and helpful with our limited French. Some even gave our girls some help with their French, as they were trying but not very confident.
We were so very relaxed and absolutely loved our stay with Michael and Nicole in Legrass. Can’t wait to go back again one day!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, location, cleanliness and fully equiped
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne_mac...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous pied a terre to explore from or enjoy local community, with sumptuous rooms and terrace!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed for a week in Lagrasse and it was so restful to have a homebase to explore the area from. Nicole and Michael were very generous in providing advice regarding local restaurants, hikes, and wineries as well as use of their bikes so we could explore the countryside. The view from our window overlooked a medieval bridge and abbey with a lovely river running through the town. We practically lived on the rooftop terrace, which was perfect for lounging with a book, or having late lunches el fresco. We travelled for day trip to the seaside and to local wineries, meeting entertaining farmers during the grape harvest. We shared a spacious beautifully decorated apartment with 2 other Canadian friends and it felt like we were in a castle. Definitely our stay here was the highlight of our trip to France!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpbellack
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnifique!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a week in the fall foliage month of October. I have rented numerous - and beautiful - properties in France over the years (Cote d'Azur, Burgundy, Bordeaux, Paris) but none compares with House La France (well, maybe just one - a lovely villa perched above Villefranche-sur-Mer and the Mediterranean - but that's an entirely different venue). For the countryside - vineyards, mountains, ancient villages - House La France is THE place to stay! From the moment we spotted it during our Google search for Languedoc properties, we knew it was the one. The best part was that on arrival it more than fulfilled our already high expectations - from the beautiful and quiet entryway off the medieval alleyway, to the charming courtyard, spiral staircase to the apartment (the Large Terrace Apartment), to the spacious apartment and terrace itself. The lovely stonework, contemporary kitchen & bathrooms, comfortable furnishings (the beds are divine), two terraces - the rooftop one flooded by sunlight in the afternoons with stunning views over the burbling river and historic bridge - all were perfect to come home to after our daily trips out for sightseeing and long lunches (accompanied by local rose wines). Lagrasse village itself is also lovely and its local residents most welcoming. It has everything one needs - boulangerie, epicerie, several restaurants (La Cocotte Felee was our favorite [for both lunch & dinner], although sadly, we didn't get to try Les Trois Graces), a maize of beautiful alleyways for strolling, and the ancient and lovely Abbaye de Lagrasse across the River Orbieu.
Our favorite villages/towns & sights during day trips out were Homps on the Canal du Midi (lunch @ En Bonne Compagnie at canal side is a must, preferably on the shaded terrace - delicious and very reasonably priced, followed by a stroll along the Canal afterwards), Narbonne with its stunning cathedral (lunch @ Brasserie CO on the terrace overlooking the Canal de la Robine & Cours Mirabeau with views to the cathedral spire & rooftops - also excellent cuisine), the beautiful Abbaye de Fontfroide and serene Abbaye St. Hilaire (the village is also lovely), and the Wednesday morning market at Lezignan-Corbieres. The two Cathar castles we visited - Puivert & Arques - were in beautiful countryside but the castles themselves not that interesting. Just driving the country byways was always lovely, though - miles & miles of vineyards set against the garrigue. The entire week exceeded our dreams and made us want to return soon. And when we do, it will be to Lagrasse and House La France. Thank you, Nicole and Michael, for your warm welcome and friendly hospitality, and for making such a beautiful and comfortable home away from home available for holiday stays.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onsite owners, Nicole & Michael (& their sweet dogs); location; beauty & comfort of the apartment - simply magnifique!
Liked least: Kitchen lighting could be improved (especially over the dining table).
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn n
Langley, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Words and photographs cannot accurately portray the beauty,
elegance, and sophistication of the interior decor of Nicole's
House La France! From the moment we entered the front door,
to walking across the medieval courtyard and up the winding stair-
case we were enchanted.

The livingroom is open and wide with extremely comfortable
seating and a view across the river. The bedrooms and bathrooms
all have delightful surprises to the senses:
an old stone sink, a claw foot tub, locally handmade lemon soap,
and lovely stones embedded in the stone floor scrolling through the
rooms.

The kitchen is not only fully equipped and efficient, but aesthetically
inviting, as is the deck beyond the french doors off the dining area.
And upstairs is a huge deck overlooking the Orbieu River, complete with
lounge chairs, grill and dining table. A lovely place to read, nap, dine
and relax. |We give it an A+++!

We will definitely come back to stay in House La France in LaGrasse.
We loved every minute there! Thanks, Nicole, for creating a place of
calm, serenity and beauty.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing