We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden by the riverside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden by the riverside
Main bedroom 160x190 double bed Beach at the back of the house by the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Garden by the riverside
Main bedroom 160x190 double bed
Beach at the back of the house by the river
River swimming at the back of the house.
Kitchen-living-dining room
Living- Dinning area
Stove living area
Riverside garden
Front of the house
Lagrasse
Bathroom with bath & shower
2nd bedroom with 160x190 double bed & 110x190 single bed
2nd bedroom with 1 double bed 160x190 and 1 single bed 110x190
View into the 2nd bedroom from the living to the Landing area
The gite is situated on the river between Lagrasse's iconic bridge and the abbey.
Enjoying winter sunshine
public beach near by the house at the riverside
Ping-pong table down the cellar
Market place
Climb one of the many Cathar Castles . This photo is taken in February
A safe place for children to swim,
Autumn is a particularly beautiful time of year
Lagrasse has restaurants, cafes, shops and galleries.  All you need is on the doorstep
Fishing at the back of the house, 1st Dec
Lagrasse is full of hidden surprises.
The beach is less than an hour away & Collioure just one of many daytrips to be enjoyed.
The abbey of Lagrasse founded in 8th century. Part of which is a working monastery.
Back of the house view from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lagrasse, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Dizzytrav...
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Riversite Gite the week after a negative review had appeared on this site, and felt some trepidation about what we might discover. There was no need. We had a glorious week, and loved the gite - it is in a beautiful old building, and is comfortably kitted out with a well-equipped kitchen, high ceilings, great views. Lagrasse was a perfect base to explore the surrounding area, and we enjoyed many long walks on empty hillsides, visiting Cathar castles and a surprisingly quiet Carcassonne, as well as spending time in the village itself. Kate, Roger and Amelie were very helpful and friendly when we needed them, but we had peace and quiet and complete privacy when we wanted it. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the gite or the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and frenchness
Liked least: one bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location plus the ambience of the building and the village.
Liked least: Stay was too short!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2013
I am sorry that you found your experience here disagreable. Your review came as a surprise because on several occasions, when we crossed paths (Roger, Amelie & myself), we asked if everything was ok & your husband always replied positively. What a shame you didn't make your feelings known at the time as we could have improved things for you.

I too find dog mess unacceptable & had I known, I would have picked it up immediately. This is an unusual occurrence as we walk our dog 3 times a day outside the village.

The 2nd bedroom window looks out onto a grand airy stairwell full of plants and lit by a huge skylight. In the 15th century this space used to be a cobbled street in between two rows of houses (which accounts for the size of the property). Previous guests have commented that it has a magical authentic feel & they love the space. The view from the sitting room, of the river & hillside can also be seen through french windows which lead from the sitting room into this bedroom.
.
I had no idea that the 'Cleaning Instruction' would be taken as officious. Guests have the option to pay for cleaning at the end of their stay, or to do it themselves & after several bad experiences I thought it best to be clear what was expected ie fridge,oven etc

We do manage a small area of the riverbank close to the house, just below our grassy terrace so you can BBQ or sunbathe but beyond that it is a wild natural habitat where rare birds breed (the Little Ringed Plover for instance). The fact that the garden merges into the riverbank is one of our main selling points but again we will try to make this clearer on our website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanito G
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Incedible in every way, fantastic and attentive hosts. Stunning location, really special if you love history, the outdoors and architecture. The apartment itself was beautiful, very well stocked and as charming as in the photos. Great to have access to the riverside, lovely to paddle and swim (in warmer weather).

The town itself is fantastic, with stunning walks into the countryside where you can while away time walking in the mountains, through vineyards, into the Abbey, through cobblestone streets paved with history and all manner of craft shops.

To Kate, Roger and Amelie - thank you so much for making us feel at home and so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning old world apartment in an amazing medieval setting.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bramble43
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This place is so lovely. The village is perfect and if you dont want to cook there are restaurants and cafes. Yet its so quiet and peaceful with the most beautiful scenery. The gite was kitted out really well and was just perfect for us. As a couple we wanted somewhere to unwind, but also somewhere where we didnt have to fight over who was going to drive each evening, and this place was spot on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village is stunning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soumac
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for three couples”
Reviewed April 7, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Six of us rented the 3 gites for two weeks in March. They were absolutely perfect for our situation.We were together and yet not all together. Each of the 3 gites was well equipped in every way. Each were large enough to entertain the 6 of us after a day on the road. We became accustomed to the village dynamic and felt very much at home. Everything worked, and Kate was very accommodating.She even supplied a hot water bottle to my husband when he ailed with the flu.Being Canadian it was nice to have the English connection. Each gite had a library of regional guide books and on several occasions we were able to give our findings to Kate. We followed Angela Murrils Hot Sun,Cool Shadow and found it to be a terrific resouce for Langudoc. I am hoping to return with 3 school friends in Oct. to celebrate our 70th birthdays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The size of the gites
Liked least: The size of the showers
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing