We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house in a gorgeous little village”
other travelers have booked this property
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
The main double bedroom with mezannine and bathroom. The entrance to The Terrace Apartment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Terrace. 
For the sole use of those renting The Terrace Apartment.
The main double bedroom with mezannine and bathroom.
The entrance to The Terrace Apartment.
Relaxing on the top terrace.
Dining through to living.
The delightfully cool  internal cobbled courtyard.
Detail in one of the 3 Bedrooms
Big double Bed option or two singles
Looking through towards one of the main bedrooms with the option of a very large double or 2 singles
One of the en suite bathrooms
The Moroccan styled mezannine can be made into an extra bed.
View from the bridge.
The medieval market square has delicious  produce available on Saturdays just 2 steps from the house
Stone sink on Top Terrace
Top Terrace
Lagrasse with its iconic 12th century hump-back bridge and the 8th century Abbey de Charlemaigne.
The 'Beach' By the river's edge at the back of the house
Another shot of the 'Beach
Another angle on the terrace
The view of the hill opposite the top terrace.
One of the many nearby vineyards in full Autumn colour.
Swimming in the river.
As the sun sets over the village........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lagrasse, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
huanggang
Shenzhen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing house in a gorgeous little village”
Reviewed September 10, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Nicole and Michael are lovely and have a great thing going with House la France - everything was perfect.

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyFran
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning village, stunning property. Perfect holiday.”
Reviewed August 5, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I almost don't want to write this review because I feel that this place should stay a secret!! However, Nicole and Michael are so lovely and have made this property so special - anyone wanting a perfect holiday really should stay here. We stayed in the smaller River and Ramparts apartment which is perfect for 2 - however, Michael showed us around the larger apartment and if we returned we would more than likely book that one. The only reason being is that we intend to return for longer than a week and do a bit of sunbathing and the sun terrace of the larger apartment is truly stunning. We only stayed a week and the little terrace of the smaller apartment was perfect for us as we spent most of our time touring the gorgeous local area.

The properties are beautifully decorated and squeaky clean. The property overlooks the river and we were both stunned by the view. We spent every evening watching the sun go down over the river, sipping wine :) we both didn't want to leave. Lagrasse itself is a perfect, beautiful French village with everything you would expect. It is perfectly quiet with just enough cafes and restaurants. Writing this is making me want to go back!!

I have absolutely no hesitation is recommending this property. If you want a perfect, relaxing, romantic holiday then this is the one.

Date of stay: June 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KVBr
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really, really wonderful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5
people found this review helpful

This is one of those places where you almost feel reluctant to post a review about as you rather selfishly don't want anyone else to know about this little gem of a retreat! Alas, my conscience has won out and made me feel compelled to share this with the masses.
My husband and I stayed in the 1 bed apartment - Nicole and Michael have done an outstanding job of creating a beautiful space- the building is fascinating in construction but more, their renovation has been completed to an exceptional finish yet clevelerly, chicly understated.
The village is a stunner- it's not so suave that it's pretentious (indeed, it is pleasingly ramshackled in places) but it is very pretty indeed. The shops and bakery cater well for essentials and if you need to do a bigger shop, the supermarket at Lezignan is only 20 mins drive away.
The apartment is on the river bank which attracts various birds in the day time and rather 'vocal' frogs during the evening(!)
We tried two restaurants in the village- The courtyard at the Three Graces (or Trois Graces) was very good (food and atmosphere) but we found L'affenage on the promenade to be average.
Lagrasse is a good base- there are plenty of local walks, the coast can be reached easily and if you fancy a longer trip, the ruined fortress at Peyrepertuse is a good.
Thank you Nicole and Michael for being fab hosts- we hope to be back before very long.
P.S. do try the almond/chocolate criossants from the bakery

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline21...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sheer luxury in Paradise!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

3 couples enjoyed the most wonderful experience in this stunning accommodation set in breathingtaking surroundings. It exceded all our expectations. The village of Lagrasse is beautiful and suited our needs of a river, vineyards, fantastic walks, stunning scenery, ideal location for travelling out and about, eating places, shops, amenities. The piece de resistance was the spacious balcony with BBQ facilities, outside dining facilities, sunloungers and views to die for overlooking the river across to the hills. Oh dear I could go on and on! Experience HouselaFrance for yourselves.

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floss1104
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent in every way”
Reviewed June 1, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Thiswas our second satay at this property - last June/July as a couple in the 1 bedroomed appartment for 2 weeks and this year in the 3 bedroomed apartment with friends for 1 week.....there was one big problem the second time around ....we only took the accommodation for a week!

The appartments are exquisitelydecorated, the host very friendly and accommodating and the village has just steped out of history. It has cafes, resturants an excellent bakery, wine shop plus a stor that supplies the basics. The surrounding area has a lot to offer in the way of walking, castles and much more. As I said this was not our first visit and it will not be out last!

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneGP
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible views from a truly outstanding vacation rental”
Reviewed January 3, 2011 for a stay in June 2010
5
people found this review helpful

This is a spectacular vacation rental in a picture-perfect French village. I stayed in the larger, three-bedroom Terrace Apartment with my husband and our two teenaged daughters, then returned with a friend the next year and stayed in the one-bedroom Ramparts apartment. What makes it special? One could spend a relaxing week just taking in the view of the river and arched stone bridge. The design of the apartments is elegant and pristine while retaining the wonderful old character of the place. The village of Lagrasse is lovely, and there are wonderful hiking trails all around. There are plenty of sights for day trips, including Cathar castle ruins, a boat ride on the plane-tree-lined Canal du Midi, or a drive to the coast. Owners Nicole and Michael were so welcoming and kind that we felt right at home. The dinner we shared with them on "our" terrace was a highlight of our trip. We have stayed at many wonderful homes and apartments in France and Italy on our travels. House la France is our favorite, and the only one to which we have returned.

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M
Tamworth
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a beautiful village”
Reviewed October 8, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
3
people found this review helpful

The time and effort that Nicole and Michael have put into getting every detail right is obvious from the minute you walk through the front door into the courtyard. The white and neutral colour schemes of both apartments are relaxing and help get you in the mood to enjoy this quiet yet beautiful part of France.
We stayed in the Rampart Apartment as there was only the two of us. The bedroom and lounge areas are large and comfortable with tv, cd and dvd player. The decoration is beautifully simple yet thoughfully put together. The kitchen and bathroom are compact yet perfectly adequate.
The Pièce de résistance for us had to be the balcony overlooking the River Orbieu. Here you can watch the fish splashing in the river below whilst enjoying a glass of wine in the late afternoon sunshine.
I would strongly recommend the House La France to anyone visiting this region of France. The large Terrace apartment which we managed to have a look around is amazing and would make the perfect base for 4 to 6 people as it has 3 en-suite bedrooms.
All in all an excellent apartment run by Nicole and Michael who live on site and who are on hand to advise on places to visit and eat.

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing