We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmth & charm in Médoc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Ormes de Pez
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warmth & charm in Médoc”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This Château was a peaceful respite at the end of busy days. It is so charming, and so are the people who work there, that we simply felt relieved to arrive. We stayed in one of the large rooms facing the lawn (at the back) and it was elegant - the bed was excellent, everything was clean and tidy, and there was ample space. We relaxed on the terrace, took a walk around the garden, and generally relaxed before our dinners out in the surrounding villages. Ormes de Pez was everything we needed, and Gilles, who manages the guest house, was a source of excellent tips, kindness and friendliness. Breakfasts are special and more than a "continental" with freshly-baked breads and cakes in different flavours. A homely yet luxurious place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the guest house, overlooking the lawn, and huge and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had such a wonderful time here. Gilles was so friendly and helpful! Our room was big and had plenty of room. We had a lovely view out the front window. The property is meticulously maintained. The breakfast was fantastic. Not a lot to do in the town so we relaxed on the terrace and sipped wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful setting, huge room, serene, great location, lovely breakfast. What more could you want? Gilles is the answer. He responded to any and all emails immediately. He arranged for two of our chateau tours quickly and efficiently. He made our lunch reservation at the terrific, delicious Cafe Lavinal even contacting them prior to our check in to ensure we had arrived ok. He treated us as if we were good friends and the property as if it was his very own. He even took in a sweet cat needing a home. What a gentleman.

We loved our peaceful visit and regretted having only one night. Our large room Amelie, on the first floor, had character and overlooked the beautiful grounds through huge windows. The bathtub was the very best ever. Our room was extremely quiet and even had double entry doors to ensure an uninterrupted sleep which we enjoyed as we never heard anyone else until our delicious breakfast which consisted of more than bread and pastry. The charming, historic building was a delight. We loved every second we were there. It's a great value.

Room Tip: We loved our Amelie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Only a 1 night stay which was fabulous. St Estephe was not the most exciting venue. However Bordeaux towns (e.g. Pauilliac, St Julien, Margaux etc) along the D2 on the left bank are not full of life at the best of times. especially when the harvest is in full flow.

Great bedroom, a nice outside pool and a wonderful communal area which gives of a taste of what it would be like to live in one of these Chateaux.

We were well looked after by the staff who helped book us a restaurant (the only one within 4km - pretty important when you've travelled there by bicycle).

A very pleasant stay indeed. Recommend.

Room Tip: We had a great room facing out from the front of the house. I would imagine all the rooms are very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were met by Cathy, very welcoming (the house is not manned 24hours). Absolutely fantastic room, full length shuttered windows on two side - bags of French charm. Huge bed, very comfortable - lovely bathroom (only "telephone" style shower over bath so you have to be agile!!). Giles (owner) very welcoming and went to great trouble to organise two chateau visits for us (one to Chateau that doesn't normally do tours).
Breakfast in fine dining room, fresh pain au chocolat and croissants. No restaurant or other meals but as you are bound to be out most of day, no matter. We highly recommend The Restaurant in St.Jullien - especially the Oef Florrentine!!
Highly recommended - we will definitely go back

Room Tip: Facing the building top floor left or right both have two sided aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g8dsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Because this is a small property ( not physically, the grounds to the rear are vast) there is a personal touch. Gilles had booked the wine tasting for us at Lynch-Bages at 11.30 then after talking to us, he could book lunch to follow at the lovely Cafe Lavinal which is right next door so it all worked beautifully. Having had probably the best meal we had in more than 2 weeks in France, we were able to shop for a picnic tea to enjoy in the gardens of the chateau and so we had a very relaxed afternoon and time to just enjoy being in such an iconic location.
We stayed for 2 nights in a room in the main chateau. We were in the middle room on the upper floor and the floor boards were very creaky and we could hear ( but fortunately not overhear ) the conversations in the adjoining room.
The chateau is ideally situated to see some of the most famous Bordeaux wineries but there are no restaurants or cafes in the local, or immediately adjoining villages so you do have to be prepared to tackle unfamiliar roads at night in order to eat unless you plan ahead as we did on the second night.
Just the usual gripe about not being able to make tea or coffee in the room but that is so for most of France.
Our bathroom was very small but had a shower rather than a bath which suited us well.

Room Tip: The rooms in the ground floor annexe may be quieter than those on the upper floor of the original ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This Chateau was wonderful even before we arrived, booking us in to several wine tastings at local vineyards and giving us a list of restaurant recommendations before we arrived, which all turned out to be excellent. The service continued to be amazing throughout our stay. On the first night we had some of the Chateau's delicious wines (and even took a trip down to the new little wine cave to pick it up), and drank them on the back terrace overlooking the huge garden and lovely pool at the back of the property. Wonderful shared guest facilities both inside and outside, including large lounge areas with loads of books, beautiful terrace out the back with seating, big garden and a lovely pool. Our room was great, very large, beautifully decorated and was perfectly clean and maintained, with views out across the neighbouring vineyard. Breakfast was wonderful and served out on the terrace and in the downstairs breakfast room. All in all, a wonderful experience, and we would return to St Estephe just to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Estephe
5.3 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
1.2 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
112 reviews
15.6 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
11.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
#1 of 1 in Gaillan-en-Medoc
89 reviews
10.9 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Ormes de Pez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Ormes de Pez

Property: Chateau Ormes de Pez
Address: 29 route des Ormes, 33180 Saint-Estephe, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Estephe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Estephe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Ormes de Pez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Ormes de Pez : a holiday resort full of charmIn the heart of the vineyard of Saint-Estèphe, the château Ormes de Pez is a place of comfort and serenity.The guest house, a large and beautiful mansion of the 18th century, surrounded with a magnificent park with hundred-years-old trees, propose five rooms, comfortable and bright, decorated carefully in the French spirit and all with private bathroom. All the rooms offer a magnificent view on the vineyard and the raised park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Ormes de Pez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing